• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Petition against WP Town Council by Market Stall-Holders

If it is just $400 then WP should just pay as this is bad for them.

WP Town council seems to be getting a lot of heat recently. It started with the not so long ago debate about its managing agent and the recent dispute with stall-holders of several markets/hawkers under its Town Council.

For those who do not know, it was reported that many market/hawker stall-holders were unhappy with the extra payment that they would have to pay for the cleaning of the market. The Town Council has come forward to explain but I find its explanation somehow similar to how PAP usually manages such resentment.

I just received an email hours ago by someone who is appear to be the affected party. It seems some of them plan to forward a petition to the WP Town Council. He stated that the cost is $400 which should be a rather petty sum for Town Council, I wonder why the cost could not be absorbed to spare the stall-holders from such agony and inconvenience.

If WP is really concerned about its resident and the average Singaporeans as what it claimed during its General Election rally, then they should know what is the right thing to do.

511+screenshot.jpg

wah these sinkies suddenly so brave dare to petition.........

Is it $400 per stall or $400 in total??? I think it is $400 per stall as scadfoldings can run into thousands of dollars (esp if it involves great height...have to engage a PE to certify the structure...etc)

I doubt it is the complicated one because it is just for cleaning ceiling fan and exhaust pipe. Not the whole building.

Is it $400 per stall or $400 in total??? I think it is $400 per stall as scadfoldings can run into thousands of dollars (esp if it involves great height...have to engage a PE to certify the structure...etc)

I doubt it is the complicated one because it is just for cleaning ceiling fan and exhaust pipe. Not the whole building.

Who designed those stupid things? before WP took over, were they cleaned??

I also believe is $400 per stall... Or $400 per stall per month or year... Cannot be $400 total... I live in Bedok area, 511 market quite big, if wanted to clean the ceiling and the fans, minimum needs at lease 3 to 4 peoples to use 1 to 2 days to complete plus need to install equipment... transportation of those equipment cost more than $400.. My guess... I maybe wrong!!!

Another way that the PAP is 'fixing' the opposition. It happened with AIM and billing software.
It never stops.

Cleaning of hawker centres: NEA, town council war of words heats up
NEA slams 'misleading, inaccurate' statements
http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...res-nea-town-council-war-words-heats-20130602

Customers and stall owners at the food centre and market at Block 538, Bedok North Street 3, on 1 January 2011. The National Environment Agency (NEA) yesterday accused the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) and its vice-chairman Pritam Singh of making "misleading and inaccurate" statements, as the war of words over the cleaning of hawker centres was taken up a notch.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) yesterday accused the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) and its vice-chairman Pritam Singh of making "misleading and inaccurate" statements, as the war of words over the cleaning of hawker centres was taken up a notch.

The NEA also released a letter from a hawkers' association to show that hawkers had been told by a town council staff member that they would have to pay extra to clean the higher parts of their food centres, contrary to the council's previous claims that no such statement was made.

The NEA responded after Mr Singh, a Workers' Party MP for Aljunied GRC, put out a media release on behalf of the town council, saying it had "duly carried out its responsibilities as required" in the cleaning of hawker centres.

He also said there was no need for the NEA to have sent the town council a formal notice on Friday reminding it of its legal obligations.

Who designed those stupid things? before WP took over, were they cleaned??

Than you advise how to design?? A hawker with no ceiling??? Or a very low ceiling at 2 meters so easy to clean?? Please come up with an intelligent design??

I am not a PAP supporter!!! But to blame the design of the hawker it is really funny... So WP should tear down all the buildings build by PAP,include the HDB blocks and hawker before take over...:D

Another way that the PAP is 'fixing' the opposition. It happened with AIM and billing software.
It never stops.

Cleaning of hawker centres: NEA, town council war of words heats up
NEA slams 'misleading, inaccurate' statements
http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...res-nea-town-council-war-words-heats-20130602

Due use the word FIX lah.......
PAP IBs will come in to shot you....every pap target you opposition fuckers also claim fixing, conspiracy theories etc.........

SINGAPORE: The National Environment Agency (NEA) has said that it has received feedback that the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) does not intend to clean areas above 2.5 metres, at another hawker centre.

