• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's Neglect/Mismanagement of Sports

TracyTan866

Sports is not just about winning medals. Sports have many benefits:

Individual -

1. Health - reduces body fat, strengthens bones, builds muscles, improves coordination, slows ageing process
2. Smart - better concentration, problem solving skills, attain goals, self esteem, time management
3. Social - exercises leadership, improves social interaction
4. Relaxation - releases stress, teaches pressure management
5. Character building
6. Values formation
7. Cultivates sportsmanship

Team -

1. Improves teamwork
2. Cultivates identity
3. Formulates team spirit

Country -

1. Cultivates loyalty
2. Citizens have sense of belonging
3. Healthier citizens reduces health costs
4. Sporty and fitter citizens are better workers
5. Sportsman like workers have right attitudes
6. Uniting the country through sports
7. Citizens are proud through sports achievements

Singapore's sports are in shams through PAP's neglect and mismanagement. FAS's aim to reach World Cup Finals in 2010 is a bad joke. Buying foreign sports talents to win medals for Singapore runs counter to the benefits listed above.

Instead of uniting Singaporeans, importing foreigners just to win medals divides the people. And such schemes will not last but the division of our people will take ages to heal. Just look at the table tennis team...is it going to continue winning gold medals? the hurt will last much longer. Is the pap wise to do it?

Putting VB to be Sports Minister is a colossal PAP mistake. He is no sportsman..He is not even a combat fit SAF Officer. What does he know abt sports? Look at the damage he has done to SSC , sports facilities, infrastruture and sports mismanagement. Does VB have a hand in Oon Jin Teik's departure? OJT was a good SSC CEO. Is his replacement, Lim Teik Yin better?

Look at the pathetic situation in MOE schools. Many school fields have been taken away and many schools are without a proper field. How to get our students and citizens to participate in Sports and harness all the benefits when PAP and MOE have choppped off the legs of the sports fraternity?

The pap has to review its sports management and seriously count the cost of wanting to win medals at all costs but neglect SG sports! It can do more harm than good in the long term...unhealthy, unsporting, weak and sickly singaporeans with wrong values, no teamwork and no loyalty towards SG because of a deprived SG Sports culture.

look at how Germans, Italians, French and Spanairds cheered their teams during Euro 2012. Dont we share their pride for their countries? I envy them!! Singaporeans will likewise cheer Singapore when we have the right sporting culture and when we nurture and cultivate teamwork and loyalty among Singaporeans through sports and wise govt policies and care for Singaporeans. It is wise to invest in Sports!

Just growing GDP at all costs, but neglecting our people and not giving them a sense of identity and belonging, is going to be detrimental to Singapore in the long run.

aurvandil

One of the greatest failures of SSC is the SEP or Sports Education Program. It is a criminal waste of taxpayer's money which has generated few if any benefits.

http://sep.ssc.gov.sg/

Under SEP, schools are pushed large sums of money to engage third party vendors to provide sport programs to the students. This is while the schools have a full cohort of PE teachers and instructors. Many of the programs are sub standard as many of vendors are one man shows who claim to be experts in the sports they are coaching. Many of the schools select programs for logistical convenience like proximity of venue and lack of time table clashes. The PE teachers bring the kids to the venue and then relax in one corner while the third party vendor takes over! If you ask the kids at the end of the lesson if they have learnt anything or if their attitudes towards sport has changed, I think you will be hard pressed to have any kind of positive response.

In a lot of ways, the SEP is a lot like the YOG ... impressively spending huge amounts of money and not getting any kind of measurable output or result. If Minister "Kee Chiu" Chan is serious about doing house cleaning at MCYS, he should have a serious look at this and other money sucking programs that have crept into the MCYS budget during the tenure of his big spending predecessor.

