• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP government's excuse for not closing borders

LITTLEREDDOT

Quotes:
Lawrence Wong:
"As a small country that is not resource-rich, Singapore cannot afford to shut its borders for a long time."
"It's really very hard for us to close our borders permanently,"

Lawrence Wong, stop playing with words.
No one is asking the PAP government to close the borders for a long time.
No one is asking the PAP government to close the borders permanently.
Sinkies is only asking the borders to be closed for a few weeks or a few months.
Now see lah....

Unlike large resource-rich countries, Singapore cannot afford to close its borders for long: Lawrence Wong
Singapore has taken a risk-based approach in managing its borders from the start, Mr Lawrence Wong said.

Singapore has taken a risk-based approach in managing its borders from the start, Mr Lawrence Wong said.PHOTO: ST FILE
salma_khalik.png

Salma Khalik
Senior Health Correspondent

May 4, 2021

SINGAPORE - As a small country that is not resource rich, Singapore cannot afford to shut its borders for a long time, said Education Minister Lawrence Wong on Tuesday (May 4).
Mr Wong, who co-chairs the multi-ministry task force on Covid-19, was explaining why Singapore did not close its border to India earlier given the raging outbreak there.
"We are small… We need migrant workers to build our homes," he said at a briefing by the task force. Foreign workers are also needed for a range of other essential services, including caring for the elderly.
"It's really very hard for us to close our borders permanently," he said. "Instead, we've always taken a risk-based approach in managing our borders from the start."
This involves controlling the number of arrivals. He said the overall number coming in has been going down, even before restrictions on arrivals from India kicked in.
He added: "We've already become very tight, to the point that the backlog of applications has been growing… Many projects have been suffering from delays, as all of us know.

"More recently when we restricted the flow of workers from India and the entire South Indian continent… it means considerable delays will be added to all of our projects.
"Some of our housing projects may now be delayed by up to a year or more. So it does come at a considerable cost to Singaporeans."
Furthermore, Mr Wong said, migrant workers who come in are isolated and "we've been progressively tightening that regime over the past few months".
They are also tested more regularly.
In spite of all measures, Mr Wong said there will be leaks into the community from time to time. This can happen even in a country like China with its very tight border measures, he added.
So there cannot be sole reliance on border measures, he said.
"We have to make use of other tools at our disposal," he said "If we do all of these well, then we can control the spread of the infection in our community."
As for visitors who tested negative, but later test positive when they want to leave the country, Mr Wong said there are two possibilities.
One is they could have been infected in the community while in Singapore. The other is that it is an older infection and they are "intermittent shedders" of virus particles. If so, they are less likely to be infectious.

And conveniently barter our citizen's lives in return? Citizens please remember this next GE.

We never told you to close the border. We told you to close only CECA border.

Same type of arguments when they asked WP in parliament whether they are against foreign workers.
All we are asking is that entry should be needs based; we don't need families of these workers who come
in and screw up our medical and transportation systems.

millim6868

Every time they screw up n cock up,they will blame sinkies for not co-opoperativ creating problem gor them,let talk abt lastest ttsh case ,why they hide the facts that it is spreading in ttsh, even my cousin unknowing went for operation therr,they kept quiet.

And conveniently barter our citizen's lives in return? Citizens please remember this next GE.

KNN for this kind of arguments only can be settled face to face in the presence of a crowd KNN that's how my uncle managed to beat ceo to puppies KNN when done leemotely they can just act blur KNN

Unlike large resource-rich countries, Singapore cannot afford to close its borders for long: Lawrence Wong

Now you PAP technocrats will find out the hard way that you cannot afford to open the borders for long during a pandemic (especially to a country that many other countries had already blocked travel from): you'll lose more than what you hope to gain. None of your minions did a simple cost-benefit analysis? :rolleyes:

Penny wise, pound foolish. Seeing things for what you hope them to be, and not what they are in reality. Mental masturbation 101. :cool:

意淫治国 since 2004. Bravo. :biggrin:

All these mediocre ministers CMI.We sinkees like punching bags.Thanks to the 61% !!!

Now can people finally shut the fuck up about what a wonderful PM Laulan Wong would be? All the three princelings are fucked up in their own special adorable ways, simply because their boss is fucked up himself.

Don't let your antipathy towards Kee Chiu delude yourself into settling for the 'lesser evil', or attribute fictional good qualities to him. :cool:

Now you PAP technocrats will find out the hard way that you cannot afford to open the borders for long during a pandemic (especially to a country that many other countries had already blocked travel from): you'll lose more than what you hope to gain. None of your minions did a simple cost-benefit analysis? :rolleyes:

Penny wise, pound foolish. Seeing things for what you hope them to be, and not what they are in reality. Mental masturbation 101. :cool:

意淫治国 since 2004. Bravo. :biggrin:

There are 2 traits about our "great" leeder that you have not mentioned (you keep mentioning the dictator and term limits parts which are also true):

1. He thinks that he is smarter than everyone else and whatever policies he and his minions come up with can never be wrong. He is probably deluded by the porlumpar abilities of his main minions and the misguided adoration that sinkies have for his late father. :wink:

2. He doesn't really care about the welfare and fate of ordinary peasant sinkies, although sometimes he pretends to. Just look at how he treats his siblings, who actually share the same parents as him. :rolleyes::biggrin:

searcher1

Last Year we ask them to close border with China, what they say ?
Without the WP/EP/SP/PR ... our city cant function, who going do their job
Its Deja Vu ... vicious cycle all again

Now can people finally shut the fuck up about what a wonderful PM Laulan Wong would be? All the three princelings are fucked up in their own special adorable ways, simply because their boss is fucked up himself.

Don't let your antipathy towards Kee Chiu delude yourself into settling for the 'lesser evil', or attribute fictional good qualities to him. :cool:
Keech is really better. Why u all no gib chan? :unsure: