NUH doctors kill another patient, this time, a Granny

How come nothing in the local press? Trying to hush hush and cover up again?

The death of a female patient that followed a successful heart surgery in October has prompted the National University Hospital's (NUH) commencement of a formal inquiry into the case.

The Straits Times (ST) reported that 74-year-old Heng Choon Noi was operated on by heart and lung surgeon Lee Chuen Neng on 11 October after which she was shifted from the intensive care unit to a general, and then a surgical ward over the week.

The paper reported her children’s complaints that her condition worsened as the weekend passed, and two doctors who were on duty had only taken a blood sample from her to check for infections.

One of the doctors involved, Dr Tay Jia Sheng, a trainee in cardiothoracic (heart and lung) surgery, later resigned from NUH on a 24-hour notice, while Dr Ng Hui Chong, who was on duty at the time, had after the incident chosen not to train in surgery, as stated in a letter from the hospital addressed to Heng’s family.

Heng’s second son, financial consultant Patrick Chan, reportedly alleged that his mother’s death was caused by “negligence and serious lapse of due diligence by the doctors at the ward”.

His older brother Tony, a real estate agent, told ST that over the weekend following Heng’s surgery, she developed a fever, her heart rate increased rapidly and she showed lower blood pressure. The family accompanied her that Sunday night, repeatedly requesting a doctor’s attention between 1am and 6am on Monday, but said no one showed up to assist them.

Dr Tay only took a sample of her blood, telling them that results would take a couple of days to process, Patrick told the paper.

The letter from NUH’s director of clinical services of the Cardiac, Thoracic and Vascular Surgery department, assistant professor Ooi Oon Cheong, detailed further explanation about what had happened.

It said that Dr Tay had previously examined Heng, ascertaining that she was in a stable condition, and did not look acutely ill, while Dr Ng had made an unsuccessful attempt to draw blood from Heng, although she had checked on her on Sunday night and at 6am on Monday, also finding her to be stable, reported ST.

The letter also said that Dr Ng instructed the nurses to administer paracetamol, apply cold compresses and continue with Heng’s existing antibiotics to bring the fever she was suffering from down.

Dr Ooi also acknowledged and apologised for “shortcomings in communication”, adding, “Our doctors and nursing staff could have been more sensitive to your needs,” the broadsheet reported.

ST also reported that an autopsy done by senior forensic pathologist Teo Eng Swee found that Heng's heart valve operation was successful, reporting a correctly-positioned artificial heart valve. Pending further investigation, Dr Teo stated Heng's cause of death to be cardio-respiratory failure.

Confirming the incident and the investigation, a spokesperson from Singapore’s National University Heart Centre told Yahoo! Singapore in a statement that a full and transparent account will be provided to Heng’s family upon the completion of investigations.

“If we find any inadequacies or lapses in our processes, we will put them right. We owe this to our patients,” the spokesperson said, declining further comment on the incident while citing the ongoing probe.

Dunno what's with the hospital. From day one, it has been riddled with grouses from the public about expensive, arrogant, tardy, botched cases, surly staff, negligent doctors..despite being a research hospital linked to the oldest and premier university in the land.

Because medicine is practiced in singapore by people who care about money, not about patients.

Bad outcomes happen. Heart operation is high risk, especially in elderly. Unfortunate case, for everyone involved. But what is disturbing is that young docs seem to be taking the fall for this. This should not have been allowed unless and until it is established they were at fault. But investigations still on-going.

It could ultimately be nobody's fault, just poor communication with family and bad luck. But there're also more senior people involved and they are the ones ultimately responsible, and more so than the young docs. Operation on Tue 11th Oct, ICU 3 days, deteriorated over weekend and died Monday. Newspaper reports suggest that only the junior docs saw the patient on the weekend. The professor only on Monday of death. This is a senior surgeon who was in the running to be the next dean of the medical school (but no longer).

Bad outcomes happen. Heart operation is high risk, especially in elderly. Unfortunate case, for everyone involved. But what is disturbing is that young docs seem to be taking the fall for this. This should not have been allowed unless and until it is established they were at fault. But investigations still on-going.

It could ultimately be nobody's fault, just poor communication with family and bad luck. But there're also more senior people involved and they are the ones ultimately responsible, and more so than the young docs. Operation on Tue 11th Oct, ICU 3 days, deteriorated over weekend and died Monday. Newspaper reports suggest that only the junior docs saw the patient on the weekend. The professor only on Monday of death. This is a senior surgeon who was in the running to be the next dean of the medical school (but no longer).

I think you need to read between the lines here. This woman was probably connected to someone in the PAP or MIW. If it was a peasant in a HDB flat, I doubt if these doctors would have lost sleep over it. SMC has made covering the arse of incompetent doctors a fine art over the decades. For them to resign and step down like that, some people screwed up so bad that even the SMC cannot protect them.

This woman was probably connected to someone in the PAP or MIW...SMC has made covering the arse of incompetent doctors a fine art over the decades. For them to resign and step down like that, some people screwed up so bad that even the SMC cannot protect them.

Maybe, maybe not. Death after surgery is always investigated by the State Coroner (in addition to the hospital). SMC gets involved later, when something suspicious is uncovered. Integrity of the medical system lies with these checks & balances. Hopefully not yet breached.

