• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Now can buy curry puff and otak at MRT station

laksa

Illegal hawkers ignore NEA warnings

http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin.../illegal-hawkers-ignore-nea-warnings-20130923

Sep 23, 2013

By Jalelah Abu Baker

Curry puffs, otah and roasted chestnuts sold near bus interchanges and MRT stations may look like tasty and convenient snacks - but they are being sold illegally.

Despite enforcement efforts by the National Environment Agency (NEA), illegal hawkers are continuing to ply their trade.

Last year, around 9,800 tickets were issued to more than 1,000 offenders. Eighty-one per cent of the tickets were given out to repeat offenders. From January to May this year, about 3,300 tickets were issued to 528 offenders.

Illegal hawkers told The Straits Times they did not know what else to do to make a living.

There is nothing wrong with selling food, in fact over here they have cafe on the platform itself. I don't see why this is wrong?

what is the definition of illegal hawker? how about old men and ladies who sell tissue papers? how about people who sell key chains, teddy bears etc who they claim that they are from charity societies?

Indeed, if PAP was so pro-business, what do you call these? Its entrepreneurial at its best! Even Sam would agree to allow them to earn a living.
what is the definition of illegal hawker? how about old men and ladies who sell tissue papers? how about people who sell key chains, teddy bears etc who they claim that they are from charity societies?

There is nothing wrong with selling food, in fact over here they have cafe on the platform itself. I don't see why this is wrong?

..What is wrong is that they do not pay to the overlord...PAP in terms if licensing fees...

In a way, the govt is asking protection money..

Govt can do anything for a fee....

There is nothing wrong with paying the government for providing a social, physical infrastructure that allows you and the country to grow. That is in essence why we pay taxes, CPF. How much, how ofthen they charge is another matter. If you don't like what the government is doing, either change them or move to another one that you can live with.

..What is wrong is that they do not pay to the overlord...PAP in terms if licensing fees...

In a way, the govt is asking protection money..

Govt can do anything for a fee....

What makes you think that these people will not occasionally be stopped and asked to show whether they have authorization to sell stuff?
It is similar to the situation in many countries.

You forgot this is Singapore. You need a license/permit to do every little fuck shit: gather for protest, bring in pets from Malaysia, busk, run a news site, release sky lanterns etc.

As long as Government cannot TAX you; anything you do is consider illegal.

..I am sick with this govt..

My real life experience...at Bedok MRT exit....some 4 years back..

What happened was that I saw NEA officers issuing tickets to this young vendor selling trinklets, bangles and beads item.

I asked that he be given another chance as he is trying to make a living..
The NEA officer replied that he has no license to peddle his ware and the main reason is that it causes commuters the inconvenience as he is blocking the
passage way and that the human traffic is particular heavy at this exit.

Ok..his point taken note..

Then 6 moths later, they allow a kiosk ( Buzz) to be set up in front of this exit, taking more space and causing more human jam.

Now can someone take this up with NEA..why..pay money and it is ok..is it..???

I hate this govt for being so money orientated like paying themselves higher and higher salaries and bullying the poor and the meek.

I know from then on..never trust their policies and they can be more slimy than the snake lurking in the grass..

Illegal hawkers told The Straits Times they did not know what else to do to make a living.

reminds me of the good old days when the street hawkers went scrambling for cover when someone shouts out "Teh Gu Lai Liao!"

As long as Government cannot TAX you; anything you do is consider illegal.

Money-grubbing is one thing, another thing is control. Controlling and micromanaging every aspect of our lives.

Two good examples are applying for a permit to have an assembly or protest, and NS slaves applying for an exit permit whenever they leave the country.

These things control what you do. Other things control what and how you think.

pls support these trade and fuck care the PAP govt..

I know from then on..never trust their policies and they can be more slimy than the snake lurking in the grass..

food from illegal hawkers tastes somewhat better than hawker centre food... primarily due to the fact that they are produced in small quantities and extra care and effort is given during the preparation... missed the satay man in the 80s... :o

Illegal hawkers ignore NEA warnings

http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin.../illegal-hawkers-ignore-nea-warnings-20130923

Sep 23, 2013

By Jalelah Abu Baker

Curry puffs, otah and roasted chestnuts sold near bus interchanges and MRT stations may look like tasty and convenient snacks - but they are being sold illegally.

Despite enforcement efforts by the National Environment Agency (NEA), illegal hawkers are continuing to ply their trade.

Last year, around 9,800 tickets were issued to more than 1,000 offenders. Eighty-one per cent of the tickets were given out to repeat offenders. From January to May this year, about 3,300 tickets were issued to 528 offenders.

Olden days when times are tough, our parents can do that.
If the offenders are allow to do that, the shop at the MRT can close. They have to pay very high rental and salary to their staff working.

It is all about money.

If the offenders are allow to do that, the shop at the MRT can close. They have to pay very high rental and salary to their staff working.

Frankly, I don't mind if some of those franchises close. I'm sick of seeing Breadtalk or Ananas Cafe everywhere.

they are competing against the legal hawkers who pay rent to gangster no.1

rents will collapse if illegal hawkers were allowed to thrive. then what would all those poor landlords do? become hawkers themselves...? :D

..I am sick with this govt..

My real life experience...at Bedok MRT exit....some 4 years back..

What happened was that I saw NEA officers issuing tickets to this young vendor selling trinklets, bangles and beads item.

I asked that he be given another chance as he is trying to make a living..
The NEA officer replied that he has no license to peddle his ware and the main reason is that it causes commuters the inconvenience as he is blocking the
passage way and that the human traffic is particular heavy at this exit.

Ok..his point taken note..

Then 6 moths later, they allow a kiosk ( Buzz) to be set up in front of this exit, taking more space and causing more human jam.

Now can someone take this up with NEA..why..pay money and it is ok..is it..???

I hate this govt for being so money orientated like paying themselves higher and higher salaries and bullying the poor and the meek.

Funny thing!! this gahmen acts like big time Gangsters, hawking near bus stop and MRT is ilLeegal
no licence? no licence means you did not pay "Protection Money to Gahmen its ilLeegal"
tomorrow they set a small booth collect $15k rental its Leegal!!!

So now who is the Biggest gangsters of them all our dear PAP gahmen!! NEA !!

You go and look at our neighbours, the m&d can set a stall and next day starts to sell economic
curry rice, their gahmen don't tear down the place, they just live and lets live! they have the heart
and compassion for the people! Malaysia Boleh!!

Now I see this little corner become a little Kampong selling all kind of food and provisions!

they are competing against the legal hawkers who pay rent to gangster no.1

rents will collapse if illegal hawkers were allowed to thrive. then what would all those poor landlords do? become hawkers themselves...? :D

That is true, but they won't publicly admit it.

Instead, they will come up with some lame excuse about 'safeguarding the health and well-being of Singaporeans' etc. :rolleyes:

I once bought the cheap otak from the illegal hawkers below hdb block, only 5 for $1. Ended up in A&E for food poisoning with a cool $250 medical bill. Later I learn from my Mat friend that this otak were made from longkang fish they caught in the drain.