Serious Only in S'pore - 80-year olds told to save for their future

It is because my multimillionaire ministers they themselves live till very old age. Look at millionaire emeritus minister woody 80 liao still "work" and collect millions. So it is true you should save too although most likely low SES will die at 70 plus. Long live PAP, huat ahhhhhh
Long Live PAP.gif

I would argue it is sinkies supporting all this too.

Sinkies would support paying lots of money to build these big things but not paying to help poor people.

Ownself help ownself. You die your business.

Since when sinkies very helpful and want to help other people. Every man for himself.

Sinkies want affordable cost of living. That is within government control. If cost is living is low, it's so much easier to ownself help ownself.

When costs are kept deliberately high, then the people have less to share. The mentality of you die your business is a result of households not having enough surplus to be generous of heart.

By default people are altruistic until reality bites and money no enough.

Old sinkies have a future in Singapore. It's thanks to PAP's excellent healthcare that sinkies at the age of 55 can live for 30-40 years more. That's a long away ahead and so, they have a future even at 60 years old. Old sinkies should go for skills upgrading so that they can get paid better at work.

No need for them to save for their future, these good folks will take care of it.

whoweare-showroom1.jpg

Old sinkies have a future in Singapore. It's thanks to PAP's excellent healthcare that sinkies at the age of 55 can live for 30-40 years more. That's a long away ahead and so, they have a future even at 60 years old. Old sinkies should go for skills upgrading so that they can get paid better at work.

60 years old. Yes. But 70s and 80s?

I remember in the early days when Wooden Goh (as reported in ST) asked an auntie why she was cleaning
the tables at the Marine Parade hawker centre. And why she was not at home looking after her grandchildren.

60 years old. Yes. But 70s and 80s?

I remember in the early days when Wooden Goh (as reported in ST) asked an auntie why she was cleaning
the tables at the Marine Parade hawker centre. And why she was not at home looking after her grandchildren.

Sinkies in their 70s and 80s can live to their 90s. Thats easily a good 10-20 years more. If you are going to live for 20 years more, you should be planning for your future.

I'm curious, at what age do you think a Singaporean deserves to stop working and start enjoying their retirement?

Whilst true average life expectancy has gone up to around 85, quality of life starts deteriorating rapidly around 72-75.

So has the Singapore dream morphed into the Singapore nightmare? 45 years of labour for 10 years of peace and pleasure? How is this the Swiss standard of living that Goh Chock Tong and his team promised us?

I'm curious, at what age do you think a Singaporean deserves to stop working and start enjoying their retirement?

While true average life expectancy has gone up to around 85, quality of life starts deteriorating rapidly around 72-75.

So has the Singapore dream morphed into the Singapore nightmare? 45 years of labour for 10 years of peace and pleasure? How is this the Swiss standard of living that Goh Chock Tong and his team promised us?

Sinkies should keep working as long as their health can hold up. Not working and staying at home all day fuels boredom, mental retardation, lethargy and weight gain.

I know of many elderly who work flexi hours to pass the time and earn some pocket money while doing so. It's not accurate to use a few photos of cardboard collectors and claim that vast majority of retirees are doing backbreaking work for a pittance.

Don't forget those elderlies who collect cardboard for exercise. :wink:

Sinkies should keep working as long as their health can hold up. Not working and staying at home all day fuels boredom, mental retardation, lethargy and weight gain.

I know of many elderly who work flexi hours to pass the time and earn some pocket money while doing so. It's not accurate to use a few photos of cardboard collectors and claim that vast majority of retirees are doing backbreaking work for a pittance.

I didn't.

But I also said that we should not use those few examples to stereotype most elderly workers as doing hard manual labor for a pittance.

hong kang too. and in sillycon valley old asian men are becumming garang guni recyclers to earn pittance on cans and bottles. it’s an asian disease as either their children abandon them or they have no children. asian values at work.

accurate to use a few photos of cardboard collectors and claim that vast majority of retirees are doing backbreaking work for a pittance.

While true average life expectancy has gone up to around 85, quality of life starts deteriorating rapidly around 72-75.

