• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Official Hawker's Training Program - what a joke!

SINGAPORE'S first official hawker training programme will start accepting students this month! And they call it 'Project Dignity'.

This is the biggest joke of all time.

People are not choosing to become hawkers or work in a QSR because the pay is ridiculously low and there is no prospect. How would training programs like this make a difference? Are graduates of these programme going to be paid $3k a month?

The scholars heading the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) are so out of touch with reality that only they can dream such ridiculous programme. Their political master ought to be slapped as well for being equally ignorant.

What a waste of taxpayer money!

Dumbfuck shortsighted opposition supporting retard. Many Hawkers earn more than 3K a month. This just help to get them started.

If you want to be a hawker that earns $3k a month, you are hopeless. If hawkers don't earn $5k or more, then it is not worth the trouble.

Are these peopLe teLLing our kids that if you 'can't study don't study Lo'; can be a hawker what ..:*:

You can count how many morons here before me. :D

If you want to be a hawker that earns $3k a month, you are hopeless. If hawkers don't earn $5k or more, then it is not worth the trouble.

That's a highly subjective barometer of success.

I would say being a hawker is better than being unemployed.

After all, I doubt few of those hawkers said to themselves "When I grow up, I wanna be a hawker."

Dumbfuck shortsighted opposition supporting retard. Many Hawkers earn more than 3K a month. This just help to get them started.

Do you even know what you are saying? QSR staff makes $3k a month? Please put up the ads, I am sure many security guards and bus drivers would rush to take up those jobs. Open up your eyes and stop thinking like a pappy.

Please read properly. This program is intended for handicapped people to have jobs to support themselves.

http://projectdignity.sg/training

logo500x70trans.png

Hawker Training Program
Hawker Training Program is a six weeks duration development program in which the curriculum includes theory, practical, assessment and placements. Students are trained in food stall operations, basic food hygiene, food preparation, kitchen safety, simple cooking and undergo a course in basic food handling conducted by an accredited institution conforming to the standards imposed by National Environment Agency.

Our students are:
Physically and mentally challenged
Structured unemployed
Disadvantaged like ex-prisoners and battered wives
Senior citizens and retirees
Existing food court employee

Upon completion of their training stint at Dignity Kitchen we job place them – thus enabling them to earn an income with the skills acquired here. Whilst undergoing training, they are paid a training allowance of $30/ a day for six hours.
The training also instills confidence and pride in the student as they mingle and interact with members of the public with their acquired culinary skills and management.
At the end of the course, students will be prepared to work in existing food court organisation or start their own food stall business.

If student choose to start food stall business, assistance for the start up activities and also in raising the necessary finance may be provided if required. For the placement, students will be required to go for interview with the respective food court operators.
Students are taught by experienced Trainers and Professionals who have dedication in wide range of industries. They are serving various kinds of customers through exciting events ranging from kids to seniors. Course delivery will be fun-oriented and equipped with modern multimedia facilities.

Admission for Food Stall Management Course

We conduct face-to-face interview with prospective trainee at our Dignity Kitchen location. There is no minimum academic requirement at the moment. If the prospective trainee is eligible for this program, he or she need to download and fill this application form and submit to us. To arrange this interview, it is faster to get in touch by calling +65 81897678 or if you prefer by email: [email protected]. See Contact page for location details.

Course fee is SGD $1,230 per trainee with sponsorship available.
This is a full time program where all students activities also located at Dignity Kitchen location with the following timing structure:
AM Session (Practical) 10am - 2pm
Lesson (Theory) 2pm - 4pm
PM Session (Practical) 4pm - 8pm

You forgot the other categories -

Structured unemployed

So, will these folks upon graduation enjoy a minimum of $15/hr pay?

Do you even know what you are saying? QSR staff makes $3k a month? Please put up the ads, I am sure many security guards and bus drivers would rush to take up those jobs. Open up your eyes and stop thinking like a pappy.

No brainer broken voice recorder who only embarrass his own YPAP. You can record down all his quotes for future references. :D

You forgot the other categories -

Structured unemployed

So, will these folks upon graduation enjoy a minimum of $15/hr pay?

$15 per hour? I hope no one is paying u to run a hawker centre.

For those unemployed women, will there be an official hooker training program ?

All these wayang training programs are meant to put those jobless off the unemployed list.

According to white scums, if you're under training you're NOT considered unemployed.

All these wayang training programs are meant to put those jobless off the unemployed list.

According to white scums, if you're under training you're NOT considered unemployed.

But instead of getting paid, you need to come out with your own money to pay for training. Isn't that illogical?

For one who is respectfully employed via this programme and provides for his family, it's no laughing matter.

A little empathy goes a long way.

Guessed by virtue of setting up this OHTP; am sure that future aspiring hawkers esp those w/o education but with deft cuLinary skiLLs wiLL aLso kena make to register with a Board of sorts; attend & pass some compuLsory courses before even being abLe to tender for a hawker space and start to earn a Living..KNN.:(

Dignity Kitchen!

Yes, indeed a ludicrous noble idea … from their Ivy Tower, our overpaid geniuses have missed the wood for the trees, again!

The whole course write-up is a Motherhood and Apple Pie statement that does not reflect the true reason for it's being or the current
barriers to entry for would-be hawking aspirants.

Except for "Existing food court employee", the rest of targeted students are either physically, mentally or intellectually incapable of managing
this trade (a manager of their own stall without any prior experience, recipe, etc. :D)

The main barriers to entry for this trade are financing, high rental and service fees, adverse working condition, long hours and physically
demanding with very poor returns on investment and efforts.

The secret for success in hawking is definitely a good RECIPE and prime location, not a certificate or diploma in Hawking!

Dignity is never a barrier to entry in any trade if the returns are worth the effort! Prostitution is the best example that comes to mind!:p

So why is our over paid political geniuses are at it again … trying to outdo one another with more certification, accreditation and licensing for the
most of manual work.

Especially, in the F&B arena, part-time and full-time , formalized courses and certification are already available. Polytechnic, SHATEC, ITC, NEA
are already offering various level and type of courses for this trade. They are in addition to the tons of ad hoc courses conduct by the various
government, grassroots and private organizations for hawking aspirants.

At the end of the day, their motivation is revenue enhancement (especially for the accreditation and licensing authority) and trade barrier
creation (specifically, NTUC and their associate FoodFare who will be hiring this class of graduates) as well as total control over all walk of trades
that ordinary folk has to "kow tao" to them in order to obtain a license or a place to operate.

The end result in cost increases will be passed on to the consumers!

So, know the implication of your vote! Send a clear message, cut out the carp, stop messing with our life!

Happy voting at Punggol East SMC …

Cheers

lianbeng fell off chair laughing out loud liao! :D hawkers no need diploma or degree one lah! tau you = jiang you = dark soya sauce?