• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NParks to sinkies - leave the monkeys alone

†††††

NParks to educate public on people-monkey co-existence
By Monica Kotwani | Posted: 20 October 2010 2117 hrs
Long-tailed macaques

SINGAPORE: National Parks Board (NParks) will be holding guided walks to educate people on how to behave when they see a monkey.

The walks are organised after anxious callers contacted NParks, following a recent case in Malaysia in which a monkey killed a baby.

The long-tailed monkey, known as the macaque, is also a popular species in Singapore forests.

NParks' Central Nature Reserve assistant director James Gan said: "What we are hoping (to achieve) through these kind of guided walks, (is) to have people better appreciate monkeys in their natural habitat and (for the public) to learn how to relate to these monkeys better, so that monkeys and human beings can co-exist peacefully".

NParks said people who feed wild monkeys alter the monkeys' relationship with the eco-system.

Such feeding lures the monkeys out of their natural habit to forage for food in the forests, onto residential areas such as those near the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve.

Ms Helene Mayne, a resident near Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, said residents do not mind the frequent visits by monkeys and are even protective of them.

Mr Gan said: "Monkeys do not generally seek out interaction with humans.

"And unfortunately, it's the people who come out and feed the monkeys (that cause) the macaques (to) seek that interaction.

"They're very family-orientated creatures. They're not naturally aggressive animals".

-CNA/wk

I still remember visiting the monkeys in the Botanical Gardens. Heard that the authorities shot all those monkeys :(

Glad they've taken the education approach.

ChemWarHead

Are they hinting us to leave their MILLION DOLLAR MINISTERS ALONE?

They can not take it that we fucked them so much.:wink:

I always go to Bukit Timah to feed the monkeys. But only during weekdays, weekends park rangers will be stationed there to hand out fines. The monkeys are very cute.

Is it alright to feed the monkeys with peanuts?

It should be all right, we are already feeding the well endowed Monkeys that perform in a theater called the PARLIAMENT with 'peanuts'.

Some can play musical instruments, like the piano, guitar, some can do the hip hop & one even sing off key!.

It is alright to feed the monkeys with 'PEANUTS':biggrin:

I heard of a case where an angry monkey dropping a cocnut on his owner :eek:

So better not anger a monkey :smile:

The owner ought to have a cocoNUT dropped on his head, he was collecting cocoNUTS, he was feeding the mokey peaNUTS.

You think the monkey stupid?, both are NUTS, but very different in size & taste & nutrition.:biggrin:

The owner ought to have a cocoNUT dropped on his head, he was collecting cocoNUTS, he was feeding the mokey peaNUTS.

You think the monkey stupid?, both are NUTS, but very different in size & taste & nutrition.:biggrin:

Silly owners must use crash helmet lah Always kena ketok :rolleyes: