[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD="class: update"]

<tbody>
[TD="width: 138, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]Photos [/TD]
[TD="width: 47, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]1 of 1[/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18">[/TD]
[TD="width: 19, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19">[/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18">[/TD]

</tbody>
dotline_240.gif

Dr Tony Tan[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD="class: update"] [/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

<tbody>
[TD="colspan: 2"]
[/TD]

[TD="width: 430"] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1145603/1/.html# Share
[/TD]

[/TD]

</tbody>

SINGAPORE: The Federation of Tan Clan Associations in Singapore, which has over 10,000 members, has endorsed Dr Tony Tan's bid to be the Republic's next President.

Dr Tan has been the clan's Honorary Advisor since 2006.

Dr Tan met the Federation's members on Sunday afternoon and he spoke on the importance of clan associations, saying they can play a big part in bonding society during tough times.

Dr Tan said the associations provided resilience and unity to get through crises.

He was also asked to respond to comments made on the Elected President's role by Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K Shanmugam and others at a recent forum.

Dr Tan said: "I would prefer to think about the points which they have made because I think that these are serious considerations which anybody who wants or who aspires to the position of President would have to give very serious thought to. So rather than give a quick reaction, which I think will be premature, I will like to take my time to think about the points which have been made."

- CNA/fa

PE: President constitutionally obliged to act on advice of Cabinet: President Nathan
By Augustine Anthuvan, Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 07 August 2011 1831 hrs
[TABLE="width: 260, align: right"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 20, align: right"] [/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"]
php5bYuvJ.jpg
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD="class: update"] [TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18">[/TD]
[TD="width: 19, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19">[/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: f6f6f6"]<input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18">[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
dotline_240.gif

President S R Nathan[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
[TABLE="width: 510"]
<tbody>[TR]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="width: 430"] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1145599/1/.html# Share
[/TD]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

SINGAPORE: Amid ongoing public discussion on the role of the Elected Presidency, President S R Nathan has reiterated that the office has its constitutional obligations.

In an interview with Channel NewsAsia, Mr Nathan said these include acting on the advice of the Cabinet and of the Council of Presidential Advisers on matters under the Constitution.

In his 12 years in office, Mr Nathan said there was never any occasion in which he had to demand information from the government.

He said: "I have absolute access. Every Cabinet meeting, every Cabinet paper has been sent to me so that have opportunity to look at them beforehand. And when I have questions and when I meet the Prime Minister or the Senior Minister periodically, we do exchange views. What I have in mind, I'll raise with him, and what they have in mind they'll raise with us, beyond the formal exchange of information."

The President has to consult the Council of Presidential Advisers when exercising his custodial and discretionary powers.

In 2009, with a global crisis in the horizon, Mr Nathan and the Council requested to be briefed by the Ministry of Finance, the Monetary Authority of Singapore and relevant agencies on the potential impact on Singapore.

Mr Nathan later approved the use of past reserves to fund measures to fight the recession.

He said: "We knew that we were in a state where inevitably we had to do something. So at that stage, the government came up with the proposal of the Jobs Credit Scheme and the bank guarantees. We in our judgement and the Council of the Presidential Advisers in their judgement, felt that we had to respond and that's when the process worked. We had a formal letter from the government explaining what they wanted, and also what it was to do with the way to alleviate the consequences of this downturn. That was the stage when the Council recommended that I approved it and I did it."

The President also does not act independently when asked to grant pardons on the death penalty.

Mr Nathan said: "One would like us to and like me to exercise it freely but I've got to act on the advice of the Cabinet as provided by the Constitution. However sympathetic you may be, one has to think of the overall good of the community as against an individual. I know it is a painful exercise."

Mr Nathan said he understands the expectations that people may have of the President but he said it is not his place to comment on their views.

- CNA/fa

The Tan clans endorsed only one Tan so means all surnamed Tan will be voting for TT?
The rest of the Tans outcast by their own clan...

The Tan clans endorsed only one Tan so means all surnamed Tan will be voting for TT?
The rest of the Tans outcast by their own clan...

These Tan Clan leaders are just por lam pars - that's all. Truth be told, these ball lickes will never know which Tan their members vote in the booth. It is not like they can deliver the votes onbloc for TT. Same BS from the NTUC president about whom to endorse - they talk like they can know/control which Tan is voted. Just a sense of self-importance for these fellas and hopefully, they can claim "you owe me one" if TT gets elected. Which is why it should made a law that no endorsements by organisations are allowed. These presidents think they really have control over their members.

