• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP Edwin Tong: "Beware Of Oppies Who Serve Foreign Actors To Interfere With Singapore's Politics!" How Many Oppies Here Are Foreign Lap Dogs?

yq-policecoast2-12022019.jpg

SINGAPORE - When the dispute with Malaysia over maritime and airspace issues late last year was top news, there was a "curious" spike in online comments critical of Singapore on social media, said Senior Minster of State for Law Edwin Tong .

These posts apparently use anonymous accounts, Mr Tong disclosed in Parliament on Tuesday (Feb 12).

He also said that on the issue of traffic jams at land checkpoints, these "avatar accounts" with profile photos that do not show the user's face account for about 40 per cent of comments on alternative media's social media pages.

In citing the jams, he said it shows how foreign actors can interfere in Singapore's politics through online campaigns and false information.

But steps are being taken to update the laws later this year to counter such threats.

As for the case of the Singapore-KL dispute, he said: "We do not know who these suspicious accounts belong to. Nor do we know if they are being coordinated by foreign actors.

"But it is clear that these accounts have sought to give and create an artificial impression to netizens of the opposition to Singapore's position, at a time of heightened bilateral difficulties."

Mr Tong was replying to Ms Cheng Li Hui (Tampines GRC), who had asked if there had been instances of foreign interference in Singapore.

On last year's SingHealth hacking incident, Mr Tong said the cyber attackers - who are advanced and typically state-linked - wanted to extract the heath information of Singaporeans, particularly that of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

"Cyber hackings are often deployed in concert with hostile information campaigns to search for information that can be weaponised," he added.

To ward off foreign interference in local politics and elections, Singapore is developing a strategy on two fronts.

The first is to sensitise Singaporeans to the threat and nurture a discerning public, he said. "We are our own first line of defence. We must learn to be sceptical of and be able to discern falsehoods or half-truths, and detect foreign actors and their attempts to interfere in our politics."

Second, the legal framework - which is "outmoded against modern and technologically-sophisticated tactics" - has to be updated and enhanced to counter hostile information campaigns.

Mr Tong said the new laws have two broad objectives.

One, to let the Government "act swiftly and effectively to disrupt and counter false, misleading and inauthentic information and narratives spread by foreign actors".

"We must also be able to preemptively expose clandestine foreign interference campaigns," he added.

Two, to prevent foreign actors from manipulating politically-involved individuals and organisations through the use of proxies, funding and donations, he said.

Mr Tong cited the case of Dr Huang Jing, a former professor at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, who was identified by the Government as an agent of influence acting on behalf of a foreign country. Dr Huang, who was stripped of his permanent residency status in 2017, sought to influence Singapore's foreign policy and public opinion here.

"We must not allow foreign actors to undermine our political sovereignty, nor our ability to make our own choices on how we want to govern our country, and live our lives," he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/politi...ritical-of-spore-during-dispute-with-malaysia

KuanTi01

Claiming foreign interference without providing proof is just talkcock and fear-mongering to prep up the population to vote for PAP. We heard this kind of talk before; especially before a GE. Knn.

"We must learn to be sceptical of and be able to discern falsehoods or half-truths," - I hope Sinkees can do that. Then they will see how the PAP has conned them all those decades. Sinkees are not poor but impoverished by PAP policies such as stealing returns of your CPF, artificially inflating cost of 'public housing' and bringing in million of Ah Nehs to steal jobs that were once the domain of sinkees.

KuanTi01

This moron was appointed SC because of his links with the ruling party. That’s according to my senior lawyer friends who don’t rate him highly.

I heard the same about him. Other more experienced and worthy lawyers not given SC because they don't think much of PAP! Lol

KuanTi01

"We must learn to be sceptical of and be able to discern falsehoods or half-truths," - I hope Sinkees can do that. Then they will see how the PAP has conned them all those decades. Sinkees are not poor but impoverished by PAP policies such as stealing returns of your CPF, artificially inflating cost of 'public housing' and bringing in million of Ah Nehs to steal jobs that were once the domain of sinkees.

Tough luck! Majority is still willing to be seduced by PAP's pre-election promises and goodies and ever so forgiving of their lapses and shortcomings because the opposition has been systematically checked, ridiculed and demonised by the PAP machinery which includes its symbiotic comrades-in-arms i.e. the PA, NTUC and all organs of state and stat boards. Most are brain-dead and brain-washed till comatose! :rolleyes:

Hypocrite-The

The pap should worry about mudlanders in gahmen like mad khaw, NS Janil and Amy kor...they have advanced mudland agenda with the govt which is even worse

It's quite clear that many of the oppies here are foreign stooges, just like Francis Seow who was a CIA stooge.