• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No. of New Shityzens to Form 1/3 of Voters in 2016

[h=2]New citizens should not vote at the next GE?[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
September 3rd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Racial-integration-is-a-long-long-process...-300x255.jpg

S Dhanabalan: 'Racial integration is a long, long
process. It is not a matter of decades. Now the issue is further complicated by
the new immigrants.'

I read that “Singaporeans are encouraged to help new citizens integrate and
adjust to their new home. New Singaporeans should take the initiative to involve
themselves in community events and activities. They can play a part by
volunteering with grassroots and civil society organisations.

About 3,600 other new citizens would also be affirming their commitment to
Singapore at ceremonies across the island this weekend”.

Should Singaporeans be glad that the population is growing towards 6.9
million by 2030?

I am not.

I am reminded of the angst to live with 6.9 million people with inadequate
infrastructure when I went to the zoo today. Endless bus loads of tourists
arrived from Malaysia taking break from National Day. At the same time,
Singapore Power Family Day was hosted at the zoo too. Parking lots were taken
up, cars had to park outside the zoo. If cars could float, you will see them in
the reservoirs. Eateries were packed. At 3pm, my 5 year old daughter queuing
with me at the Benand Jerry display mild rage when she thought two men cut into
our queue.
I had to reassure her that the men did not cut queue, and we will get
our ice cream. The taxi queue for departing visitors was horrendous. The number
of visitors probably exceeded the number of trees in the zoo today. It was a
most unpleasant experience. I would not visit again if I was one of those
tourists spending time waiting and waiting for everything. The zoo could have
done better in limiting the maximum number of visitors. I have no doubt the
revenue hit a maximum today.
But I am also convinced that customer satisfaction
hit a minimum. More than 90 percent of the visitors will not visit again in the
near term.

Looking at what happened at the zoo today, I am convinced that making plans
based on future demand and supply of people is a very difficult task. There are
too many variables involved. Even the zoo can’t get it right managing tens of
thousands of people. I can’t imagine planning for 6.9 million people.

What happen if the government fails to plan correctly in anticipation for 6.9
million people? If the population overshoots, we will face ever growing
congestion. If the population dipped way below, there will be excess capacity
and severe price corrections. Are Singaporeans ready for these scenarios? The
scary thing is that I should still be alive coming 2030.

As the motion has been passed, I wonder if it helps to comment any further on

Coming back to the new citizens, critics have suggested that this is a ploy
by the government to negate the votes toward opposition parties in the coming

GE, assuming new citizens will vote for the government.

Is this worry legitimate? Assuming 3,600 x 12 months x 5 years, the number of
new citizens taken in will be about 216,000. If it involves subsequent
conversion of spouses who are PR, then that number can reach above 400,000. If
there are children who will turn 21, the number can reach 600,000. If in laws
and parents could be added on, the number of new citizens could hit 1 million
by 2016.

Against the current vote base of over 2 million, it would look like the
number of new citizens could account for 1/3 of the vote base. Critics seems
legitimate to claim that government may be motivated to bring in new citizens on
many grounds, including introducing more voters. Although one cannot say for
sure who the new citizens will vote for.

But the government is in a good position to dispel such claims. It could
borrow the concept from HDB where new PRs are not allowed to buy resale HDB
within 3 years. Similarly, the election department can rule that new citizens
since the last GE will not be eligible to vote in the next GE.

With that, I think much of the suspicion towards the underlying intent of the
population ramp up will be instantly erased. It will certainly help build trust
with the people, something that seems eroding.

Will the government consider my
suggestion?

Chin
Wei

* The author blogs at https://blogbuster88.wordpress.com.

In a similar vein, this explains why newly ORD NSmen were not allowed to vote in the GE? The FAP Traitors will do all they can to perpetuate their rule.

old vampire@87Sinkapore:
September
3, 2013 at 3:43 pm
old
vampire@87Sinkapore(Quote)

Wait long long for the govt to consider your suggestion. Everyone of us knows
why the govt is giving out new citizenships like giving out toilet rolls. They
already knew they are losing support, worrying 2016 they may become the
opposition. So to ramp up support this is what they are doing and thus making
Singapore into a ROJAK country. What do you think dafts?

