• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NTUC investigates staff's alleged racist Facebook post

I see no reason why she should be fired. Everyone's entitled to an opinion and she's spot on about Malay weddings.

Her remarks have nothing to do about race. It's all about the location and the format.

Even worse than Malay weddings are Chinese funerals and Drunk Indians. That's why the whole country is a cesspit. If Singapore was inhabited by Ang Mohs only, it would be a much more pleasant place.

Just in, this woman got fired.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?130640-‎*JUST-IN*-NTUC-has-sacked-staffer-Amy-Cheong

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/EDC121008-0000057/NTUC-staff-fired-for-insensitive-comments-made-on-Facebook

I see no reason why she should be fired. Everyone's entitled to an opinion and she's spot on about Malay weddings.

Her remarks have nothing to do about race. It's all about the location and the format.

Even worse than Malay weddings are Chinese funerals and Drunk Indians. That's why the whole country is a cesspit. If Singapore was inhabited by Ang Mohs only, it would be a much more pleasant place.

what makes you think there are no ang moh in HDB estates? many la sup ang mohs are walking around these days not shaved and in slippers. maybe they are here and out of work too. soon they may want to have $50 weddings too.

Re: ‎*JUST IN* NTUC has sacked staffer Amy Cheong

When are they going to fire the guy who said this...

"I think we were progressing very nicely until the surge of Islam came.....I would say, today, we can integrate all religions and races except Islam""

and this...
If, for instance, you put in a Malay officer who's very religious and who has family ties in Malaysia in charge of a machine gun unit, that's a very tricky business. We've got to know his background... I'm saying these things because they are real, and if I don't think that, and I think even if today the Prime Minister doesn't think carefully about this, I and my family could have a tragedy.

When are they going to fire the guy who said this...

and this...

You should know that this particular guy is unsackable..:rolleyes:

1pdbd.jpg

My opinion: fuck the NTUC.

Frankly, I'm amused by the Malays: their value-budget weddings are full of sound and fury, but their funerals are non-events.

I agree with the Malay-Muslim way for funerals: no fuss, no muss, no wakes, no funeral bands, body disposed of within 24 hours.

For someone who is not holding a real job in a real organisation this is a bit rich. What is NTUC going to investigate anyway?

If the Malays do not leave NTUC in droves I would be surprised.

what makes you think there are no ang moh in HDB estates? many la sup ang mohs are walking around these days not shaved and in slippers. maybe they are here and out of work too. soon they may want to have $50 weddings too.

I didn't say there aren't any. I said Singapore would be a better place if the whole population were Ang Moh.

You should know that this particular guy is unsackable..:rolleyes:

Not true, the only one who can sack him is him.

Grim_Reaper.jpg

This morning one of my malay friend told me that he was advised by his other malay friends to terminate their membership to protest.

Ah, it concerns lost of memberships, money lost for NTUC, that's why she is fired.

Yakult coming out soon ...

Have you have your Yakult today ???

UPDATE at 12:38pm: The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) has sacked an assistant director from its membership division after she posted offensive comments on her personal Facebook account.

In a statement sent to the media, its secretary-general Lim Swee Say said the trade organisation has "terminated with immediate effect" the services of Ms Amy Cheong, Assistant Director, Membership department after establishing with her that she did post offensive comments... on 7 October 2012".

"Regrettably and rightly so, her comments have upset members of the public, including many union members. We are sorry that this has happened. We have counselled the staff and impressed upon her the seriousness of her action. She is remorseful and has apologised for her grave lapse of judgement," he added.

He also reiterated in his statement that the NTUC "takes a serious view on racial harmony in Singapore", adding that it "will not accept and have zero tolerance towards any words used or actions taken by (its) staff that are racially offensive".

Earlier, Cheong made multiple apologies after her profanity-laced post slamming Malay void deck weddings on her Facebook account went viral on Monday morning, sparking a furious backlash on social media.

On Sunday evening, she put up a public status on her personal Facebook timeline over the weekend, complaining about a Malay wedding that was being held at a void deck near her home.

