• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nus law dean: Singapore actually has a shortage of lawyers

[h=1]NUS LAW DEAN: SINGAPORE ACTUALLY HAS A SHORTAGE OF LAWYERS[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
5 Nov 2014 - 6:43pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Earlier this year, Law Minister K Shanmugam raised the alarm about an apparent “glut” of law graduates who are finding it difficult to find training contract and move on to securing a job as a lawyer.

(See: Shanmugam: There May Not Be Enough Law Jobs for Overseas Graduates)

He blamed the situation on the large number of Singaporeans going overseas to study law and coming back and expecting to be able to get a law job here.

Shanmugam gave the statistics that 90% of local law grads are able to secure training contracts while only 70% of overseas grads are able to do the same.
While Shanmugam insisted that he didn’t want to be discouraging people from studying law, it is clear that the hint was that we may have too many law graduates in Singapore, especially from overseas.

(See also: Shanmugam: Shortage of Law Jobs Due to Overseas S'porean Graduates, Not Foreigners
However, the NUS Dean of the Law Faculty, Simon Chesterman, recently wrote in to Straits Times saying that the suggestion that Singapore has too many law graduates is actually wrong.

Mr Chesterman pointed to the fact that Singapore has very low numbers of lawyers compared to some other developed nations.

He wrote that in Singapore, there is less than 1 lawyer to every 1000 people. In Hong Kong, the number is slightly more than 1 while in London it was 2.5 and in New York, it was well over 8.

Mr Chesterman suggested that Shanmugam was wrong to imply that Singapore has too many law graduates and he suggested instead that we should be allowing more lawyers to start practice.

He suggested that more training contract should be made available citing the shortage of lawyers that Singapore currently sees in certain areas including criminal law, family practice and probate.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Mr Chesterman also pointed out that the current glut is likely just a short term problem as the number of training contracts is at a mismatch with the number of graduates but in the long run, Singapore will need more lawyers.

It certainly seems that Shanmugam may have the situation wrong as Singapore does have very few lawyers compared to other countries and by going to the media and talking about the “shortage of law jobs for Singaporeans”, he is undoubtedly influencing some young Singaporeans to decide not to study law.

If the NUS Law Dean is right in pointing out the shortage of lawyers in certain areas, such suggestions by the law minister based on short-term trends will only serve to exacerbate the problem in the long run.

What do you think?

Related:
Glut Of Lawyers: A Case Of Miscalculation?

Chesterman is Slick Tony's son-in-law right? How come his FIL never brief him not to contradict Sham? We singaporeans don't like confrontational people who malu the lightning gang, that is what our "neutral" forummers like eErotica69 claim, you know?

Who want to bet this "confrontational" ang moh will get into trouble or be shunned by his peers?

PAP IB logic not consistent leh.

Satyr

Chesterman is Slick Tony's son-in-law right? How come his FIL never brief him not to contradict Sham? We singaporeans don't like confrontational people who malu the lightning gang, that is what our "neutral" forummers like eErotica69 claim, you know?

Who want to bet this "confrontational" ang moh will get into trouble or be shunned by his peers?

PAP IB logic not consistent leh.

The "too many lawyers" argument is from the same folks who brought us the "too many doctors" production. All I can say is they don't know much. If we do in fact have too many lawyers it is the lawyers who are affected. If we have too few, it is we who are affected. Ditto for doctors. In my opinion, what we cannot have too much of are politicians of a certain persuasion. The results are the reverse the situation with too many professionals. It is good for them , the politicians, but possibly not so good for us, the people.

dat burgers wants mor ft lawyers ...

esp from ahnehlan ...

The law minister was just setting the scene for the liberal import of more foreign lawyers in the near future lah.
Squeeze the supply now, and create the demand later.
They always talk about allowing market forces decide - let the parents and students decide what courses they want to study.