Npark wants you to farm at home

For sure. Commercially grown stuff is bred for looks and easy handling/shipping, not for taste.

I used to grow veggies when I was younger. When nothing is ready for harvesting, you starve if you don't buy. Then, when everything is ready, you have too much and have to give away 9/10 of what you grow. Best way to get home grown veggies is to encourage your friends and neighbours to do it. You just stay at home, watch TV, and enjoy the free stuff you get!

may taste like raw leaves, then end up heading back to ntuc again, lol...its like trying to charkwayteow at home, the taste is nothing like the hawker one

be careful of what they wish for. not all are farmers, and not all have green thumbs. a small minority will do all the work, the great majority will freeload, and the wannabe spoilers will wreck the community farms as they have no sexperience and skill with soil, shade, sun, seasonality of some plants, and optimum watering. cliques will be formed, gangs will mark territory, unkers will fight, and aunties will becum obsessive possessive with preferred plots and produce. instead of uniting it will divide.

my eyes must be playing tricks on me

Somehow I read the title thread as "NPark wants you to fark at home"

That would be their message to the mosquitoes, so that they can place the blame on Sinkies for a dengue outbreak.

urban farming very popular you know?
can make money or is it millennial kinda dreeam?

on a serious note,the success of urban farming in singapore is not how.
its about convincing chaosinkies to pay a little bit more for each urban farming product.if they manage convince population to these "premiumization" purchase,they will be successful.it will take many years cos older gen needs to fuck off and die first before mindset changes for next gen.

but you see,after many decades,some people still like wet market,but more are getting use to supermarketing and online grocery delivery.

change will take time

if wanna invest in urban farming,need a lot a lot of government support and financial muscle to hold on and not give up half way.

For sure. Commercially grown stuff is bred for looks and easy handling/shipping, not for taste.

I used to grow veggies when I was younger. When nothing is ready for harvesting, you starve if you don't buy. Then, when everything is ready, you have too much and have to give away 9/10 of what you grow. Best way to get home grown veggies is to encourage your friends and neighbours to do it. You just stay at home, watch TV, and enjoy the free stuff you get!
I was toying with fresh produces as a next alternative of buisness

I hope you know of our Pasir Panjang warehouse ...that's where every veggies from all over the world mainly from Malaysia lands before distribution

yes ,the farmers gets fucked either way...when I say farmers i am talking about horticulture not cash crop as that would be under agriculture which sinkie do not have

the horticulture problem is perpetual,,during good harvest because of bumper crop your price drops due to its perishability

there is a solution for it ..its called post harvest technology...it's a 4 year study in the U ...non of our region seems to offer this as a subject ,perhaps Thailand

i dwell into it as an interest ..are you familiar with post harvest technology ?

can make money or is it millennial kinda dreeam

Plenty of community gardens in HDB estates these days, our SBF hero LeeTahSar would be proud to be of service :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Vertical farming is one of the possible ways to do urban farming in Sinkiestan, roof tops are the best spots. Being in touch with nature, it is ageless lah, not some millenial fad.

i dwell into it as an interest ..are you familiar with post harvest technology ?

I thought the aqua-farming can be looked into- tilapias in the tank, a verticle farm structure above the tank, cycle the fish water into the plants like some hydroponics. Win-win! You have ikan, you have sayur.

there is a solution for it ..its called post harvest technology...it's a 4 year study in the U ...non of our region seems to offer this as a subject ,perhaps Thailand

I'm aware of it... isn't more philosophy of waste reduction rather than a single technology? I know that there is a growing movement in Europe and North America to reduce food waste, most of what I have read seems to require a change of consumer habit. For example, ugly heirloom tomatoes tastier than red perfect ones, but nobody buys them. "Baby carrots" are just big carrots that have been machined to small size, 60% thrown away etc.

But that is all that I know...

Plenty of community gardens in HDB estates these days, our SBF hero LeeTahSar would be proud to be of service :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Vertical farming is one of the possible ways to do urban farming in Sinkiestan, roof tops are the best spots. Being in touch with nature, it is ageless lah, not some millenial fad.
lots of a&p needed to pump into this new agri space to change mindset

just look at washing clothes detergent journey

from bar soap washing, to powder washing, then to liquid washing and now the latest is a small multitask concentrated capsule for a full load in washing machine, which is probably the most sustainable as it requires less packaging material, ingredients etc.

but still people hasn't switched.

mindset needs generations to change and lots of a&p on consumer education

an average consumer is price sensitive
he or she will fuck care about simi cock save the environment or altruistic propositions

I thought the aqua-farming can be looked into- tilapias in the tank, a verticle farm structure above the tank, cycle the fish water into the plants like some hydroponics. Win-win! You have ikan, you have sayur.
2 different cattle of fishes lah ,bro ...all that you refer are at basic level of farming ...but post harvest technology is a science of delivering perishable like veggie ,fishes and etc after months...meaning you hedge against swing of prices

I'm aware of it... isn't more philosophy of waste reduction rather than a single technology? I know that there is a growing movement in Europe and North America to reduce food waste, most of what I have read seems to require a change of consumer habit. For example, ugly heirloom tomatoes tastier than red perfect ones, but nobody buys them. "Baby carrots" are just big carrots that have been machined to small size, 60% thrown away etc.

But that is all that I know...
no lah ,post harvest technology is not that at all ..it's delivering almost as fresh after months ...e.g. the apple you eat ,which is good as freely plucked is at least 6 months old ...some of fishes you buy are kept in trawlers for a minimum of 3 months even 1 year before sold into the market

sinkie government itself started a project in Riau, some years back ...basically leafy veggies ...it too more than 24 hrs for delivery alone to sinkie market...I took a lot at it at the invitation of growers

K.N.N.

Me suggest give us cheekons too.
Then is the no need order eggs from Poland.

Also, when the MotherHen gets old,
me and you is the can make LauKwayBu tonic, right?

K.N.N.

Me also want to the suggest give us Sheep.
We is the can get cotton wool to make own clothing,
right @Valium ?

Piss and Poop is indirectly telling us there will be food shortage in the future....

can make money or is it millennial kinda dreeam?

on a serious note,the success of urban farming in singapore is not how.
its about convincing chaosinkies to pay a little bit more for each urban farming product.if they manage convince population to these "premiumization" purchase,they will be successful.it will take many years cos older gen needs to fuck off and die first before mindset changes for next gen.

but you see,after many decades,some people still like wet market,but more are getting use to supermarketing and online grocery delivery.

change will take time

if wanna invest in urban farming,need a lot a lot of government support and financial muscle to hold on and not give up half way.
consperm cannot make money. Only way is to ban all MY vege imports to create demand.

OR grow this

mockup-7949252b.jpg