Putting VB to be Sports Minister is a colossal PAP mistake. He is no sportsman..He is not even a combat fit SAF Officer. What does he know abt sports? Look at the damage he has done to SSC , sports facilities, infrastruture and sports mismanagement. Does VB have a hand in Oon Jin Teik's departure? OJT was a good SSC CEO. Is his replacement, Lim Teik Yin better?

... look at how Germans, Italians, French and Spanairds cheered their teams during Euro 2012. Dont we share their pride for their countries? I envy them!! Singaporeans will likewise cheer Singapore when we have the right sporting culture and when we nurture and cultivate teamwork and loyalty among Singaporeans through sports and wise govt policies and care for Singaporeans. It is wise to invest in Sports!

Just growing GDP at all costs ...
germans, italians, french n spaniards got no powderful gdp growth 2 cheer wat! ... so dey can oni cheer their tims in euro ...

ah loon wants sinkies 2 cheer he n his jingang 2 get mor gdp growth ...

TracyTan866

One of the greatest failures of SSC is the SEP or Sports Education Program. It is a criminal waste of taxpayer's money which has generated few if any benefits.

http://sep.ssc.gov.sg/

Under SEP, schools are pushed large sums of money to engage third party vendors to provide sport programs to the students. This is while the schools have a full cohort of PE teachers and instructors. Many of the programs are sub standard as many of vendors are one man shows who claim to be experts in the sports they are coaching. Many of the schools select programs for logistical convenience like proximity of venue and lack of time table clashes. The PE teachers bring the kids to the venue and then relax in one corner while the third party vendor takes over! If you ask the kids at the end of the lesson if they have learnt anything or if their attitudes towards sport has changed, I think you will be hard pressed to have any kind of positive response.

In a lot of ways, the SEP is a lot like the YOG ... impressively spending huge amounts of money and not getting any kind of measurable output or result.

Agree...schools are best to train and teach their students. Empower, equip and fund the schools rightly and leave them to do the job. Commercialising has its bad results and effects.

We have gone too far down the wrong path. Can Heng Swee Keat and CCS reverse and right the path?

TracyTan866

germans, italians, french n spaniards got no powderful gdp growth 2 cheer wat! ... so dey can oni cheer their tims in euro ...

ah loon wants sinkies 2 cheer he n his jingang 2 get mor gdp growth ...

GDP is not everything. have u travelled to France, Italy, Spain and Germany?

Do u think the people are worse off than Singaporeans?

The French has Aerospatiale, Citroen and the Germans have BMW, Mercedes, Audi...

hillary888

That is why MCYS set up the Singapore Sport School to nurture home-grown sport talent and such initiative needs time to have a return of investment. BTW how many parents in Singapore "dream" of letting their child in full time sport career?

TracyTan866

That is why MCYS set up the Singapore Sport School to nurture home-grown sport talent and such initiative needs time to have a return of investment. BTW how many parents in Singapore "dream" of letting their child in full time sport career?

From what you said, it is quite obvious that you dont play sports nor are you familiar with Sports.

TracyTan866

do you think the pap has done enough for Sports and has done the right thing for Sports?

... France, Italy, Spain and Germany?

Do u think the people are worse off than Singaporeans?

The French has Aerospatiale, Citroen and the Germans have BMW, Mercedes, Audi...
italy n spain r on ze road 2 bankruptcy ...

sinkielan got self-procraimed world crass gahmen n world bestest paid gahmen ...

TracyTan866

italy n spain r on ze road 2 bankruptcy ...

sinkielan got self-procraimed world crass gahmen n world bestest paid gahmen ...

dont be myopic and look only at 2012. Look at the future. Spain and Italy will be around in 100yrs time. I am not sure abt SG.

even today, despite Spain's and italy's woes, do you think Singaporeans are better off than spanairds and italians? dont be deceived by MSM and the pap to think that Singapore is first world, Singaporeans have best quality of live.

dont be myopic and look only at 2012. Look at the future. Spain and Italy will be around in 100yrs time. I am not sure abt SG ...
who cares about 100 yrs time? ... iz not gonna benefit u wat happens in 100 yrs time ... wat matters is now ...

u get chinawoman 4 ping-pong ... dey win gold 4 u now! ... u bask in their glory ... u achieve ur kpi ... u can go boasting 2 ah loon u r goot! ... u can ask ah loong 4 xtra bonus n u get it! ... u r rich! ... u bcum n erite! ...

valiant20

You have gotta start from young..

