SNAblog

http://news.insing.com/tabloid/dispute-over-event-sites-continue/id-94883e00

Dispute over event sites continue

Zenzen
inSing.com - 3 hrs 58 mins ago

desmondchoo-30.jpg

Hougang's grassroots adviser Desmond Choo has fired another salvo in the dispute over event sites in Aljunied GRC.

This comes after Worker's Party chairman Sylvia Lim charged earlier that 26 sites under the Aljunied Town Council were transferred to the People's Association (PA) "without notice, background or rationale". She goes on to say that the move was politically motivated and an abuse of power".

Choo, the People's Action Party (PAP) candidate for Hougang in the recent General Election has now come out to say that grassroots activities were curtailed by town councils run under the Worker's Party (WP).

In a statement released to the media, Choo and his grassroots leaders cited examples where they were fined by the town councils and where applications to use common areas for activities were rejected.

The statement even pointed out instances where grassroots activities were subject to "subtle sabotages".

For instance, the grassroots leaders alleged that an event was disrupted in November 2010 when "construction materials coincidentally appeared" at the event venue. Another event in 2001 was terminated prematurely when its lights were switched off an hour before the event ended.

Choo is now asking PA to lease six sites in Hougang directly from the Housing Development Board (HDB) to allow his grassroots organisers to extend their outreach.

The PA has also issued a separate statement with examples detailing how some of its grassroots activities were curtailed by the WP-run town councils.

The PA states that in 2001, its applications to use common areas for activities were mostly rejected due to reasons like noise pollution and prohibition of activities like washing and cooking in the void decks.

In 2004, the Hougang Town Council informed PA that permits will no longer be issued for activities in front of two Residents' Committee (RC) centres in Hougang. No reason was given for the change.

This Desmond Choo 手下败将 still KPKB, want to score political points.

Tell this loud mouth to shut up.
Ask PAP why CSJ cannot gather in public with more than 5 people.

Re: PAP member Desmond Choo continues with his quarrel agains WP

How come the previous PAP candidate, Low Saik Meng, never complained?, I bet the grassloots must be treating him like some mini-rajahs..that he could not be bothered...

What is this desmond choo choo train making noises about...who cares anyway, now the papies cannot stand the heat?, they are getting the same treatment they dish to other..they are getting roasted & squealing like swine in heat! gosh!:p

This Cb kia is one fucking sore loser... Time for him to stop being a noisy dog and just shut the fuck up... he wont be making this iritating noise if he had won Hougang last May... By making more noise like a rabid dog, this fucker is just proving to everyone that he is one hell of a poor loser...He can come to Hougang and fight again in 2016, but he'll still lose...!!!

What is this desmond choo choo train making noises about...who cares anyway, now the papies cannot stand the heat?, they are getting the same treatment they dish to other..they are getting roasted & squealing like swine in heat! gosh!:p

Exactly. They can do to others but when others pay them back using the same trick, then starts to KPKB. The headline in TNP today is so misleading!

Headlines should be 'Sore Loser Nitpicks on Winners in Hougang'.

Its a very serious charge allowing a non-political individual to be making so much noise.

Why Goh Meng Seng's cheebye face and Bob Sim Kheng Hwee aka leetahbar the parents abuser look alike?

This Goh guy is extremely self centred. He could never see further than his nose. Of all candidate why sabo someone who shares a common cause. The prostitute press pick it up and put it on front page. He should have mentioned TT is not suitable for President instead. Maybe he does not have balls and afraid of a serious charge which he could not back up.
Goh Meng Seng you are a useless prick.

Former MM Lee once said this: "What political party helps an opposition to come to power? Don't come out and cow peh cow bu when things are not running in your favour...

Both sides are playing victims...

This Goh guy is extremely self centred. He could never see further than his nose. Of all candidate why sabo someone who shares a common cause. The prostitute press pick it up and put it on front page. He should have mentioned TT is not suitable for President instead. Maybe he does not have balls and afraid of a serious charge which he could not back up.

I totally agree with you on this. I use to respect GMS for taking his stand in the opposition against the PAP, now it seems that he is doing PAP a great favour.

Raiders: eh GMS, why you sabo your own opposition candidates?

GMS: siao lian eh, I can't go back to WP or NSP for the next election. Must pave my road to join PAP mah

Raiders: wtf :eek:

Agree with you on this Bro Hairylee... I'm quite disapointed with GMS... I'm still bitter that Mabok Tan had won at Tampines last May.. Me, my family, my neighbourhood friends all amounting to more than 50 people had all voted for NSP.. But GMS still lost.. In fact he should have done more to garner the support of Tampines residents.. Never seen him before in my old neighbourhood at Tampines.. Only during the GE season did we saw him and his team doing their rounds in Tampines.. What about those past 4 years before the 2011 elections..??? He was out of sight..!!! Even some Tampines residents did not even know that he was the Sec Gen of NSP... Like it or not, we Tampines residents got no choice but to give our vote to NSP since there are are no other credible opposition party around to fight the PAP other than NSP... And to slagged TJS off is indeed pathetic on the part of GMS.. A fellow Oppo should help a fellow Oppo but sadly this is not the case with GMS...My vote will still go to TJS...

And to slagged TJS off is indeed pathetic on the part of GMS.. A fellow Oppo should help a fellow Oppo but sadly this is not the case with GMS...My vote will still go to TJS...

Totally agreed on this brother. I had voice this displeasure last night in another thread. Totally no class like TKL.

WP just doing what PAP been doing all this while.... "it is not my job to help you defeat me"