• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Oppie Pritam Fucks Up Again! Possible Covid Cluster At Blk 506 Hougang Ave 8! PAP To The Rescue!

Hey butthead. Show me the stop the spread data.

Look at India now their numbers of dead present No stop spread data in 2nd wave.

Get it, dumbtwit...

Answer this basis question.... the circuit breaker in June last year obviously did not work which is why we are back to square one now. If we do another circuit breaker just like the one last year why would anyone with half a brain believe that the outcome will be any different from the first time round.

As Einstein said :

View attachment 111399

It's a futile exercise. Just learn to live with the virus the way other countries have done. There is no other way out of this conundrum. Yes there will be a few more deaths but the overall impact on society will be far less serious. If these lockdowns keep happening people will start dying for other reasons eg frustration, despair, undiagnosed cancers, heart attacks and so on.

Hey butthead. Show me the stop the spread data.

Look at India now their numbers of dead present No stop spread data in 2nd wave.

Get it, dumbtwit...

India is doing far better than most other countries so why use India as an example?

orh mee suah

The 2nd time the authorities have to take such precautionary measures on HDB blocks.
Last July, 58 households were offered testing after nine Covid-19 cases were detected in Block 111 Tampines Street 11.
I predict more will follow soon.

The 2nd time the authorities have to take such precautionary measures on HDB blocks.
Last July, 58 households were offered testing after nine Covid-19 cases were detected in Block 111 Tampines Street 11.
I predict more will follow soon.

Offered testing vs mandatory testing are two different concepts.

Offered = choice. Mandatory = no choice.

Loofydralb

PAP playing politics during this pandemic. No wonder they cannot fix the problem because LHL busy fixing the Opposition. Why only hougang?

The others infected doesn't live in hdb blocks?

Loofydralb

This is what happens when you vote opposition.

Lifts and common property are dirty and become unhygienic infested with bacteria and viruses. These residents deserve it if they are infected and suffer long term covid illnesses.

They deserve who they voted for.
The rest of those infected deserve the PAP govt they voted for.

That only works if you assume the swab tests to be reliable.

Those incoming ah nehs at the airport were diligently swabbed... did it help? :wink:
My uncle say KNN min need 2 swab KNN my uncle suspect those incoming nehs one moh did a sloppy one KNN

Answer this basis question.... the circuit breaker in June last year obviously did not work which is why we are back to square one now. If we do another circuit breaker just like the one last year why would anyone with half a brain believe that the outcome will be any different from the first time round.

As Einstein said :

View attachment 111399

It's a futile exercise. Just learn to live with the virus the way other countries have done. There is no other way out of this conundrum. Yes there will be a few more deaths but the overall impact on society will be far less serious. If these lockdowns keep happening people will start dying for other reasons eg frustration, despair, undiagnosed cancers, heart attacks and so on.
KNN my uncle say cb alone will not work KNN only closure of border + cb then can work KNN but pap didn't want to KNN

But you cannot close the borders forever. As soon as the borders are open the virus will spread again.

The way to go is to vaccinate the whole population, open up.... and hope for the best.

But you cannot close the borders forever. As soon as the borders are open the virus will spread again.

The way to go is to vaccinate the whole population, open up.... and hope for the best.
My uncle would have closed it for as long as possible and let other cuntry people sort our their problem first KNN sg is just a tiny dot easy to settle the bread and butter stuff during this period if all the goodies are leeserved strictly for sinkies only KNN trade can still continue with min impact compared to physical bodies crossing the border KNN forget about being lumber 1 for hubs this is not important to the peasants KNN

capamerica

As I have been saying over and over again there is no stopping the virus and there is little point in wearing masks and locking down over and over again.

All this does is delay the inevitable.

Wrong. Again. Call it 0 for 256 tries

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/02/05/world/middleeast/israel-virus-vaccination.html

Israel’s Vaccination Results Point a Way Out of Virus Pandemic​

Covid cases fell dramatically and quickly among people who were vaccinated, Israeli studies found. It’s the strongest evidence yet that a robust vaccination program can tame the pandemic.

04virus-israel-2-articleLarge-v2.jpg

A woman receives her second dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine at a nursing home in Ramat Gan, Israel.