PAP RIGGED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM TO BE AGAINST SINGAPOREANS

AND YOU RIGHT

SINGAPOREANS ALLOWED THE FUCKING PAP TO DO ALL KINDS OF SHIT THINGS SUCH AS LETTING CECAs IN WITH FUCKED UP PAPERS FROM UPTRON ACL AND SOUTHERN PACIFIC UNIVERSITY

AND GAVE LUNCHES AND DINNERS OF SINGAPOREANS TO THOSE PUKING CECAs AND FOREIGN TALENTS

VOTE OUT THE FUCKING PAP MAGGOTS

WE ALL NOW PRAYING AND PRAYING AND PRAYING

NEXT CLUSTERS WILL BE CENTERED WITH PAP MAGGOTS AND MAGGOTESS

AND ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH THE ROTTEN PEOPLES ASSOCIATION AND RC MEMBERS
AND YET ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH PAPER GENERALS LINKED OR UNLINKED TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO US ALL

AS LONG AS THOSE MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENNA WUHANED

EVEN BETTER WILL BE THEY ALL HUM KAR CHANG

LET THEM GATHER
MORE KENNA WUHANDED THE MORE LIKELY THAT GET BACK TO MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE AND THEIR ENTIRE FAMILIES
AND THEIR KANGAROOS AND PAPER GENERALS AND CRONIES AND BROWN NOSERS
ALL HUM KAR CHAN

MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND THEIR CRONIES AND PAPER GENERALS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS WILL ALSO DIE
MAY THEY ALL DIE BEFORE US , OR WITH US
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE AGAIN

SPREAD WIDELY
UNTIL IT GET TO THE MAIDS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS AND STAFF OF MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE
UNTIL ALL THOSE OLD MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENA WUHANDED
AND TOGETHER WITH YOUNG MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND ALL IN THE FUCKING PA AND KANGAROOS AND POODLES
WUHAN WILL DELIVER US ALL FROM THE FUCKING MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE FINALLY
MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KANGAROOS CANNOT FIX WUHAN THE WAY THEY CAN FIX ELECTED PRESIDENT AND OTHER SHIT THINGS THAT THEY CAN FIX
WUHAN WILL FIX THEM INSTEAD

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

Are statistics available on this? The elderly workforce and the type of work they engage in, duration, pay, job satisfaction. If the stats don't even exist, the government cannot formulate effective policy on this matter.

I agree in the value of keeping busy. But they should not need to work for money for their survival. Any work they take on should be based on their interests and passions which they had neglected in their youth in order to feed their families.

In short, any post retirement work should be driven by pleasure over money.

PAP RIGGED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM TO BE AGAINST SINGAPOREANS

AND YOU RIGHT

SINGAPOREANS ALLOWED THE FUCKING PAP TO DO ALL KINDS OF SHIT THINGS SUCH AS LETTING CECAs IN WITH FUCKED UP PAPERS FROM UPTRON ACL AND SOUTHERN PACIFIC UNIVERSITY

AND GAVE LUNCHES AND DINNERS OF SINGAPOREANS TO THOSE PUKING CECAs AND FOREIGN TALENTS

VOTE OUT THE FUCKING PAP MAGGOTS

WE ALL NOW PRAYING AND PRAYING AND PRAYING

NEXT CLUSTERS WILL BE CENTERED WITH PAP MAGGOTS AND MAGGOTESS

AND ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH THE ROTTEN PEOPLES ASSOCIATION AND RC MEMBERS
AND YET ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH PAPER GENERALS LINKED OR UNLINKED TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO US ALL

AS LONG AS THOSE MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENNA WUHANED

EVEN BETTER WILL BE THEY ALL HUM KAR CHANG

LET THEM GATHER
MORE KENNA WUHANDED THE MORE LIKELY THAT GET BACK TO MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE AND THEIR ENTIRE FAMILIES
AND THEIR KANGAROOS AND PAPER GENERALS AND CRONIES AND BROWN NOSERS
ALL HUM KAR CHAN

MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND THEIR CRONIES AND PAPER GENERALS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS WILL ALSO DIE
MAY THEY ALL DIE BEFORE US , OR WITH US
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE AGAIN

SPREAD WIDELY
UNTIL IT GET TO THE MAIDS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS AND STAFF OF MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE
UNTIL ALL THOSE OLD MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENA WUHANDED
AND TOGETHER WITH YOUNG MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND ALL IN THE FUCKING PA AND KANGAROOS AND POODLES
WUHAN WILL DELIVER US ALL FROM THE FUCKING MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE FINALLY
MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KANGAROOS CANNOT FIX WUHAN THE WAY THEY CAN FIX ELECTED PRESIDENT AND OTHER SHIT THINGS THAT THEY CAN FIX
WUHAN WILL FIX THEM INSTEAD

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

Finally a common sense policy is being implemented. Just have to make it humane by allowing Soylent Green to be freely available

Health bureaucrat urges surgeons to 'say no' to older, sicker patients
Exclusive by state political reporter Isabel Dayman

Posted Yesterday at 3:37pm
A group of doctors pictured during a surgical operation, with a heart rate monitor in the foreground.
A group of doctors pictured during a surgical operation.(Unsplash.Com: Natanael Melchor, CC-0)
Public hospital surgeons are being encouraged to "say no" to "old" patients and those with multiple medical conditions, emails leaked to the ABC reveal.