Responding to media queries, the NEA said concerns were also raised by hawkers at Block 630 Bedok Reservoir.

The comments come amid an ongoing dispute between the NEA and the AHPETC over who is responsible for paying for scaffoldings that need to be erected for the spring cleaning of ceilings, beams and exhaust ducts at food centres.

The AHPETC said hawkers need to bear the cost.

Some of the affected hawkers have said that from past practice, it was the town council that paid for the scaffolds.

The NEA had noted that the hawkers' refusal to pay was in line with normal practice.

In its reply on Sunday, the NEA said the issue of cleaning areas above 2.5m and AHPETC requiring the hawkers to pay for any scaffoldings, arose from the spring cleaning of Block 538 Bedok North.

"Apart from the hawkers at Block 511, we have also received similar feedback and concerns from hawkers at Block 630 Bedok Reservoir that AHPETC does not intend to clean areas above 2.5m," it added.

"For the spring cleaning at Block 209 Kovan starting 3 June 2013, we have been informed by the contractors that they will not be putting up scaffoldings but will instead be using long poles to clean the ceiling," said NEA.

The NEA also said it was in discussions with AHPETC between December 2012 and February 2013 regarding the detailed timing of the erection and dismantling of the scaffolding needed for the cleaning works for Block 538.

In that context, NEA said it had told AHPETC in February 2013 that the Hawkers Association will make the necessary arrangements with their contractors for their own preparations in relation to the erection and dismantling of the scaffolding by the town council.

The NEA said this though, refers to the need for canvas covers to protect their stalls during the cleaning of the ceilings and beams.

NEA said the protective covers are always paid for by the hawkers.

It added "there was no discussion on any change to the normal practice for the town council to put up and pay for the scaffoldings needed for the cleaning of ceilings during the March spring cleaning exercise at Block 538".

The NEA requires ceilings, beams and exhaust ducts at food centres to be cleaned at least once a year during major spring cleanings.

It has advised AHPETC not to compromise on public hygiene and safety.

- CNA/xq

Than you advise how to design?? A hawker with no ceiling??? Or a very low ceiling at 2 meters so easy to clean?? Please come up with an intelligent design??

I am not a PAP supporter!!! But to blame the design of the hawker it is really funny... So WP should tear down all the buildings build by PAP,include the HDB blocks and hawker before take over...:D

Though you have a point...no need to split hairs over these..go around with your eyes open around SINgapore.. especially the public flats etc.. you will be asking yourself "who designed these"...the proof is in the pudding...of course we can't go round tearing down ...BUT WHO DESIGNED THESE?? of course, they have qualified people..etc.. the BEST.

Just OPEN YOUR EYES... I am not firing at the PAP for the sake of firing at them, I have lived through life with them...

Cant be $400 per stall, there are more than 50 stalls in Market. Can't be $20,000 right?

Some scaffolding can cost $40-50k especially if involved in making good any damages to floor or landscape. Remember the job is for scaffolding and cleaning. $20k is not far fetched.

1) I dont think its right to use town council funds to subsidise scaffolding for markets. HDB dwellers pay monthly conservancy charges for the upkeep of their area, not to subsidise market stall owners further.
2) Market stallholders already pay a subsidised rental in the first place. Asking them to pay for additional cleanup required by law is reasonable. They do pay a conservancy charge, but the town council
is also expected to provide cleaners etc.
3) This is a law implemented by NEA, and they are the one publicly blaming AHTC.
4) I really dont think it costs just $400 to just clean an entire markets ceiling.
5) How come other town councils subsidise this cleaning? Do they get extra from government or do they get residents to subsidise it?
6) First time I see a public war of words between a TC and a stat board. Thing is this kind of friction will happen from time to time. One has to wonder why NEA is taking it public this time round, and realise this is likely an attempt to paint oppie TC in bad light.
7) It is interesting to note that the government has a history of withholding taxpayer's money for upgrading in oppie wards.

Limpei also get 'fixed' by this REIT that REIT. All my kopitiam chains rental up up up up.

Due use the word FIX lah.......
PAP IBs will come in to shot you....every pap target you opposition fuckers also claim fixing, conspiracy theories etc.........

[video=youtube;a1WhJKsYb50]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1WhJKsYb50[/video]