• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAUL LAMPARD Thomas Tan got OWNED by PAP

• Thread starter Thread starter Kenshiro
  • Start date Start date
K

Kenshiro

Paul Lampard's letter

Quote:

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum...ry_505268.html

Mar 23, 2010
CONSERVANCY CHARGES
Bite bullet, raise them

WITH the General Election looming, most if not all town councils are reluctant to take the bull by the horns by raising conservancy charges ('Most town councils not raising fees', yesterday).

Holding back raising charges is short- sighted, as sooner or later, fees must increase to catch up with rising costs.

I am happy my town council in Jurong has increased the fee in small bites instead of deferring until after the election or I would have to pay a heftier sum.

Town councils keep three separate accounts for the maintenance of HDB estates, namely residential, commercial and carparks. Under residential and commercial activity, they keep separate funds known as routine fund and sinking fund. A check of the audited accounts from figures cited in the respective websites for the financial year 2008-2009 shows the following:

# East Coast Town Council has zero accumulated surplus in the residential property fund in its balance sheet as at March 31, 2009.

# Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council has a deficit of $535,848 in the town and improvement project fund of the residential property fund as at March 31, 2009.

# Hougang Town Council has only $29,266 accumulated surplus in the residential property fund as at March 31, 2009 and an accumulated deficit of $77,635 in the carpark fund. It should return the carpark maintenance to HDB.

# Tanjong Pagar Town Council also has zero accumulated surplus in the residential property fund in its balance sheet as at March 31, 2009, a deficit of $2,633,921 in the town and improvement project fund of the residential property fund and a deficit of $112,247 in the carpark fund in 2008.

The Town Councils Management Report does not cover these parameters in the financial management reporting. It is left to residents to decide how their town councils can rectify the deficits.

On its part, the Ministry of National Development should nudge the town councils to raise their fees so the ministry need not bail them out should they run into financial difficulties.

Thomas Tan

Town Council Response:

Mar 26, 2010
We're financially healthy, affirm three town councils

WE REFER to Mr Thomas Tan's letter on Tuesday, 'Conservancy charges: Bite bullet, raise them'. The financial status of East Coast, Holland-Bukit Panjang and Tanjong Pagar town councils is healthy.

In the financial year 2008-2009, East Coast, Holland-Bukit Panjang and Tanjong Pagar town councils achieved healthy accumulated surpluses. Our total funds stood at $82.7 million, $96.16 million and $166.28 million respectively.

The three separate accounts for the maintenance of HDB estates, which Mr Tan referred to, are funds established according to the various types of properties, namely residential, commercial and carpark, within the operating fund.

This is for the presentation of the accounts in accordance with the Town Councils Act. Under the Act, town councils can make good any deficit in the funds by making transfer between funds while the total operating funds remain positive.

East Coast and Tanjong Pagar town councils did just that. For the town improvement project funds, they are set up by transferring from the accumulated operating surplus to fund specific town improvement projects.

In the respective town council websites, the audited accounts for the past financial year presented to residents show the following:

# East Coast Town Council has an accumulated operating surplus of $4.71 million, sinking fund of $77.3 million and town improvement project fund of $0.66 million.

# Holland Bukit-Panjang Town Council has an accumulated operating surplus of $1.8 million, sinking fund of $93.7 million and town improvement project fund of $0.56 million.

# Tanjong Pagar Town Council has an accumulated operating surplus of $3.24 million, sinking fund of $162.7 million and town improvement project fund of $ 0.17 million.

A comprehensive cyclical work programme is also put in place to upkeep the conditions of building components and infrastructure.

Albert Teng
General Manager/Secretary
Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council

Simon Koh
Tanjong Pagar Town Council

Sasidharan Nair
East Coast Town Council

Why so great disparity between the figures provided by both sides ?

Wasn't it someone famous who said :

"There are lies, damned lies ...... and statistics !" :D

I am happy my town council in Jurong has increased the fee in small bites instead of deferring until after the election or I would have to pay a heftier sum.:confused::mad:

this asshole thomas tan would be happy if he caught his wife fucking behind his back by proclaiming : i am happy that my wife only chose to give me 1 green hat at a time instead of giving me 5 at 1 go.:eek:

what kind of stupid logic is this? fuck you lah thomas.:oIo:

They are taking our money from the operating surpluses to fund town improvements which mainly benefit the businesses. No wonder so many businessmen join the grassroots to give their 2 cents' worth.

