Serious PAP Moslem MP Speaks Up After Islamophobic Incident At Tangs Department Store! How Can Don't Let Moslem Woman Wear Hijab??

1597846312510.png

SINGAPORE — Following an incident at Tangs department store where a promoter was allegedly told that she cannot wear her hijab or religious headdress, Mr Zaqy Mohamad called on employers to regularly review their workplace policies and consider the views and sensitivities of their employees.

The Senior Minister of State for Manpower also said that companies should be thoughtful of the policies and practices they set and practise inclusivity.

Mr Zaqy was among a handful of Malay-Muslim political officeholders to speak out about the issue on Wednesday (Aug 19).

TODAY reported on Tuesday that the Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices (Tafep) is looking into an incident where Tangs employees allegedly asked Ms Nurin Jazlina Mahbob, 20, a part-time promoter at a pop-up booth, to remove her hijab in order to be allowed to work on its premises.

The woman who hired Ms Nurin to man the booth in late July then made public the incident on social media, saying that it was a “ridiculous” demand by Tangs.

Giving its statement, Tangs said that there was a lapse in communication with Ms Nurin’s employer on the dress code and it is cooperating with Tafep’s investigations.

In a Facebook post on Wednesday, Mr Zaqy called the incident an “important issue for the community”, adding that Tafep has made it clear that recruitment and hiring practices should be based on merit and the worker’s ability to perform the job.

“Religious attire should generally be allowed at workplaces, unless employers have uniform, or dress code requirements which are suited to the nature of their work, or for operational and safety reasons.

“It is important for employers to communicate their uniform policy or dress code clearly and sensitively to their employees and jobseekers and their stakeholders,” he said.

Weighing in on the issue, Mr Saktiandi Supaat, Member of Parliament (MP) for Bishan-Toa Payoh Group Representation Constituency (GRC), said that such incidents “need to be addressed (and) more so in this current economic environment and difficult employment outlook”.

He hopes that all employers “abide strongly” to fair employment practices so that “we come out stronger from this Covid-19 crisis and at the same time, our Singaporean core workers — regardless of race, language or religion — feel taken care of”.

Ms Nadia Samdin, who is MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, said on Facebook that discriminatory hiring practices — including those against age, gender, ethnicity or religion — do not have a place in Singapore.

“It was really disheartening to read (about the incident) and I am glad Tafep is addressing it”, she wrote. “I also commend the business owner for standing by her part-timer, Ms Nurin, and bringing this issue to light”.

Mr Zaqy also mentioned that Tafep had told him of another major retail store that reviewed its uniform policy to include religious headgear after receiving feedback from its stakeholders.

TODAY understands that the retailer is Isetan, which came under the spotlight in 2014 for a similar incident where a sales assistant was allegedly asked to leave the store for wearing a hijab.

‘AN EXCUSE’

Commenting on the latest incident, the Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware) called for a comprehensive anti-discrimination legislation to protect against discrimination on the basis of race and religion, among others.

“Otherwise, prejudiced behaviour will only continue in Singaporean workplaces,” the gender equality advocacy group said on Facebook.

Aware noted that although Tafep has stated that religious wear should be allowed in workplaces unless there are specific uniform or dress code requirements, this guideline “seems to excuse some employers, who can ‘require’ workers not to wear religious attire”.

“Sometimes — as in (the Tangs) case — the official reason for this is the notion of ‘professional’ appearance,” Aware said.

“Yet standards of professionalism are all too often arbitrary and underlaid with implicit bias.”

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...icies-be-sensitive-all-stakeholders-says-zaqy

Tang's is racist and islamophobic.
Muslims better take away their custom from Tang's

Haha whole article just mentioned pop up stall no mention of what was sold...i am looking to expand my baking biz to include Muslims as standby helps but not too sure what are the rules also...for example is vegan=halal?

CK Tang was a devout Christian who used to have weekday prayer services at his store and closed on Sundays to mark the sabbath. So what do you expect?

I wouldn't buy anything from someone wearing a hijab. I am entitled to make a personal choice regarding who I interact with.
Yup. The hijab is a defiant badge of honour and a trump card to use whenever they want things their way. Let’s see if any muslim owned store will allow an employee to wear a crucifix.

if i go halal establishment and bring a non halal birthday cake to cut celebrating my birthday, they say cannot, then why penalised tangs for having their own policy of non hijab and professional dress policy?

super double standards

This is same as mandarin only speakers should apply.
Malays faces this huge wall and have not voiced up as PAP seized destroyed their majority constituencies and dispersed them all over the island. No voice in parliament.

I am fine with muslim ladies wearing Hijab but the MP shouldn't play the racial card.
Ask him go tell that to the SIA girls. They will become ground crews.

There are more important issues that we are facing.

if i go halal establishment and bring a non halal birthday cake to cut celebrating my birthday, they say cannot, then why penalised tangs for having their own policy of non hijab and professional dress policy?

super double standards
Halal establishment are certified. The owners must comply with those conditions.
Tang's on the other hand did not state that their establishment are not meant for muslims. They should state so officially.

Malays faces this huge wall and have not voiced up as PAP seized destroyed their majority constituencies and dispersed them all over the island. No voice in parliament.

m&ds and moslems have a disproportionate voice in Parliament compared to other races and religion. They have a cabinet minister to cater specifically to their racial and religious issues. There is no minister for Buddhist affairs, Christian affairs or Hindu affairs. Only moslem affairs get their own minister.

I am fine with muslim ladies wearing Hijab but the MP shouldn't play the racial card.
Ask him go tell that to the SIA girls. They will become ground crews.

There are more important issues that we are facing.
well said!

Want to wear a hijab go to Mudland. Sinkieland is not an Islamic cuntry. You are lucky we don't force you to become a Buddhist or other religions unlike the Muslim countries do to non Muslims. Not happy can get the fuck out.

Thats not a nice thing to say to a native! Fuck off where. This is malay homeland.

Religion so important then do promoter work in the mosque lor......

m&ds and moslems have a disproportionate voice in Parliament compared to other races and religion. They have a cabinet minister to cater specifically to their racial and religious issues. There is no minister for Buddhist affairs, Christian affairs or Hindu affairs. Only moslem affairs get their own minister.
Because they are still living in primitive age, need to constantly remind the Moslem that they are in the modern age era, so a "special force" is created to bring them back to Science and stop raping their own child.

Why no mudslime mention that the face covering has nothing to do with Islam?

Burkas are political symbols not Islamic ones, Muslim scholar says
Monday
Two women in blue burkas walk across a dusty path. One carries a baby, a child dressed in blue follows.
The burka is a symbol for a totalitarian ideology that suppresses women, says Dr Elham Manea.(Getty Images: Aref Karimi/Stringer)
Pauline Hanson's recent burka stunt attracted criticism from both sides of Parliament, but a Muslim scholar and human rights adviser says it's the garment itself that's offensive.
Associate Professor Elham Manea, a Swiss-Yemeni citizen and the author of Women and Sharia Law, argues it is naïve — even racist — to regard the wearing of a burka as a sincere act of faith.
Listen to the full interview
"The burka is not Islamic," she told the Religion and Ethics Report.
"It's a tradition that comes from the heart of Saudi Arabia, a region called Nejd."
Dr Manea says the veiled garment was not worn by women outside of Nejd until Saudi Arabia's Wahabi regime came to power in the late 1970s.
"The re-Islamisation of Saudi Arabia according to the Wahabi Salafi fundamentalist principles led to the mainstreaming of the burka," she said.
"With Gulf money you had a promotion of this ideology and a reading of Islam that turned the burka into an 'Islamic' tradition."
Pauline Hanson sits in the Senate wearing a black burka.
Dr Elham Manea says Pauline Hanson's stunt raised an important issue.(ABC News: Jed Cooper)Criticising the burka, not the stunt
The Koran calls for both men and women to "cover and be modest", but this reference is open to interpretation.
In Australia, few Muslim women wear burkas, though many wear other kinds of hijab or head coverings.
Dr Manea, a member of the University of Zurich's political science institute and a former advisor to the Swiss government, believes conversations around the validity and religiosity of the burka are essential.
"To tell me that by talking about the burka we are hurting the feelings of the Muslims is not only inaccurate, with all due respect, it's almost racist," she said.
Though she was careful not to align her views with those of Senator Hanson, Dr Manea did agree with one of the politician's points: the burka is not a religious requirement.
"[The burka] is a sign of segregation, separation, rejection of the values we see all around us — values of acceptance and tolerance and otherness," she said.
"[It reflects] a culture that treats woman as a sexualised object that has to be covered.
The scholar went on to criticise the Parliament's bipartisan condemnation of Senator Hanson's stunt, in particular citing the well-publicised censure from Attorney-General George Brandis.
Senator Brandis flatly rejected Hanson's call to ban the burka in Parliament, saying: "To ridicule [the Muslim] community, to drive it into a corner, to mock its religious garments is an appalling thing to do and I would ask you to reflect on what you have done."
Attorney-General George Brandis addresses the Senate chamber on August 17, 2017.
Senator Brandis was close to tears while criticising Senator Hanson's stunt.(ABC News: Jed Cooper)
Stressing the diversity of Muslim identities, and connections to faith, Dr Manea called out the Western liberal tendency of homogenising and defending "the other".
"Like far-right groups, who believe every Muslim is a potential terrorist, they come [from] the other side and say every Muslim is religious and therefore we have to support these poor people who need our protection," Dr Manea said.
"It's an essentialist perception — they can't believe that Muslims are people with different identities and attitudes."
Defending women's right to choose
However, La Trobe University lecturer Nasya Bahfen argues Senator Brandis's denunciation of Senator Hanson's stunt was well-founded.
"You can criticise and absolutely have a discussion around issues to do with the burka," Dr Bahfen said.
"I just don't think the condemnation of Pauline Hanson was unwarranted.
Despite referring to the burka as a "dehumanising sack", Dr Bahfen, who herself wears a hijab, said it's important to defend the right of Muslim women to wear what they wish.
"I have two sisters who don't wear the hijab," she said.
"It was never something that was forced upon us.
"You're not trying to make a political statement to declare yourself holier than thou, and you're not trying to appease men in your family — it's [about] your relationship with Allah."
Posted 28 Aug