• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP says Netizens have double standard

†††††

Double standards a paradox for PAP
Voters expect less of the opposition, due to security in PAP govt
By Peh Shing Huei

HEAVYWEIGHTS from the People's Action Party (PAP) have been urging voters to scrutinise the opposition parties' candidates and suggestions.

Apply the same standards to both the ruling party and the opposition, they stressed repeatedly.

'Don't have double standards,' said Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean last week, especially when assessing serious candidates from the more credible opposition parties.

Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said last month: 'If they (the voters) were to compare the candidates of the two sides, I hope that they will closely scrutinise all the candidates.'

Workers' Party (WP) chief Low Thia Khiang has even turned the double standards into electoral advantage, arguing earlier this week that if his party made a 'wrong judgment' with candidates, the consequences would be less serious than if the PAP did the same.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Thursday that such a 'cavalier' attitude shocked him: 'How can you have a Parliament where it's all right for the opposition to be not quite so up to scratch and that, well, the PAP, we hold you to higher standards?'

The PAP leaders' calls are sound. And the pressure will be on the opposition to scrutinise their candidates more carefully. But for a significant segment of the voting population, these calls are likely to fall on deaf ears.

In a political system where asymmetry is the overwhelming feature, these voters are not prepared to view the PAP and the opposition through the same lenses.

They are unlikely to change their mindset anytime soon, unless the political landscape goes through a major upheaval to put the ruling party and the opposition on more or less the same level.

In terms of parliamentary representation, the Singapore political scene is lopsided - 82 PAP MPs to two opposition MPs. And the ratio hasn't changed much since 1966. In terms of votes, however, the gap is smaller: 66.6 per cent for the PAP and 33.4 per cent for the opposition.

But it is the 82-2 result that leads some to think it an insult to tag the battle between the PAP and the opposition as one between Goliath and David, since that would give the impression the opposition David has a chance against the giant. Instead, they would cast it as a 100m race between a Ferrari and a one-litre car.

The PAP also has the advantage of an enviable track record as the ruling party, delivering five decades of steady, even spectacular, growth. It has also been proactive in addressing voters' concerns throughout its terms in office.

As the incumbent, it has other advantages during election time. It decides the timing of the polls; is able to give out hongbao from fiscal surpluses like the Grow and Share Package close to the elections; and can make or change rules such as the size of the GRCs and the Cooling- off Day. It can also announce programmes to improve constituents' estates close to election time.

In addition, the PAP has built up strong institutional links, such as its 'symbiotic ties' with the unions. As the government of the day, it controls grassroots organisations under the People's Association.

In such a political terrain, voters very often place the PAP and the opposition on different scales. When it comes to candidates, a degree is expected of someone from the PAP. Degrees from brand-name foreign universities are commonplace.

In the opposition, every candidate with a bachelor's degree is a notch up for the party. Much was made of the WP slate in 2006 which had 10 graduates.

Double standards were evident way back in the 1984 General Election. Then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew told voters that the PAP candidate in Potong Pasir, Mr Mah Bow Tan, had scored six distinctions and two credits at the O levels. In contrast, said Mr Lee, opposition candidate Chiam See Tong managed just seven credits and a pass in English.

Mr Chiam won that contest and has held on to Potong Pasir since.

Similarly, in the current GE, it is likely the WP's star catch Chen Show Mao would not have attracted as much attention if he had donned PAP whites. The top lawyer's solid resume both at work and in school would be just what Singaporeans have come to expect from the PAP.

Unfortunately, the PAP has to live with such higher expectations. Voters demand more from the party simply because it is almost certain to win the elections and form the next government.

Since most PAP candidates will win their seats, voters will have to live with them as their MPs, who will take care of their estates and represent them in Parliament. Some among them will become ministers with power to make important decisions. Quite naturally, voters feel they must demand more from those to whom much will be given.

Until the political scene changes, with an opposition emerging as a plausible threat to the ruling party's dominance, the double standards will persist.

Singapore politics will continue to have a handicap-like system, where the voters cut the opposition more slack.

This is not to say that Singaporeans will put up with second-class MPs. Once MPs are elected, voters here have been known to hold opposition ones to similar standards as those of the ruling party. They voted out the Singapore Democratic Party's Ling How Doong and Cheo Chai Chen in 1997, after just one term.

The double standards of Singapore politics are thus a rather nuanced feature of the system. It can lead to some opposition wins, but it is not a blank cheque.

