• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Only $16 in bank account: Grab driver dies at home, widow gets letter demanding payment of over $1,800 in charges

cat

Stupidman

Only $16 in bank account: Grab driver dies at home, widow gets letter demanding payment of over $1,800 in charges​

Only $16 in bank account: Grab driver dies at home, widow gets letter demanding payment of over $1,800 in charges

The wife of a late private-hire driver hopes the ride-hailing platform can waive part of the vehicle rental charges.
PHOTO: Shin Min Daily News

PUBLISHED ONMAY 26, 2024 12:54 PM
ByLIM KEWEI
www.asiaone.com

A recently widowed woman is hoping that ride-hailing platform Grab would waive part of the outstanding fees incurred by her late husband, who died suddenly and had less than $20 in his bank account.
Before his death on May 9, Su Zian (transliteration), 59, worked as a private-hire driver for almost 10 years and would typically drive from 3pm to 1am, reported Shin Min Daily News.
In an interview with the Chinese newspaper, his widow, who is deaf, said that she had found Su, blood trickling out of his mouth, unconscious in the toilet at around 6am that day. He had been inside the toilet for at least an hour before he was found.
He reportedly died of pneumonia and heart disease.
Mrs Su said that insurance agents and lawyers visited her home later that day to assist with funeral arrangements and helped notify private ride-hailing platform Grab of Su's death.
"Afterwards, I saw a message on his phone informing him to pay the car rental and return the vehicle. But as I can't hear or speak clearly, I couldn't handle it immediately," she added.
On May 21, almost two weeks after Su's death, she received a letter from Grab demanding payment of $1,892.99. The sum reportedly includes charges for car rental, car repair fees, towing fees and early termination fees.
She is hoping for a partial waiver of the amount, as her husband had only $16.16 left in his bank account.
Responding to Shin Min's queries, a Grab spokesperson expressed its condolences: "We are in touch with the family and will waive the relevant fees."
Shin Min reported that the company will typically provide a rental waiver upon processing the death certificate and other relevant documents.

yubenOh

Really vicious unbreakable poverty cycle of low ses life...slog like mad, unhealthy sleeping cycles, and left with only $16 then so unceremoniously found dead on toilet seat. Jin cham ah...

Timerty

He private car driver more like excuse to go out to KTV fuck hostesses in his car get them suck his dick everyday they give him free drinks until one day nosebleed from too happy

T
He private car driver more like excuse to go out to KTV fuck hostesses in his car get them suck his dick everyday they give him free drinks until one day nosebleed from too happy
That seems to be the case.otherwise cannot explain why nothing in bank account.

Sustanon

"She is hoping for a partial waiver of the amount, as her husband had only $16.16 left in his bank account."

KNN kumgong... people tell you to pay you pay ah and hope for a partial waiver lol.... realli ish kum gong to the max... this is probably the kind if garhmen ask you to eat shit, you will ask eat how much ah...... ask you go pak zham also go pak...lol..... go and eat shit and die lah...

Byebye Penis

RIP

Grab is like that. They can ask u to pay for car-lease contract obligations when when they stop u from driving. They are managed by thugs, and they responded kindly (expressed its condolences: "We are in touch with the family and will waive the relevant fees."), only because she went public.

Balls2U

"She is hoping for a partial waiver of the amount, as her husband had only $16.16 left in his bank account."

KNN kumgong... people tell you to pay you pay ah and hope for a partial waiver lol.... realli ish kum gong to the max... this is probably the kind if garhmen ask you to eat shit, you will ask eat how much ah...... ask you go pak zham also go pak...lol..... go and eat shit and die lah...

Don't pay so what? What the fuck can they do when that fucker is gone? Go downstairs to collect from him? For $1,800, they won't go through the hassle of claiming from his estate. The legal costs is far more than that. So lan lan got to write it off.

Temasek is grab share holder
So they behave like pap
Same like dun pay your town council conservancy you will be jailed. After jail term you are still liable to up outstanding with all the late charges and legal fees. They are fiercer than ah longs

butoh6050

Only $16 in bank account: Grab driver dies at home, widow gets letter demanding payment of over $1,800 in charges​

The wife of a late private-hire driver hopes the ride-hailing platform can waive part of the vehicle rental charges.
PHOTO: Shin Min Daily News

PUBLISHED ONMAY 26, 2024 12:54 PM
ByLIM KEWEI
www.asiaone.com

A recently widowed woman is hoping that ride-hailing platform Grab would waive part of the outstanding fees incurred by her late husband, who died suddenly and had less than $20 in his bank account.
Before his death on May 9, Su Zian (transliteration), 59, worked as a private-hire driver for almost 10 years and would typically drive from 3pm to 1am, reported Shin Min Daily News.
In an interview with the Chinese newspaper, his widow, who is deaf, said that she had found Su, blood trickling out of his mouth, unconscious in the toilet at around 6am that day. He had been inside the toilet for at least an hour before he was found.
He reportedly died of pneumonia and heart disease.
Mrs Su said that insurance agents and lawyers visited her home later that day to assist with funeral arrangements and helped notify private ride-hailing platform Grab of Su's death.
"Afterwards, I saw a message on his phone informing him to pay the car rental and return the vehicle. But as I can't hear or speak clearly, I couldn't handle it immediately," she added.
On May 21, almost two weeks after Su's death, she received a letter from Grab demanding payment of $1,892.99. The sum reportedly includes charges for car rental, car repair fees, towing fees and early termination fees.
She is hoping for a partial waiver of the amount, as her husband had only $16.16 left in his bank account.
Responding to Shin Min's queries, a Grab spokesperson expressed its condolences: "We are in touch with the family and will waive the relevant fees."
Shin Min reported that the company will typically provide a rental waiver upon processing the death certificate and other relevant documents.
early termination fee? because he died?

Byebye Penis

The debtor die liao
What can creditor do?
Why widow is liable for dead husband debt? It’s crazy

Under joint-tenancy for HDB, the wife of the deceased will inherit the unit without any disbursement to creditors. However it is likely that the deceased has other financial assets, eg. CPF, insurance payouts, other savings.

Creditors can still claim from the estate.