Negligence tends to happen with 1 individual. Can't remember when there was ever such a case when two junior non-specialist (trainee) docs implicated with knee-jerk impulsive resignations made public. Reeks of systemic failure at higher levels, because responsibility for complex medical problems ultimately lies not in junior trainees but much higher up. Each hospitalized patient has a senior doctor ultimately responsible - the good professor in this case - who should supervise, mentor and ensure quality control of his junior staff's actions.

If you want your loved ones to live - send them to a private hospital.

NUH doctors are fucked up. The same can be said of *most* doctors in the public hospitals, but NUH is the worst because it has a high number of doctor trainees. Sinkie peasants are their guinea pigs.

They took the Hypocrites Oath not the Hippocrates Oath, duh?

Because medicine is practiced in singapore by people who care about money, not about patients.

Righto!, you have the money, connection, you get the best attention & treatment, maybe get the "challenger" to take you to the moon for relaxation too! ha ha ha ha

ST_IMAGES_SUSAN24.jpg

I agrees

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hippocratic_Oath

Modern version

A widely used modern version of the traditional oath was penned in 1964 by Dr. Louis Lasagna, former Principal of the Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences and Academic Dean of the School of Medicine at Tufts University:[8]

I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgment, this covenant:
I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.

I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures [that] are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism.

I will remember that there is art to medicine as well as science, and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon's knife or the chemist's drug.

I will not be ashamed to say "I know not", nor will I fail to call in my colleagues when the skills of another are needed for a patient's recovery.

I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given to me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.

I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person's family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick.

I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.

I will remember that I remain a member of society with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm.

If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.

Maybe, maybe not. Death after surgery is always investigated by the State Coroner (in addition to the hospital). SMC gets involved later, when something suspicious is uncovered. Integrity of the medical system lies with these checks & balances. Hopefully not yet breached.

Negligence tends to happen with 1 individual. Can't remember when there was ever such a case when two junior non-specialist (trainee) docs implicated with knee-jerk impulsive resignations made public. Reeks of systemic failure at higher levels, because responsibility for complex medical problems ultimately lies not in junior trainees but much higher up. Each hospitalized patient has a senior doctor ultimately responsible - the good professor in this case - who should supervise, mentor and ensure quality control of his junior staff's actions.

Which planet have u been living on? Since when has SMC got any integrity? If this death was like u suggest, a resultof surgery, why all the resignations and self demotions?

I have met only 2 doctors in singapore who got into medicine because they truly wanted to help people. One did so because his religious beliefs dictated that he help people less fortunate, and medicine was the best way he could do it. The rest come from uually well off families and were puhed into that profession by their parents for greed and prestige.

If you want your loved ones to live - send them to a private hospital.

NUH doctors are fucked up. The same can be said of *most* doctors in the public hospitals, but NUH is the worst because it has a high number of doctor trainees. Sinkie peasants are their guinea pigs.

I don't think so, SAF doctors are the worse, try Alexandria.

it appears that the lady died fm some sort of infection...perhaps it is possible that she did not respond to the antibiotics prescribed?...

fm conversations wif foreign trained docs, i get the feeling that our young local docs in our local hospitals may not be that well trained and confident in handling post operative cases(like this one) as opposed to their counter parts in say the UK and the States...

must say though that the immediate resignation of the Reg n the Trainee quitting surgery training altogether appears curious and odd...especially since the inquiry has not even been completed...

btw Prof CN Lee's father is former pap strongman Lee Khoon Choy...also i gather he is a close friend of Prof Lee Wei Ling

it appears that the lady died fm some sort of infection...perhaps it is possible that she did not respond to the antibiotics prescribed?...

fm conversations wif foreign trained docs, i get the feeling that our young local docs in our local hospitals may not be that well trained and confident in handling post operative cases(like this one) as opposed to their counter parts in say the UK and the States...

must say though that the immediate resignation of the Reg n the Trainee quitting surgery training altogether appears curious and odd...especially since the inquiry has not even been completed...

btw Prof CN Lee's father is former pap strongman Lee Khoon Choy...also i gather he is a close friend of Prof Lee Wei Ling

This is what I am thinking too. As I mentioned before, I am trying to read between the lines here. These 2 housemen must have already known that the coroner's inquiry will not go well against them, otherwise, if they had done all they could, they can still hold their heads high and stayed.

I don't think so, SAF doctors are the worse, try Alexandria.

I agree! I had a injury at my spine during NS. Was sent to do X-Ray and the film was bought back to be seen my the MO. That fucking asshole(12 years on, I can still remember that asshole's name) threaten to charge me for malingering after looking at the film. I protested and he sent me to be reviewed by a more senior MO near Botanical Garden. He also added that if the senior MO found nothing wrong with me, he will personally make sure I go to DB. Forgot the name of the place. A female MO with the rank of Major( she looks 80% like a TCS actress Jacelyn Tay and is the same surname as me) took a look at the film, found out that there was a problem with part of the spine and wrote a report for me. When I went back to camp and showed the report to that asshole, he LPPL.

I will never forget this asshole. Two years ago, I saw a poster of him In TTSH. He is now a Gynae I think and is always doing seminars in TTSH. Asshole!

Doctors? Vets had shown greater professionalism and compassion. The influx of FT doctors will make situation worse. As usual, first world pricing third world service.

lianbeng replies, "NUH=National University Hospital. what u expect from a hospital full of students and lecturers? all those patients there are like white mice for lab tests only lor...poke here poke there...drip here drip there...":D