PE: President constitutionally obliged to act on advice of Cabinet: President Nathan
By Augustine Anthuvan, Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 07 August 2011 1831 hrs
[TABLE="width: 260, align: right"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 20, align: right"] [/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"]
php5bYuvJ.jpg
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD="class: update"] [TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
dotline_240.gif

President S R Nathan[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] [/TD]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
[TABLE="width: 510"]
<tbody>[TR]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="width: 430"] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1145599/1/.html# Share
[/TD]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

SINGAPORE: Amid ongoing public discussion on the role of the Elected Presidency, President S R Nathan has reiterated that the office has its constitutional obligations.

In an interview with Channel NewsAsia, Mr Nathan said these include acting on the advice of the Cabinet and of the Council of Presidential Advisers on matters under the Constitution.

In his 12 years in office, Mr Nathan said there was never any occasion in which he had to demand information from the government.

He said: "I have absolute access. Every Cabinet meeting, every Cabinet paper has been sent to me so that have opportunity to look at them beforehand. And when I have questions and when I meet the Prime Minister or the Senior Minister periodically, we do exchange views. What I have in mind, I'll raise with him, and what they have in mind they'll raise with us, beyond the formal exchange of information."

The President has to consult the Council of Presidential Advisers when exercising his custodial and discretionary powers.

In 2009, with a global crisis in the horizon, Mr Nathan and the Council requested to be briefed by the Ministry of Finance, the Monetary Authority of Singapore and relevant agencies on the potential impact on Singapore.

Mr Nathan later approved the use of past reserves to fund measures to fight the recession.

He said: "We knew that we were in a state where inevitably we had to do something. So at that stage, the government came up with the proposal of the Jobs Credit Scheme and the bank guarantees. We in our judgement and the Council of the Presidential Advisers in their judgement, felt that we had to respond and that's when the process worked. We had a formal letter from the government explaining what they wanted, and also what it was to do with the way to alleviate the consequences of this downturn. That was the stage when the Council recommended that I approved it and I did it."

The President also does not act independently when asked to grant pardons on the death penalty.

Mr Nathan said: "One would like us to and like me to exercise it freely but I've got to act on the advice of the Cabinet as provided by the Constitution. However sympathetic you may be, one has to think of the overall good of the community as against an individual. I know it is a painful exercise."

Mr Nathan said he understands the expectations that people may have of the President but he said it is not his place to comment on their views.

- CNA/fa

Mr Nathan, as you would have seen from the various MSM as well as internet posts, it is a matter of whether you have discharged your responsibilities within the borders of your "restrictions" but truth be told, you took the easy way out - take the easy money and get out of the way of the government. Or you could have pushed the envelope. But you did not. So, telling us that you have done your best after pocketing about $40 million in the past 12 years, quite frankly is disappointing. Your best was not enough or as my boss always tells me "the best can be bettered" or as Lim Swee Say shouted, we should be "betterer and bestestest."

In the same way the PAP and the Straits Times and CNA and MediaCorp are largely irrelevant except by default in Singaporean society, the TAN federation will find out how out of touch they are.

If Tony Tan doesn't get elected, it'll be a big FUCK YOU by the Tans of Singapore. Moreso when they elect some other Tan.

Yesterday's hero is tomorrow's zero. Looks like the Tan Federation will have to TARN TARN hor!

Then again, is Tony going to be President of the Tans or the people of one people, one nation and one Singapore? If so, just hold the elections amongst the Tans then.

The plan may backfire. Remember this Tan Thiam Lye and all the religious chiefs went all out to support George Yeo. And Aljunied GRC fell to the opposition.

What if they back the wrong horse and a dark horse (any of the 3 other Tans) gets elected? Shouldn't they copy NTUC's kiasee/kiasu style by just claiming that TT seems to fit the bill of who they should endorse but stopped short of full endorsement. They should initiate dialogues with all the Tans just in case TT fails to get elected which is not an impossibility; given the current sentiments.:D

The plan may backfire. Remember this Tan Thiam Lye and all the religious chiefs went all out to support George Yeo. And Aljunied GRC fell to the opposition.

I think this Tan thiam lye is happy deep inside that GY lost.

You mean Tan Thiam Lye actually wanted George Yeo to lose? Then why he publicly supported GY? Maybe just to please FAP.:p

But now Tan Thiam Lye also publicly endorsed Tony Tan. Hope that he didn't mean what he said.:D:D

The fella is just on ego trip lah - to show his clansmen that he got connections.

Mr Nathan, as you would have seen from the various MSM as well as internet posts, it is a matter of whether you have discharged your responsibilities within the borders of your "restrictions" but truth be told, you took the easy way out - take the easy money and get out of the way of the government. Or you could have pushed the envelope. But you did not. So, telling us that you have done your best after pocketing about $40 million in the past 12 years, quite frankly is disappointing. Your best was not enough or as my boss always tells me "the best can be bettered" or as Lim Swee Say shouted, we should be "betterer and bestestest."

1. from the fat arse mouth.
2. it is proven beyond doubt, useless and pointless portfolio.