Key points:
An SA Health program manager emailed surgeons about GP patient referrals
She asked them to "say no" to older or very sick patients when it's "not sensible" to accept them
The doctors' union said only qualified clinicians should be making patient referral decisions
A senior SA Health program manager, Mandy Nolan, emailed surgeons on Saturday, arguing that health services needed to "tighten up our processes with regards to incoming referrals".

The CALHN acting surgery program delivery manager suggested surgeons "say no" to general practitioners referring patients who are elderly or have comorbidities (multiple health conditions).

"We also expect that where the person is old or has many comorbidities, you might suggest to the GP that is [sic] not necessarily in their best interests," the email reads.

The email has prompted outrage from the doctors' union, SASMOA, which stresses that only qualified doctors should make decisions about whether a patient's referral should be accepted.

SASMOA President Dr David Pope told ABC News it was "unethical" for a person in an administrative management position to be making suggestions about clinical care.

Australian Medical Association Vice President Dr Chris Moy, who is a GP, said it was legitimate to consider a patient's age and general health in deciding whether they should have surgery, but said Ms Nolan's email was "clumsy".

A nurse prepares for surgery wearing blue scrubs and a surgical mask and pulling on a pair of gloves in an operating theatre.
The doctors union argued clincians working in patient care were the only ones who should get involved in referral decisions.(Rawpixel: Chanikarn Thongsupa)
Ms Nolan's email also warned that some GPs were sending patient referrals that were not filled in completely enough.

"We expect that many referrals might need to be returned to GPs as they will be insufficiently complete for safe and accurate triage," it reads.

Hospitals 'don't have enough resources' to care for current patient numbers
In a later email, sent on Sunday, Ms Nolan stressed that she did not wish to cause offence and that the surgical leadership team was "extremely patient centric".

"The 'we' is the surgical leadership team who are extremely patient centric, and by no means was offense [sic] intended," it reads.

She warned that Adelaide's central public health network did not have the resources it needs and that patients are "deteriorating" because they are not getting the care they need.

"Due to this, a great proportion of our wait lists are long and the patients are deteriorating and they potentially could have been somewhere else, sooner.

"I agree that all referrals have a patient suffering in some way at the end and we are trying to get patients that need us the most, quickly and providing other options for those while they are waiting."

She added that returning referrals to GPs was to ensure the patient goes to the right service and takes the "fastest route to care".

A clinician's reply to Ms Nolan's Saturday email prompted her Sunday email. The ABC has not seen the clinician's email.

Health services collaborating to reduce wait times
SA Health provided no response when asked whether it is appropriate for administrative staff to be making suggestions about referral management and patient care.

But in a statement to ABC News on behalf of SA Health, CALHN Medical Lead for Surgery Professor Jane Andrews said hospitals and GPs were collaborating to improve services for patients.

Exterior of a modern hospital
SA Health said hospitals and GPs were collaborating to reduce patient wait times.(ABC News: Dean Faulkner)
"We are implementing a number of solutions to improve wait times, and through collaborative working with our GP colleagues," Professor Andrews said.

"Referrals from GPs, who know their patients best, need to include sufficient information so our specialists can accurately triage consumers to ensure no-one is left without advice or care.

"Our recently appointed GP Liaison doctor is working with us and her GP colleagues to improve two-way communication to ensure our community can access the best and fastest route to care."

Posted Yesterday

Blame the LOW TAX ideology of sinkies.

Actually in the end it is paying tax for healthcare. Except the poor have less benefits versus the rich. Very unequal. And this creates social divide.

You should see the uncles in C class really very angry and rude always say the drs boh chup them. So much so even if I do care about them they don't believe me say things like I only want to go see A class patient.

And then go A class the uncle ALSO ANGRY! Say they paying too much to subsidize the useless C class patients they demand I stay with them 24h a day want VIP treatment go down to cut hair also must have doctor follow. WTF?
you are not a doctor.