One of the public outcries in the GE is Ministers' pay. Unlikely they will cut their own pay. To circumvent the issue, a common practice is to assign (on paper) to each person, as many jobs as possible. It will then make to appear that the pay is fair as each individual is loaded with so many portfolios.
At the very least... They tried to cut down on expenses and payroll $$$ from 21 ministers to 14...
Yes, u are right. But at this point, even the people can see that its stupid. How can tharm competently discharge his duties as the holder of 3 ministerial posts? Even if he does not sleep or shit for the next 5 years, there is just not enough hours in the day. If they want to do what u proposed, than instead, they should just half Tharm's salary and stick him in MOF, and give the other half of his salary to another new minister running MOM. Even at 50%, Tharm will be very well paid. And overall salary remains unchanged, but this will not happen as that means all the other ministers have to take a pay cut.
At the very least... They tried to cut down on expenses and payroll $$$ from 21 ministers to 14...
"BGTan, now minister of state for MOM and MND"
If he has access to the data for both ministries, his eyes will pop up and his balls will drop. And then he will have a tough decision to make or, just see no evil and hear no evil.
The way the minister pay works when one of them is holding multi portfolio is that the ministries that he helms are supposed to get together and determine how much of his time he worked in each ministry during the year, and than apportion his pay accordingly. e.g lets say Tharm during the year spend 1/3 of his time in each portfolio, and that his salary at the highest is $3 million, than each ministry is supposed to pay him $1 million salary from their budget.
The problem with this method is that who is to say how much time he spend doing what? If Tharm says he spend 90% of his time doing Finance, the ministry dares to deny it and say no, he spend more time in the PMO than he did with them? Also, the way that it is set up is that we essentially have a part time minister in Finance and MOM. The actual divvying up of the salaries have never been publicly revealed in the past. That is why I suspect that it has not been split at all. Each ministry just quietly pays the minister his full salary and shut up and don't rock the boat. Just ask yourself, if Tharm is spendinf 75% of the time in MOF, 20% in MOM, and 5% in PMO, than it begs the question of why we need him in MOM, and should'nt MOM deserve a full time minister?
I applaud PM Lee Hsien Loong on his new Cabinet.
I do not know his rationale and I am also not in a position to assess its implications. Neither am I an opposition member where everything that PM LHL does is wrong. But I applaud him because he has demonstrated his desire to institute change.
As we in Singapore are now in the beginning of a new era in PAP's management and leadership, I wish him every success and may he take care of us in the manner of a benevolent leader towards his people.
He confirmed for me that the PAP is the party with the greatest potential to watch over the next five years. The other is WP.
May God bless him and new cabinet with leading Singapore in a positive manner.
He gets only one paycheck even if they divide up the salaries. This thing about him getting multiple salaries is so laughable.
I applaud PM Lee Hsien Loong on his new Cabinet.
I do not know his rationale and I am also not in a position to assess its implications. Neither am I an opposition member where everything that PM LHL does is wrong. But I applaud him because he has demonstrated his desire to institute change.
As we in Singapore are now in the beginning of a new era in PAP's management and leadership, I wish him every success and may he take care of us in the manner of a benevolent leader towards his people.
He confirmed for me that the PAP is the party with the greatest potential to watch over the next five years. The other is WP.
May God bless him and new cabinet with leading Singapore in a positive manner.
That sinkie loong does not has any rationale at all. HE is what i call the follow instruction and SOP to the way to govt and pacify the people.
He does not have his own freaking brain to think. He just follow what his ancestor did in the past without questioning and take that as the universal truth in the way things are done.
That is the sinkie way things are done.
Yes, would this be a $9 million paycheck, asshole?
You're the asshole, spewing more disinformation just like the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.
hahahhahahhahahha, this is a good morning laugh. Damn near spilled the coffee.
That sinkie loong does not has any rationale at all. HE is what i call the follow instruction and SOP to the way to govt and pacify the people.
He does not have his own freaking brain to think. He just follow what his ancestor did in the past without questioning and take that as the universal truth in the way things are done.
That is the sinkie way things are done.
lianbeng dun think anything will change except people lor - change soup no change meat mah.
The only thing that can improve the common people's lot is a reversal of the policies that they have implemented in the last few years. Will this happen, no way.