Looked at from another perspective, the double standards paradox stems from an implicit acknowledgment from the people that the ruling party is the most well-equipped to run the country.

It is because people are secure in the knowledge that the PAP will form the government that they can afford to cut some slack for the opposition who will, at the very most, form a small fraction of the Parliament.

Double standards may be vexing to the ruling party, but are in some ways a back-handed compliment to the PAP. In any case, they are something the PAP will have to live with.

[email protected]

Bigfuck

Answer to that, they have heart and will seriously try. Ignorance and arrogance mean whatever IQ you have is worthless and it will not be used. Low potential but fully and properly utilized is better than higher potential never utilized or less utilized. I think PAP is much more emotional than the opposition and Singaporean. Hit people take money from the people and are shocked people do not like you. What are you smoking?

denzuko1

There is No double standard here. Obviously pap does not understand that it is the perception that pap gave the people that result in the heavy criticism. Wp's logo is passion and not academic quality.

What double standard Teo are you talking about? It's been almost 5 years since the last election and you and your vipers had proven time and again beyond any doubts that you had failed and betrayed WE Singaporeans. What do you want me to compare between you and opposition? We had given you our trusts but you had betrayed us with all your policies and fatten yourselves while telling us citizens of this land to leave this land to seek medical and care, are you still human? Can Oppositions be as inhumane like you? I don't know but hey what have I got to lose? I've already lost my pants. Out with you vipers.

Can Oppositions be as inhumane like you? I don't know but hey what have I got to lose? I've already lost my pants. Out with you vipers.

I agree. Nothing to lose voting OP in. At least we can hope OP act in a humane manner. PAP is gone case. They just want to enrich themselves with taxpayers' $$$. Period. Fucking bastards.

borom

Ask them back -are all the Pinoys, PRC's and Indians FT's better than all locals who cannot get jobs.
-are all the foreign students in NUS better than all the locals who cannot get into the faculties of their choice?
-why foreigners with PR's are allowed to buy HDB flats built using our reserves?
-why ministers in some red dot must be paid highest salary in the world not to be corrupt
-why PAP flag is paraded during National Day but not those of other parties
-wny Teamasek was losing billions and the head is still on the job?
The list can go on and on.We all know which group of people have the most blantant double standard here.

yellow_people

I agree. Nothing to lose voting OP in. At least we can hope OP act in a humane manner. PAP is gone case. They just want to enrich themselves with taxpayers' $$$. Period. Fucking bastards.

You do not get something for nothing. For example this is what Aljunied residents will lose out on if they vote for WP.

For Aljunied GRC, this is PAP plan:

1. 4 new MRT stations ( Kaki Bukit, Bedok Town Park, Bedok Reservoir & Tampines West)
2. 21 blocks selected for Home Improvement Program with a further 300 eligible
3. 13 km of estate and park connectors.
4. Pilot project to use renewable energy soruces.
5. More childcare centers

These are just a few of the enhancement in PAP Aljunied Master Plan.

depeche

You do not get something for nothing. For example this is what Aljunied residents will lose out on if they vote for WP.

For Aljunied GRC, this is PAP plan:

1. 4 new MRT stations ( Kaki Bukit, Bedok Town Park, Bedok Reservoir & Tampines West)
2. 21 blocks selected for Home Improvement Program with a further 300 eligible
3. 13 km of estate and park connectors.
4. Pilot project to use renewable energy soruces.
5. More childcare centers

These are just a few of the enhancement in PAP Aljunied Master Plan.

Getting WP into Aljunied would be much more better in the future than just a little PAP Master Plan...
All these PAP enhancement would still need the people to fork up more indirect taxes...no free lunch lah...
Give WP a chance to serve the people in Aljunied please...Vote out PAP!

yellow_people

Perhaps for the benefit of the minority voter, could you care to elaborate on this specialty?

-

See not a fucking peep from the usual loud mouth. Ah Beng like to TCSS. When asked to justify a racist comment.... their fucking balls shrink. After an overwhelming defeat at the hands of the PAP, they will blame the Malay voter. No fucking spine... the good for nothing Ah Beng.

-

youtalkcock

See not a fucking peep from the usual loud mouth. Ah Neh like to TCSS. When asked to justify a racist comment.... their fucking balls shrink. After an overwhelming defeat at the hands of the PAP, they will blame the Malay voter. No fucking spine... the good for nothing Ah Neh.

-

Have to agree. :eek: