Old Fart's ah tiong hijacked taxi & killed airport cleaner

soikee

cleaner_1.jpg
cleaner_2.jpg

SINGAPORE: A cleaner on duty at the Budget Terminal died after he was hit by a taxi allegedly driven by a passenger on Saturday morning.

Police have arrested the suspect, who's a 30-year-old Chinese national.

They said they received a call at about 6.50am on Saturday, saying there was a dispute between a CityCab driver and his passenger.

Police said the caller reported that a passenger had allegedly assaulted a 57-year-old taxi driver at the road side along the stretch of Airport Boulevard, in
front of SATS In-flight Catering Centre 1.

Witnesses said both the passenger and driver were seen arguing.

The passenger was then seen getting into the taxi and driving towards the direction of the Budget Terminal.

Police said moments later, the same taxi was involved in a traffic accident when it hit a 34-year-old cleaner at the driveway in front of the Budget Terminal.

The man, who worked for Chye Thiam Maintenance, was pronounced dead at the scene by paramedics at 7.13am.

The taxi also smashed the glass side door next to fastfood restaurant McDonald's and a traffic light was badly damaged.

According to witnesses, the suspect allegedly tried to flee from the scene but was stopped by passers-by.

The taxi driver is believed to have chased the suspect when he drove off in his cab.

The victim is Mr Chandra Mogan, who is a Malaysian.

Colleagues said he was the morning supervisor on duty and had worked for the company for at least three years.

His family is in Johor and he has four children, aged between three months and 10 years.

Responding to media queries, ComfortDelGro, which operates CityCab taxis, said its driver picked up the passenger early on Saturday morning.

Its spokesperson Tammy Tan said that halfway through the journey towards the airport, the passenger allegedly started getting violent.

It said the driver stopped the cab, activated the distress button and got out of the vehicle.

Ms Tan said the passenger also stepped out and allegedly started to attack the driver and then got into the taxi and drove off.

She said the driver was injured and sought medical attention at the hospital.

ComfortDelGro is assisting him, as well as the police in their investigations.

It's understood that the China national had abrasions on his forehead and was sent to Changi General Hospital.

Changi Airport Group said it's deeply saddened by the accident and has extended its condolences to Mr Mogan's family.

Netizens on Channel NewsAsia's Facebook page responded swiftly to the incident.

Many were outraged and they also wanted the suspect to be harshly punished.

Others expressed shock and sadness for the victim's family.

- CNA

• cleaner_1.jpg
    cleaner_1.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 149
  • cleaner_2.jpg
    cleaner_2.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 94
Imagine what he will say in court. "You judge are a dog. You are all parts of China and slave dogs. You can not charge me!":D

According to reports, he will be charged with voluntarily causing hurt in committing robbery (not Manslaughter).

Past cases involving foreigners has shown that the authorities have a "boh chup" attitude. For example the angmos who assaulted the Sporean taxi driver, that Romanian who hit & killed a pedestrian,...they all got away.

Even in those cases where foreigner have been taken to court they have gotten away with a slap on the wrist such as being banned from driving & a small fine.

Ah Tiong alibi would be, he didn't drive the yellow coloured taxi, Ronald McDonald did!!

Its not "old fart's" ahTiong lah..... siao eh..... its just some chao cheebye chinaman with no upbringing

Get a good lawyer can get it down to rash and negligent act causing traffic accident and death (i.e. without intention to kill, murder can't stand). The carjacking part can be put down to robbery (i.e. still no murder and not even manslaughter).

Past cases involving foreigners has shown that the authorities have a "boh chup" attitude. For example the angmos who assaulted the Sporean taxi driver, that Romanian who hit & killed a pedestrian,...they all got away.

Even in those cases where foreigner have been taken to court they have gotten away with a slap on the wrist such as being banned from driving & a small fine.

sinkie suspect = presume guilty, unless proven innocent beyond a reasonable doubt
non-sinkie = presume innocent, unless proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt

Its not "old fart's" ahTiong lah..... siao eh..... its just some chao cheebye chinaman with no upbringing

Where got siow wan? Lau chee bye classifies Sinkies as dogs and opened the flood gate to ah tiongs and others.

No sane man would do such a thing without provocation. Most likely conversation taxi uncle said to PRC man.

Your wife is a whore and I f* her yesterday night at geylang!!!!

No sane man would do such a thing without provocation. Most likely conversation taxi uncle said to PRC man.

Your wife is a whore and I f* her yesterday night at geylang!!!!

Locust can't be sane.

:eek::rolleyes:In the 1st place without info on the cause of contention in the taxi, I wonder WAF did the cab driver do? Did he fled for his live in such a hurry to leave his taxi (car) key inside for this nut to drive it?:rolleyes::eek::*:

Want to leave the cab there for the nut to drive it purposely?:confused: What if the nut use the taxi to kill him (cab driver) run him down and run him over?

