• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP gahmen is not decisive about work permit holders during covid-19 circuit breaker period.

bic_cherry

PAP gahmen is not decisive about work permit holders during covid-19 circuit breaker period.

Work permit holders should be sent home during 'circuit breaker' period ASAP.

Because they eat extra food when it is getting expensive and scarce (would be cheaper for them at home, especially if they have family farm to work on .

They will increase Singapore government healthcare budget because Covid-19 treatment is 100% government sponsored for all long term stay residents.

By the time u want to send them home, u have to use SIA planes or special charter at government expense because companies will have low cash flow and cannot spare any more money to send these workers back home. Also, the longer we wait, the more planes will be put into storage and thus available plane tickets will be extremely expensive.

This circuit breaker shut down is scheduled to last 4 weeks. Even if we ask them to return, down time is just 2 weeks. Whilst they are here, they cannot do anything and also have to be paid full salary in the meantime.

There is very high chance that the circuit breaker period will be further extended by weeks or months because our population diabetes prevalence rate is very high (2nd highest in 1st World), so hospital and ICU STAYS for our population is likewise high and probably, due to impaired immune system, Singaporeans infection duration will be prolonged, thus the increased risk of spreading virus due to the increased duration of infection, possibly even if it is the minimally symptomatic kind.

The higher the local Singapore population, the higher the number of COVID-19 infections and the need to quarantine these folks. Also, the higher demand on ICU beds and medical resources in Singapore, which will extend the circuit breaker and lockdown period because the medical service cannot cope with the patient load when the infection spreads. Work permit holders often come from countries where land is in abundance, so they can go back to farming lifestyle and will not get infected as long as they do not attend (cancel) carnivals or festivals where many gather.

Some dormitories may also be needed to be cleared to host certain foreigner groups on stay home order in batches or with wider spacing, allowing fewer tenants per room. If dormitory rooms supply is insufficient, then PAP gahmen will have to quaranteen some foreign workers in hotels as well.

Only when Singapore begins the non essential services, then we can call these work permit holders to come back.

Otherwise, our GST must increase at least 10% to pay for all the increased costs of keeping the legion of work permit holders here whilst work is being stopped.

(circuit breaker period is from 7th April to 4th May 2020. https://www.thestar.com.my/news/reg...to-pre-empt-escalating-coronavirus-infections).

nayr69sg

Staff member
Thanks for the longer post. Rare these days

But a lot of the essential work is done by these workers.

Water works. Keep drains clean. Sewers operating. Power plants. Critical infrastructure maintenance.

NSF boys cannot do everything lah.

You send all these workers away next thing you kpkb how come no running water? Or water brown? Or toilet wont flush? Or flooding? Electricity power outage.

Singapore is highly dependent on foreigners. All the sinkies are working as trader or banker office type jobs.

How about one of this morons? :sneaky:

attachment.php

Who going to clear the rubbish? You?! :cautious:

melzp

soon, PAP will b able to publish their House dictionary n idioms
for the World to apply for political survival

I look forward to the day when Africans use "shiok shiok" to describe how they feel. :wink:

soon, PAP will b able to publish their House dictionary n idioms
for the World to apply for political survival

You are wrong. PAP are decisive about work permit holders. They are staying. :wink:

Work permit holders should be sent home during 'circuit breaker' period ASAP.

Because they eat extra food when it is getting expensive and scarce (would be cheaper for them at home, especially if they have family farm to work on .

They will increase Singapore government healthcare budget because Covid-19 treatment is 100% government sponsored for all long term stay residents.

By the time u want to send them home, u have to use SIA planes or special charter at government expense because companies will have low cash flow and cannot spare any more money to send these workers back home. Also, the longer we wait, the more planes will be put into storage and thus available plane tickets will be extremely expensive.

This circuit breaker shut down is scheduled to last 4 weeks. Even if we ask them to return, down time is just 2 weeks. Whilst they are here, they cannot do anything and also have to be paid full salary in the meantime.

There is very high chance that the circuit breaker period will be further extended by weeks or months because our population diabetes prevalence rate is very high (2nd highest in 1st World), so hospital and ICU STAYS for our population is likewise high and probably, due to impaired immune system, Singaporeans infection duration will be prolonged, thus the increased risk of spreading virus due to the increased duration of infection, possibly even if it is the minimally symptomatic kind.

The higher the local Singapore population, the higher the number of COVID-19 infections and the need to quarantine these folks. Also, the higher demand on ICU beds and medical resources in Singapore, which will extend the circuit breaker and lockdown period because the medical service cannot cope with the patient load when the infection spreads. Work permit holders often come from countries where land is in abundance, so they can go back to farming lifestyle and will not get infected as long as they do not attend (cancel) carnivals or festivals where many gather.

Some dormitories may also be needed to be cleared to host certain foreigner groups on stay home order in batches or with wider spacing, allowing fewer tenants per room. If dormitory rooms supply is insufficient, then PAP gahmen will have to quaranteen some foreign workers in hotels as well.

Only when Singapore begins the non essential services, then we can call these work permit holders to come back.

Otherwise, our GST must increase at least 10% to pay for all the increased costs of keeping the legion of work permit holders here whilst work is being stopped.

(circuit breaker period is from 7th April to 4th May 2020. https://www.thestar.com.my/news/reg...to-pre-empt-escalating-coronavirus-infections).

millim6868

A bunch og goondus only favour foreigners , while only how to suck on locals.This recent covid19 show sg not prepare n also bad decision msking causing community spread increases but don worry as 70 % are idiots by CCS ,they wont notice it.

Why is everyone so worked up over a virus that is no worse than a bad flu year?

Unless there is data to show the contrary people should just be getting on with their lives. In fact my advice is that if you're 50 and below you should to try to catch the virus so that immunity is built up and if this coronavirus does mutate into something that really is deadly you could have some immunity which could save your life.

For the boomers it's up to each individual to make a judgement call. If you're worried stay away from everyone and wait for a vaccine (if one is actually made which I am doubtful of). If you think you can beat the odds (95% or greater) then join the crowd and live life to the max.

You only have one life. Don't spend it cowering in fear.

Doing the sums for Singapore:

Confirmed cases = 1189 This is the 20% which have been confirmed.

But 80% of those infected have only mild symptoms so doctors just told them to self isolate, take temperature etc so this number is 8/2 x 1189 = 4756. I know that these individuals are not tested because I have friends in this category whom I have spoken to. None have been tested. All instructed to self isolate and take their temperatures and head to hospital only if they take a turn for the worse.

Now we have data that 50% of those infected have no symptoms whatsoever so that's another 4756 so total = 4756x2 = 9512.

6 people have died. You guys know the breakdown so I don't have to go into details.

6/9512 x 100% = 0.06%.

So why the panic?