Majority of kids in Aus head off to sports lessons after school (school finishes 3pm, sports starts at 4pm or so)..

Majority of kids in Singapore head off to remedial classes/tuition after school.. few do sports save for the weekend..

These are kids in their primary school years... Been working in the sports industry in melb..

TracyTan866

who cares about 100 yrs time? ... iz not gonna benefit u wat happens in 100 yrs time ... wat matters is now ...

I do care abt 100years time because i love Singapore.

Yes, what matters now is also important and my point is the italians, the spaniards are living better than the average singaporean now, despite the low point in their countries' history. can you imagine their living standard shd their countries bloom?

Italy reached Euro 2012 Finals, Spain won Euro 2008, World Cup 2010, Euro 2012. They have Nadal, Amagro, Verdasco, Ferrer, Ferrero, Garrigues, Martinez Sanchez, etc..

Who do we have?

TracyTan866

Yes, it is a tragic mistake to get commercial vendors to train the students and get parents to pay good money to these vendors. The vendors are just out to make money. I know of a primary sch which gets the paerents to train their 10 year old children badminton for $10 an hour. The coach is from china and he has abt 16 students...per session..every two hrs, he gets $320. it';s money making venture for him. he may be able to impart badminton skills, but MOE and Sports Ministry have missed the real benefits of Sports.

How abt children whose parents cant afford to pay?

Sports shd be for all and under the purview of MOE and MCYS

TracyTan866

You have gotta start from young..

Majority of kids in Aus head off to sports lessons after school (school finishes 3pm, sports starts at 4pm or so)..

Majority of kids in Singapore head off to remedial classes/tuition after school.. few do sports save for the weekend..

These are kids in their primary school years... Been working in the sports industry in melb..

You are right. Sports is important.

look at Australian's swim team. look at Aus soccer. looka t Aus tennis, Look at Aus rugby, look at Aus cricket, look at Aus athletics, look at australians!

Sports are important in overall human and a country's development

... Yes, what matters now is also important and my point is the italians, the spaniards are living better than the average singaporean now, despite the low point in their countries' history. can you imagine their living standard shd their countries bloom?

Italy reached Euro 2012 Finals, Spain won Euro 2008, World Cup 2010, Euro 2012. They have Nadal, Amagro, Verdasco, Ferrer, Ferrero, Garrigues, Martinez Sanchez, etc..

Who do we have?
italy n spain got hi debts ... dey r going ze way of greece ... greece got huge unemploymen prob ... sinkielan got so much jobs dat ft's has 2 b impoted 2 fil dem ... dat ah woodrow tong said sinkielan got swiss std ...

sinkielan got worldz bestest paid gahmen ... comprising 154th-boasted world crass talens ... got prez who proudly boasted he very goot n got no prob taming ze perfectest economic storm ...

TracyTan866

italy n spain got hi debts ... dey r going ze way of greece ... greece got huge unemploymen prob ... sinkielan got so much jobs dat ft's has 2 b impoted 2 fil dem ... dat ah woodrow tong said sinkielan got swiss std ...

u r reading too much what others write. rest assured that spain and italy would not disapper from the map. their people are still better off than "prosperous" Singapore where its citizens have to clean tables and wash toilets when they are in their 70s and the sick choose not to be treated because they cant afford.

why do u think many ypoung, intelligent and successful singaporeans are migrating to "poorer" countries such as Australia, NZ, canada, Europe? Dont be brainwashed by the pap and believe that the universe revolves ard Singapore