Chitchat Pensioner asks for $30 more while ministers continue to earn millions.

MarcusTan

Small pension increment would mean a lot

Like Mr Tan Kwong Moh (Give pensioners an increment too; Dec 20), I am also a pensioner, now aged 71.

I joined the Singapore Police Force when I was 19 in 1965 and served for 26 years until 1991.

We were paid $84 a month during our six-month training stint at the then Police Training School in Thomson Road.

When we completed the training, we were paid $135 per month.

I never looked at other jobs, which paid more, as I had a passion to serve.

Times were bad in those days but things were relatively cheap - a plate of char kway teow, mee rebus or mee goreng cost only 30 cents. A bus trip was five cents.

The 1960s was a tumultuous period.

Singapore faced Konfrontasi, or confrontation, waged by Indonesia.I recall being rostered to patrol the beaches for intrusion by Indonesians.

An increment of $30 in the Singapore Allowance for the pension would be a token sum, but would mean a lot to those who contributed to the nation's progress from Third World to First World status.

Also, there are not many pensioners around and most will likely be gone in a decade or two.

Neo Poh Goon

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/small-pension-increment-would-mean-a-lot

Mr Neo,

how much monthly pension are you drawing now ?

Copi Soh:p

Beg like a dog for 30 dollars, goddamn loser

Should go to Macik house next to Plaza Singapura or her kampung house in Yishun, on his fours, & beg for $30. They can do good, do together... They are hoping that he conk out, so that they can stop paying him pension...he like Charles Dickens story, in a poor house, still want to ask, " can I have some more".

Only the volunteers can have a life time of good pension...the lesser mortals, must go on fours, bend & raise their rears..."do good, do together".

A clean cop from the 1960s? Little wonder he retired destitute and is now shamelessly begging for an extra $30 a month.

Hasn't he heard of the famous hongkie cop Lei Lok?

A clean cop from the 1960s? Little wonder he retired destitute and is now shamelessly begging for an extra $30 a month.

You never read lips, clean cock...not clean COP!

The truth of the matter is, what is the percentage of GDP does the PAP spend on welfare? or on Social policies? What about raise GST to help the poor? If GST raise soo much,,,surely the 30 bucks is wet wet water,,,,

Yeah he should have learnt from the Best,,,,

here is part 2,,,really a good movie,,,

The truth of the matter is, what is the percentage of GDP does the PAP spend on welfare? or on Social policies? What about raise GST to help the poor? If GST raise soo much,,,surely the 30 bucks is wet wet water,,,,

The poor they help by raising GST is to their 'poor' members. Compare the money we spent on the military as oppose to spending on social policies , you get the picture, right! or the money we spent on gambling, as in TOTO, 4D, sports, horse racing etc. excluding caSINoes, runs into billions. Forget what Singapore pools says they have been helping charities since 1968...how much goes into helping??. How about the rest of the money making ventures? MOT...COE, ERP etc. MOM, maid levies, worker's levies etc..

They can jolly well, pay that $30..& that is not the point. Those who are given pension is like that story of "can I have more gruel'? & have the cloud of 'curse' from the giver of that pension, " when are you going to die, to save some money"...they are not wishing you a long & fruitful life.

$30 to them..."sup sup sway"....but to give...that is not they will do.

The poor they help by raising GST is to their 'poor' members. Compare the money we spent on the military as oppose to spending on social policies , you get the picture, right! or the money we spent on gambling, as in TOTO, 4D, sports, horse racing etc. excluding caSINoes, runs into billions. Forget what Singapore pools says they have been helping charities since 1968...how much goes into helping??. How about the rest of the money making ventures? MOT...COE, ERP etc. MOM, maid levies, worker's levies etc..

They can jolly well, pay that $30..& that is not the point. Those who are given pension is like that story of "can I have more gruel'? & have the cloud of 'curse' from the giver of that pension, " when are you going to die, to save some money"...they are not wishing you a long & fruitful life.

$30 to them..."sup sup sway"....but to give...that is not they will do.

The truth of the matter is the 70% voted for such a gahmen,,if Ho Jinx looses all the reserves etc and the pappies enrich themselves, and the people themselves suffer,..than the people have only themselves to blame,,,singkies deserve the gahmen they vote for

A bus trip was five cents.

this orang lama is either useless or bullshit

last time mata where got pay bus fare one

just flash and say zheng hu lang ok liao

my ah gong last time was a Tay Koyak bus conductor

told me one

dun believe you can ask my gong gong

Money spent on welfare is not investment. You invest money in education and on the young people, not the old folks.

This Neo fella also talking cock. If want $30 more, just go work in Mcdonalds for a few days per month la.

Money spent on welfare is not investment. You invest money in education and on the young people, not the old folks.
If that is the case. Implement the Soylent Green option. Give benefits to the old n Infirmed to encourage participation. Than I will be the 1st to volunteer.

We are talking about pension....psst! PENSION. If that is a welfare, the PAP should stop giving themselves pension; for they have lots of old folks & that is a disinvestment.

Once your hand stops moving, your mouth also stop la!

Cheebye, what pension? Just because u work as a glorified police dog, then u deserve a pension?

Once your hand stops moving, your mouth also stop la!

Cheebye, what pension? Just because u work as a glorified police dog, then u deserve a pension?

He was a good average doggy from an established "kennel", not a pedigree, but a good breed mongrel; but still not the late Thai King type; but gets fed for life. isn't that a DOG LIFE!.

What's this shit about police serving the nation? They don't get paid? U think they can get a job that pays as well outside the civil service with their level of education or skills?

The same applies to those glorified regulars at army/navy/air force. They don't get paid? What makes them so special from those working in Mcdonald's or doing admin?

We are talking about pension....psst! PENSION. If that is a welfare, the PAP should stop giving themselves pension; for they have lots of old folks & that is a disinvestment.

PAP ministers appointed to office from May 2011 will not receive pensions anymore.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...-abolishes-parliamentary-pensions-act-8361006

Pensions work well when there's a small pool of pioneers supported by a large pool of young workers. The golden age of pensions were from the 1950s to 1980s. Since then, there's too many old folks and a shrinking work force. Pensions are nothing but a burden. Learn to plan your own retirement. Use your CPF wisely.

Pension is fpr obedient dogs only in the first place. Doesnt help the public at all. In the end hes still a selfish bastard