A woman receives her second dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine at a nursing home in Ramat Gan, Israel.Credit...Oded Balilty/Associated Press
Isabel Kershner Carl Zimmer
By Isabel Kershner and Carl Zimmer
Published Feb. 5, 2021Updated April 5, 2021
JERUSALEM — In the most extensive real-world test so far, Israel has demonstrated that a robust coronavirus vaccination program can have a quick and powerful impact, showing the world a plausible way out of the pandemic.
Cases of Covid-19 and hospitalizations dropped dramatically among people who were vaccinated within just a few weeks, according to new studies in Israel, where a rapid vaccine rollout has made it a kind of test laboratory for the world. And early data suggests that the vaccines are working nearly as well in practice as they did in clinical trials.
“We say with caution, the magic has started,” tweeted Eran Segal, a quantitative biologist at the Weizmann Institute of Science and co-author of a new study on the vaccine’s impact in Israel.
ADVERTISEMENT
Continue reading the main story

The hopeful news on vaccines is hardly a free ride to a post-pandemic future.
As the world races to curb the virus before more dangerous mutations spread, dire vaccine shortages may prevent other countries from replicating Israel’s success, or from stopping new variants from emerging.
WHAT ABOUT THE PALESTINIANS?
Israel’s vaccination success has raised questions about whether the country must do the same for millions of Palestinians.
Even Israel, which has outpaced every other nation in vaccinating its people, is far from out of the woods. The country extended its third nationwide lockdown on Thursday.

• Dig deeper into the moment.
Special offer: Subscribe for $1 a week.

Still, researchers found hope in the vaccine’s ability to quickly drive down cases among Israelis getting the shots.
“I find this pretty persuasive that we are seeing actual effects of population-level vaccination,” said William Hanage, an epidemiologist at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health who was not involved with the Israeli study.
The real-world news from Israel adds to other signs of hope after months of bleakness. A growing number of vaccines are showing strong efficacy against Covid-19 and are particularly protective against severe illness. Some trials suggest that vaccines might even have the potential to slow transmission of the virus.
ADVERTISEMENT

The new Israeli study looked at national health statistics for people 60 years and older, who received the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine first because of their high risk. Analyzing data from six weeks into the vaccination campaign, when the majority of people that age had been vaccinated, they found that the number of new Covid-19 cases dropped by 41 percent compared to three weeks earlier.

merlin_182577357_40fff960-f610-46a1-a350-88b07d214881-articleLarge.jpg

Coronavirus testing in Ramat Gan, Israel, last month. New cases of Covid-19 fell dramatically among people who had been vaccinated.

Coronavirus testing in Ramat Gan, Israel, last month. New cases of Covid-19 fell dramatically among people who had been vaccinated. Credit...Abir Sultan/EPA, via Shutterstock
That group also experienced a 31 percent drop in hospitalizations from the coronavirus, and a drop of 24 percent of those who became critically ill.
The study is important, in part, because the authors were able to isolate other factors, including lockdowns, which also reduce the number of infections. The researchers found that even taking those factors into account, the vaccines had a significant impact.

YOUR CORONAVIRUS TRACKER: We’ll send you the latest data for places you care about each day.
How big an impact remains to be determined.
But new data released Thursday by one of Israel’s largest health networks suggest the vaccine’s protection in practice may be nearly as good as it was in the clinical trial.
The vaccine had a 95 percent efficacy rate in clinical trials. Researchers warned in November that those numbers might not hold up in the real world.
People who volunteer for trials may not represent the population as a whole, for example. Also, the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is challenging to administer on a national scale because it has to be kept frozen until shortly before it’s administered.

Editors’ Picks​

A New $260 Million Park Floats on the Hudson. It’s a Charmer.​

She Wanted a Post-Retirement Manhattan Pad for Under $900,000. Which Option Would You Choose?​

Is B.M.I. a Scam?​

ADVERTISEMENT

But Maccabi Healthcare Services reported Thursday that out of 416,900 people it had vaccinated, only 254 had gotten Covid-19 a week after their second dose. What’s more, all of the cases were mild. Comparing these rates to unvaccinated people, the researchers estimated that the vaccine has an effectiveness of 91 percent.