Wake up b4 further damage is done to us Singaporeans. Do you want to become
the minority? Do you want to work till you drop dead? Do you want to continue to
PAY N PAY? Do you want your job to be replaced by foreigner? Do you still
harbour the passion to own a car? Do you want your children to buy a 5 rm HDB
flat for $500K? You dafts decide.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+35 (from 35 votes)

863915ffa1345106fa1753ff29f64551
<cite class="fn">Seow Leow:</cite>

September
3, 2013 at 3:52 pm
Seow
Leow(Quote)

Pro Alien Party knows they are losing support from the true blue Singaporeans
who have now seen through their Emperor’s Naked Clothes and Animal Farm Wayang
over and over again. Whatever they tried, including having “CON-the-NATION” dog
and pony shows are not working.

So they need to get more immigrants (ala my grandfather story – come here and
set up shop and roots) like his father’s time. Unfortunately, for everyone that
comes and converts to Singapore citizenship, he brings his whole family of 5 or
10 or even the whole village or clan. This is like one person paying for
buffet and the whole clan come and eat.

Pro Alien Party is either so stupid or so desperate that they allow this to
happen. For every one citizen that votes opposition, they need 2 to replace….so
this is the start of the mass importation of foreign “votes” which they
arbitrarily call talent.

How long more do we want them to continue to play this game? After these
converts become citizens, they are discarded/disillusioned, join opposition camp
and then Pro Alien Party have to bring in more new immigrants…do you see the
pattern?

I for one, have enough of these Morons-In-White messing up our lives by
trying to cling on to Power and enriching themselves with high salaries and who
knows what else? Dare anyone state that cronyism and nepotism does not exisit
one bit in squeaky clean Singapore?

We must put a stop to this in GE2016 by denying them the majority. Those in
favour, please Kee Chiu !!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

good to note, not all of the new citizens gonna vote for the MIW :D:D:D

Is this worry legitimate? Assuming 3,600 x 12 months x 5 years, the number of
new citizens taken in will be about 216,000. If it involves subsequent
conversion of spouses who are PR, then that number can reach above 400,000. If
there are children who will turn 21, the number can reach 600,000. If in laws
and parents could be added on, the number of new citizens could hit 1 million
by 2016.

And IF all those new citizens will vote for the PAP.

Nothing but IF's. Fearmongering at it's best. Go get some solid numbers before crying foul. Biased guesstimations will only fire back at the writer.

Most of new citizens are here as PR for a number of years. By voting for pap, they know that it can only mean more competition for limited resources like transport, housing and education.

Would the new citizens who took up citizenship so that their kids can get into pri sch want to vote pap? New citizens are not the same as older sinkies who vote pap all the way. They are definitely better educated and can see the big picture.

By voting for pap, they know that it can only mean more competition for limited resources like transport, housing and education.

Punggol East is merely a prelude :):):)

Dhanabalan should write a book and talk about being slapped by Pinky.

The new target is 8 million, with at least half of them will be foreigners. This was spilled inadvertently by the PAP Press.

There are also lots of instant naturalized citizens ...they don't need to become PR. Many of the naturalized sinkees in A*Star are of this type.

And IF all those new citizens will vote for the PAP.

Nothing but IF's. Fearmongering at it's best. Go get some solid numbers before crying foul. Biased guesstimations will only fire back at the writer.

Alamak ...you keep bludgeoning the same point. How many times must we tell you that we have NO access to the Dept of Statistics. And there is NO freedom of information law here.

So, please ask for things that are available, okay? If you boh su kar, then tiam tiam lah. Just don't act bodoh lah. Lu ku chui, hor nam pak.

well almost all will, i guess it just ain't common practice to bite the hand thats feed you, or the one that gives you a pink ic.

These days it's worth nothing being a Singaporean, the government have sold us out cheaply by prostituting our pink ics to every Zhang, Vijay and Rosemary.

well almost all will, i guess it just ain't common practice to bite the hand thats feed you, or the one that gives you a pink ic.

then you don't know the PRCs :D:D:D

Alamak ...you keep bludgeoning the same point. How many times must we tell you that we have NO access to the Dept of Statistics. And there is NO freedom of information law here.

So, please ask for things that are available, okay? If you boh su kar, then tiam tiam lah. Just don't act bodoh lah. Lu ku chui, hor nam pak.

What do you mean? http://www.singstat.gov.sg/

People with a biased agenda are just not interested to work with whats available as it does not support their BS.

What do you mean? http://www.singstat.gov.sg/

People with a biased agenda are just not interested to work with whats available as it does not support their BS.

Then produce those stats to prove the OP wrong? Just because there is a website, it does not mean the data is there. Also, are you aware that the local data is as good as those released by the PRC government?

I see. First there is no official data and if some turns up it's all hogwash. And if they turn out correct they are probably lucky guesses right ? :D:rolleyes: