• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Old Fart Upset That She Not Given A Stake In Dead Sisters' House!

bteunice23.jpg

SINGAPORE - The state may have taken possession of the house that belonged to Madam Pearl Tan and Madam Ruby Tan, but the decision has left a relative of the sisters a little disappointed.

"Some of the relatives should have been allowed to stake a claim," said Madam Eunice Tan, 90, a cousin of the sisters, the two last known residents of the single-storey terraced house off Upper Thomson Road where two sets of skeletal remains were found in 2006 and 2015. The sisters would have been 81 and 68 in 2006.

"I did not make the claim because I am a government pensioner and I do not need the money," said the retired school principal. "But some of the relatives are related by blood."

Madam Tan does not know which relatives made a claim of the sisters' estate.

"We were not close," said Madam Tan of her relationship with Pearl and Ruby. "My grandfather had two wives, Pearl is from the other side of the family."

She said that she lost touch with Pearl and Ruby in the 1980s.

While the auction of the house may close the chapter on one of the most storied houses in Singapore, the mystery of the last days of its inhabitants remains unsolved.

Most of the residents in the neighbourhood do not remember much about the sisters who kept mostly to themselves.

"It is so long ago, we didn't know much about them then, we still do not know much about them now," said a neighbour who lives a few houses away, shooing the reporter away.

Previous media reports said Pearl, the older sister, was a civil servant who worked in the administrative section of the National Library.

Younger sister Ruby reportedly suffered from schizophrenia and had an outpatient treatment history with the Institute of Mental Health.

In July 2006, after the first set of skeletal remains were found, it was clear that one sister was dead and the other missing, but it was unclear which was which.

The police released a photo of Ruby in an appeal for public information, but nothing was known to have come out of the appeal.

In 2015, the High Court declared that both sisters be presumed dead. In a twist, the second set of skeletal remains, believed to be Ruby's, were found in the house, several months after she was presumed to have died.

Madam Tan has some regret about not keeping in touch with her cousins when they were alive.

"They had chosen to keep to themselves and it was also difficult to reach out to them," she added.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...stake-a-claim-in-house-says-cousin-of-the-tan

Hangover

Madam Tan has some regret about not keeping in touch with her cousins when they were alive.

mai gek gek, don't talk cock

When people are sick and old, relatives shun them. Most relatives just show face once a year on CNY or birthday gatherings. The caregivers are the ones going through the hardship of attending to the old and sick on a daily basis. The caregivers are the ones losing their sleep and personal time.

Then, during funeral or going to die, all will turn up, hoping to get share of the inheritance.

Hangover

Some of the relatives should have been allowed to stake a claim," said Madam Eunice Tan, 90

Estate laws in Singapore state that, the beneficiaries will be the parents of the deceased (if single) or spouse and children (if married). Cousins, nephews and nieces have no stake unless there was a will in place.

Actually the area around where the two late sisters lived, where homes of mistresses, where back in the 60's or earlier on, the well off could afford, buy their other wives homes near there and house them there...back then $7,000 - $15,000 for a terrace house in Sembawang Hills Estate, was a big deal.

The two sisters were eccentric people....the people around there would know them...& the church they go to...

KuanTi01

mai gek gek, don't talk cock

When people are sick and old, relatives shun them. Most relatives just show face once a year on CNY or birthday gatherings. The caregivers are the ones going through the hardship of attending to the old and sick on a daily basis. The caregivers are the ones losing their sleep and personal time.

Then, during funeral or going to die, all will turn up, hoping to get share of the inheritance.

You are spot on! Among Chinese it's quite prevalent. Sick aged relatives are meant to be forgotten; especially when there is nothing to be gained financially. The younger generation is materialistic and selfish. It's always me first; you second or even last.

Of course she regrets cos the claim for the estate would have been easier
sinkies always regret when they learn there's (free) money to be had in the value of the house even after bodies are discovered. it's not regret for not keeping in touch with relatives out of care and concern; it's regret for not pretending to keep in touch in order to get their names on the will. otherwise, bo chap. you die your biz. typical sinkie mentality.

Alamakinky

Madam Eunice Tan looks quite chio....you know how I can contact her and do a yang yin?

sinkies always regret when they learn there's (free) money to be had in the value of the house even after bodies are discovered. it's not regret for not keeping in touch with relatives out of care and concern; it's regret for not pretending to keep in touch in order to get their names on the will. otherwise, bo chap. you die your biz. typical sinkie mentality.

borom

..........selfish. It's always me first; you second or even last.

This is one reason why millions of foreigners can come in and squeeze us out and why the PAP can stay in power despite all the cockups.
Divide and rule-so easy, just give peanuts like pioneer generation package, sg bonus of $300, free food at CC ect2 and they gladly sell away their children's future (by allowing PAP to import millions of foreigners)