After using up the surpluses, they will claim money no enough and raise charges again? I rather not have the improvements.

Who the fuck is this Paul Lampard , like that 'Foyce' name liddat ?

OIC .... Paul Lampard is just a polite way of saying 'Por Lum par' izzit ?

Nabei ! Por Lum Par tio Por Lumpar lah , what 'Paul Lampard' ! Tiu !:oIo:

What the fuck is wrong with this guy? Picture what this bastard son of a kiam kan prostitute is really saying, "Screw me up the ass now! Don't wait till later!"

They are taking our money from the operating surpluses to fund town improvements which mainly benefit the businesses. No wonder so many businessmen join the grassroots to give their 2 cents' worth.

After using up the surpluses, they will claim money no enough and raise charges again? I rather not have the improvements.

Spot on . Money to fund phony and crony companies !

>>I am happy my town council in Jurong has increased the fee in small bites instead of deferring until after the election or I would have to pay a heftier sum.<<

What a por lumpar! I bet every time he sees LHL, he writhes in orgasm!

ah thomas ... u r rite! ...

no town councils shud b having deficits ... dey shud all b having healthy profits instead ... tis makes ze town councils look gd n gif gd reflection on ze mp's ... moreover, town council staff can oso look 4ward 2 hefty bonuses 4 goot performance ...

I am happy my town council in Jurong has increased the fee in small bites instead of deferring until after the election or I would have to pay a heftier sum.:confused::mad:

this asshole thomas tan would be happy if he caught his wife fucking behind his back by proclaiming : i am happy that my wife only chose to give me 1 green hat at a time instead of giving me 5 at 1 go.:eek:

what kind of stupid logic is this? fuck you lah thomas.:oIo:

so it will be better for his wife to fuck one man by man than to have a mass orgy according to thomas.

YO VIBGYOR ! Don't use Lord Guan Yu's image as yr avatar, you Tee-Kee clone & anti-idol worshipper ! :mad:

The PAP owns no one other than those that want to be owned! :oIo:

They are noting more than an overgrown cyst!

All we have to do is to vote them out and to encourage others to vote them out.

We as citizens have lost out because of the loss of DEMOCRACY. As long as another party or group of parties is in power that believes in and abides by DEMOCRACY, we will be better off.

PAP supporters and PAP opposers, we all will benefit from a more democratic government. A goverment that protects the jobs of its citizens, provides decent wages to its workers, provides affordable housing without impinging on pensions and provides affordable, responsive and effective healthcare for its citizens is beyond the realm of the PAP.

Youu may support the PAP or be against the PAP. It doesn't matter because the PAP WILL NOT and hence, cannot provide affordable housing, responsive and effective healthcare and provide you with stable jobs that will allow you to have a decent life when you retire.

Will thomas reply again saying that oh, he mistook that TC was having losses thus we need to bite the bullet and now TC claimed they were profitable so it remains a good bite. How laughable can such logic be and I won't be surprised that they will still side the increment and sing praises again regardless and using typical PAP STYLE of words to hide flaws.

What the fuck is wrong with this guy? Picture what this bastard son of a kiam kan prostitute is really saying, "Screw me up the ass now! Don't wait till later!"

it is more of screw me up the ass slowly, better than bite the bullet.

Thomas succeeded in making the FAPee TRAITORS expose their accounts!

Money from: S&CC from the people (majority) + Operating grant from government (minority)
Money to: Operating Fund (60~65%) + Sinking Fund (30~35%)

We are talking about apples now and not oranges, that is, Operating Funds and not Sinking Funds.

Quite clearly, the town councils transfer accumulated operating surpluses to 3 operating fund a/cs - residential, commercial and carpark. In other words, money collected are used not just for clearing rubbish and maintaining estates.

The big question is: What are these spending? Building awnings outside PAP kindergardens? Paving the frontage of shops? Upgrading the playground outside Tumble Tots?

I suspect the letter-writer is intentionally presenting the town councils an opportunity to "educate" the public.

Sinking funds are used for repainting blocks, changing water tanks and upgrading lifts. We should leave Sinking Funds for the WP and SPP to comment since they are handicapped by not receiving Operating Grants from the government.