If I were to be in his shoe I won't leave the key in the cab for the nut to control the cab. Unless really no time no chance. You can get crazy passengers like TCS bitch Quan Yi Feng, and you can leave the cab for them to breakdown, but not the key. You bring the key and flee + your h/p to call mata. They break the cab at the most burn it down.

If you left your ignition key there, they dive the cab to hunt you down and run you over! You are deadmeat liao.:eek:

\

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1189705/1/.html

Suspect in Budget Terminal taxi crash charged
Posted: 18 March 2012 1243 hrs

SINGAPORE:

A 30-year-old male Chinese national has been charged

with voluntarily causing hurt in committing robbery,

in connection with the death of a cleaner at Budget Terminal.

Police said on Sunday that the charge was read to the suspect in hospital, where he is warded.

If convicted, he can be sentenced to between five years and 20 years in jail and at least 12 strokes of the cane.

The suspect, who is a technician, is being investigated in connection with the death of 34-year-old Chandra Mogan on Saturday morning.

Mr Mogan died after he was hit by a taxi, allegedly driven by the suspect.

Police investigations into the death allegedly caused by the suspect are ongoing.

Police said more charges are expected to be tendered against the suspect for this offence.

- CNA/ck/fa

The PRC heard PAP want to demolish his favourite Budget Terminal and he got pissed. He demolished a part of it loh...

:D

My msg to taxi uncles is to leave taxi BUT NOT THE KEYS! Big problem when they got the keys!

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20120319-334228.html

>> ASIAONE / MOTORING / NEWS / STORY

Monday, Mar 19, 2012
my paper

We'll leave our taxis if we're threatened, say cabbies

By Daryll Nanayakara

If caught in a situation like the one faced by a cabby at the Budget Terminal last Saturday, many taxi drivers said they would abandon their vehicles.

Six drivers told my paper yesterday that, once they have alerted their companies' call centres, they would immediately remove the keys from the ignition and move away from the taxi and the aggressive passenger.

"I would not want to stay in the taxi and get beaten up," said ComfortDelGro cabby Chong Wing Hung, 54, who has been driving taxis for more than 10 years.

Though his cab is his "rice bowl", it would be too risky to stay in it when a situation goes out of control, he said.

"What if (the passengers) use a knife or a weapon to stab you? If it is one person, you can take the risk. If there are two or more of them, you had better run for your own sake."

Last Saturday morning, a Chinese national hijacked a yellow CityCab taxi after an altercation with the driver.

The 30-year-old passenger is said to have become hysterical in Airport Boulevard while heading towards Changi Airport. He allegedly assaulted the taxi driver, who promptly pushed the distress button to alert his company.

The cabby was shoved out of the vehicle by the Chinese national, who then took the wheel and drove to the Budget Terminal.

The passenger - believed to be a technician, according to Lianhe Wanbao - then ploughed into Mr Chandra Mogan, a 34- year-old cleaning supervisor, at the terminal.

Paramedics pronounced Mr Mogan dead at the scene.

A police spokesman said yesterday that the Chinese national has been charged with voluntarily causing hurt in committing robbery. The charge was read out to him at his bedside in Changi General Hospital, where he has been warded since the incident for cuts on his head.

The spokesman added that investigations into Mr Mogan's death are ongoing.

Cabbies told my paper that arguments with passengers are common, and mostly arise out of misunderstandings over the fare and the route. But these are usually settled easily and rarely go out of control.

"We are on the road for so many hours a day... We would naturally meet a variety of people, some of whom are difficult," said Mr Ong Ah Ping, 47, a TransCab driver who has been a cabby for more than three years.

Many people think taxi drivers do not get assaulted, "but, in fact, they do", he added.

Mr V. Rengarajaan, 48, a driver with SMRT Taxis, said: "The first thing we do is to explain the situation to (passengers) and calm them down. Most of the time, the passengers are understanding."

But when things get out of hand, cabbies raise the alarm by pressing a small button located near the driver.

Once the button is pressed, an offer for an advance booking will show up on the screen in his cab, said Mr Chong.

"I just have to 'accept' the 'job' to confirm that I am in distress," he said.

An alert is then sent to the cab company's call centre and to the police. Another message is then broadcast to the company's entire fleet of taxis, informing the cabbies to keep a lookout for the affected vehicle and to assist the driver if possible.

Mr Ong said that, on some nights between Friday and Sunday, cabbies driving around in HDB estates will spot taxi drivers sitting by the kerb beside their cabs - they had been attacked by passengers.

"As fellow drivers, we go to their help immediately, even if we're from different companies, " he said.

Why is the victim's name and his wife's photo in the newspapers, whereas there is no photo or name of the suspect?

bro...i suspect the suspect looks like BosSam ....dats why :D

Why is the victim's name and his wife's photo in the newspapers, whereas there is no photo or name of the suspect?

Suspect is probably on some kind of scholarship, thats why nebber deng po chua.