Among other things, she related Malay weddings to high divorce rates, and asked how society could “allow people to get married for 50 bucks”, peppering her post with vulgarities.

In a separate post, she also allegedly wrote, “Void deck weddings should be banned. If you can’t afford a proper wedding then you shouldn’t be getting married. Full stop.”

According to screencaps of her Facebook timeline before it was taken down, Cheong is a graduate from the University of Western Australia.

Internet users have since bombarded NTUC’s UMembers Facebook page, calling for her dismissal and seeking the trade organ’s response to her post.

Cheong’s Facebook account has since been deactivated, but at one point she published an apology on the UMembers Facebook page, which said, “Hi All, I sincerely apologize for my silly comment. It is in no way a reflection of NTUC and the good works it has done and is doing for its members. It was my own bad judgement of which I truly regret. I certainly do not mean to distress the Malay community with my comment, I was just upset with the noise. I truly do not mean to be judgmental or critical. I am truly sorry."

Her apology on the UMembers page disappeared together with her Facebook account, and resurfaced on a Twitter account she subsequently created, seemingly to address the issue.

On it, she started posting repeated apologies for her “silly comment” from early Monday morning, tweeting, “Hi All, It was a silly comment. It was not meant to be ‘racist’ comment [sic] and I do apologize for any distress it has caused.” She has also started responding to users tweeting about the incident with the same message.

Just before 4am on Monday, she tweeted again, “After this episode, i have realized how one generic post can create so many hurtful and cruel posts from strangers.”

NTUC has since said that it is investigating the incident. In an update on its Facebook fan page, it said the fracas caused by Cheong’s post is “a serious concern to all of us and will be addressed shortly”.

“The Labour Movement centres on inclusivity and we will not accept words or action of any of our staff that is insensitive or offending to any community,” the post added.

A spokesperson for NTUC also told Yahoo! Singapore that it will be releasing a statement later today.

Minister Lim Swee Say, chief of the labour movement, also said he is looking into the matter after being alerted about the incident on his Facebook page.

“We take serious view of such conduct and are taking action against her,” he posted in a terse reply on Monday morning.

Meanwhile, a Facebook page called "Fire Amy Cheong" has also sprung up just before 9am on Monday, capturing some 1,725 Facebook 'likes' on it within about two and a half hours.

A similar page called "Stop Racism in Singapore" has also started a petition on a status on its page calling for her removal from her post as Assistant Director in NTUC. It has since been since liked by 11,700 Facebook users.

she should just close her facebook account cos it is already tainted with her racist remarks.

Amy should have learnt a thing

or two from TPL ?

maybe Amy's bf did it ?

Nowadays,quite common to see dirty and unkempt Ang Mohs in unbuttoned shirts ,in short pants and in slippers walking around in HDB Blocks.Most likely these Ang Mohs are PRs who bought HDB Resale flats at very high prices at very high COV.Everytime I see them I stare at them in the eyes,and they immediately looked down and walked away quickly to the HDB lifts .

In a statement sent to the media, its secretary-general Lim Swee Say said the trade organisation has "terminated with immediate effect" the services of Ms Amy Cheong, Assistant Director, Membership department after establishing with her that she did post offensive comments... on 7 October 2012".

Amy would be praise and celebrated as a heroin if she were not a sinkie and reside in western countries

I am happy to see that joker Lim Swee Say trying for his trusted assistant Director,NTUC bleeding ground,full stop,all fakers.

Nowadays,quite common to see dirty and unkempt Ang Mohs in unbuttoned shirts ,in short pants and in slippers walking around in HDB Blocks.Most likely these Ang Mohs are PRs who bought HDB Resale flats at very high prices at very high COV.Everytime I see them I stare at them in the eyes,and they immediately looked down and walked away quickly to the HDB lifts .

agree. if they were in orchard road, they may have looked like the abercrombie & fish-like models trying to look cool in crumpled clothes. But if far flung public housing estates, these are real poor ones. Have seen them shuffling in slippers under the hot sun, walking to take MRT rides. Pity those dumbos who still think ang moh more high class.