• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

pap, we are very unhappy!

Singaporeans least happy, least emotional, charitable in the world? Why?
Published by The Online Citizen on December 22, 2012 By Leong Sze Hian -

I refer to the article “Singaporeans unhappiest people in the world: poll” (xinmsn News, Dec 20).

It states that “So apparently we’re not just “emotionless”, we’re the world’s unhappiest lot as well.

We’re not sure if that sounds contradicting to you but the latest readings from a Gallup survey – the same one that recently labelled Singapore “the most emotionless society” – have sadly suggested so – that Singaporeans are also “least likely worldwide to report feeling positive emotions”.”

The article “S’pore ranks low in charitable giving” (Straits Times, Dec 20) said that “Overall, it was ranked 114th out of 146 countries in the latest World Giving Index released yesterday, down from the 91st spot in the 2010 and 2011 report.

Singapore came in near the bottom of the table for helping a stranger (140th) and volunteering one’s time (114th), but did better when it came to donating money (53rd).

While 29 per cent gave money to charity in a typical month last year, 41 per cent did so in 2010.

Only 24 per cent had helped a stranger last year, down from 33 per cent the year before. Eight per cent volunteered their time, down from 11 per cent in 2010.”

So, why are we so unhappy, unemotional and less charitable?

Well, the following statistics may give us some clues: -

500,000 earn less than $1,500?

… More than half million residents may be earning less than $1,500 a month (“NTUC: Wages need to account for standard of living?”, Dec 20)

Few needy get help?

… According to a Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports’ (MCYS) study, only 20,300 families, or about one in 10 of the 200,000 families in the bottom fifth of the income ladder, were getting help under the various ComCare schemes.

Even if the bulk of those getting assistance were in the poorest 10 per cent of households – about 100,000 which earned a household income of only S$1,400 a month, it still means that only about two of these 10 poorest households were helped. (“Focus on help for families that need it“, Nov 22, 2011)

Low-wage workers 100% underpaid?

… Professor Lim Chong Yah has talked along the lines that too many low-income Singapore workers are being “underpaid by much more than 100% of their pay when compared with their counterparts in countries with comparable national affluence like Hong Kong, Japan or Australia”, and that we need a “wage shock therapy”. (“Singapore Wage Debate Heats Up“, The Wall Street Journal, Apr 17)

So many cash-strapped?

… More than five per cent of HDB households’ Service an Conservancy Charges (S & CC) were in arrears for more than three months and more than 50% of the town council’s monthly S & C C collectible is overdue for 3 months or more, in one Group Representation Constituency (GRC) (“What has Aljunied-Hougang TC’s IT system got to do with Changi airport?” Dec 18)

12 years near negative real wage growth?

… In the last 12 years or so, there has been near negative real basic wage growth for almost all workers (“Workers’ rights: 12 years of near negative wage growth for almost all workers?”, Dec 9)

Real income declines with age?

… According to the recent Retirement Study (“Retirement Study: High IRR?“, Nov 15) commissioned by the Government, men earning median incomes at the 50th percentile would only be earning what in real wage growth terms at age 65, what they were earning at around 30 years old, as real wage growth in Singapore declines with age

Relentless rise in prices?

… Relentless price increases in basic goods and necessities, like property taxincrease of up to 222 per cent for HDB 3-room flats from 2012 to 1 January 2014 (excluding the one-off rebates) (“HDB rentals up 10%, but property tax up 118%?”, Nov 27)

… Increase in MediShield premiums and deductibles (“MediShield: Deductibles increased by 5 times historically for elderly?”, Nov 12)

Casino gambling losses?

… Since the two casinos had combined annual gaming revenue of $5.7 billion last year, your guess is as good as mine as to how much came from Singaporeans? (“Parliament: Replies that never answer the question? (Act 3)“, Nov 17)

Low welfare spending?

… Relatively low expenditure on welfare compared to other countries (“Needy gets 24 cents of every dollar spent?”, Nov 11) http://leongszehian.com/?p=2029

(“Social welfare per capita: Hong Kong spends 76% more than Singapore?”), Nov 10)

What the above statistics may indicate is that a lot of Singaporeans may be struggling to make ends meet.

So, is it any wonder that Singaporeans may be the least happy, least emotional and less charitable in the world?

in reality: are we enriching gov to bankrupt ourselves?

how can it be?

pinky and all his lackeys get million$. they are suppose to be better breed than USA obama to be entitled to such ridiculous pay to rule over a tiny little dot.

our gov must sue that report that says bad things about us. they are good at suing and bankrupting. let's see how they do their usual stuff. probably not unless u were chee soon juan category :(

Re: in reality: are we enriching gov to bankrupt ourselves?

3rd thread on this topic liao....

Lies! Singaporeans are happy. Here is proof:

615990_430157730376145_1254113004_o.jpg

Equalisation

By Crom,

It is infuriating to see the MIWs having, such a good time, while we poorer citizens working to our deaths due to the fact that OUR hard-earned Cpf money is being locked up !:mad:

batman1

Singapore,an island of walking corpses.

Gigo88

No worry. Our govt will setup a committee to study why Sinkies are so unhappy (something that our whiter than white MIW can never understand).

batman1

Everytime when pinky appear in public,u can see the fark face yeo guat kwang smiling and cheering.PUI !

come jan 2013, all cpfs withdrawee might find it even more difficult to get their life saving back. DearSanta,

PAPIBCHIEF

PAP will suck all sinkies dry...this is for sure!
Prepare yourself...from health care, COE, GST, utilities bill, MRT, SBS, etc!
Good luck sinkies!

whoami

By Crom,

It is infuriating to see the MIWs having, such a good time, while we poorer citizens working to our deaths due to the fact that OUR hard-earned Cpf money is being locked up !:mad:

Ah Hia, i notice u have been harping on our CPF issue. Tink u have alot of S$ in ur retirement or OA ya?

But i agree with u. They shouldnt hold our money till age 65. Can anyone guarantee tat i can live till 65???

neddy

By Crom,

To the ah neh working under the sun as poorer construction workers, they wonder what the fuss about singkie complaining poor? :biggrin:

How singkie treat the ah neh is no difference from what the miw treat the singkie.

neddy

Why so unhappy? Cheer up!
Having a red nose does not mean you have to be miserable.

canstock11320158.jpg

i can feel an increase in GST coming soon.

and pinky would reason it that it would help "more and more needies and the poor...." (last increase only help "more". next increase would be to help "more and more")

Prometheus888

sorry to break the bad news to you people of this forum.

BUT MAKING SINGAPOREANS HAPPY AND CONTENTED IS NOT PART OF THE PAP GOVERNMENT'S KPIs!!!

batman1

What do u do when u are unhappy with pap ???

500,000 earn less than $1,500?

… More than half million residents may be earning less than $1,500 a month (“NTUC: Wages need to account for standard of living?”, Dec 20)
I thought Malays are happy and contented?
All jungle people, all happy people!