• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NMP Tan Su Shan resigned from PAP before her nomination. KNN

by Tan Weizhen and Sumita Sreedharan, TODAY

There were mixed reactions to the selection of DBS managing director Tan Su Shan as one of the nine new Nominated Members of Parliament. The reason: Ms Tan, who is also the bank's head of wealth management, has been a member of the People's Action Party (PAP) for the past two years.

Responding to Today's queries, she confirmed that she resigned from the ruling party before her nomination as an NMP was put up by the business and industry group.

She told Today: "It was a black-and-white situation to me." On whether her views would be independent, she reiterated that an NMP "has to be even more non-partisan now with more diversity in Parliament, as we do not want long-term policies to be made based on reactions to the past elections".

Ms Tan said: "Our role is to look beyond the short term and what is best for Singapore and, as we are not looking for re-election, we are the best people to do it."

She said she is interested in issues such as manpower. She added: "And because of my economic background, I can contribute on debates on economic policy. As a working woman, issues pertaining to working mothers, family and work life are also my concern. On a philanthropic front, I want to help children, especially sick ones."

However, former NMP Siew Kum Hong felt that "to get someone who has resigned from the party does not make sense". Said Mr Siew: "The selection committee should not take people who have resigned from a party just to be nominated to Parliament." Another former NMP, Mr Zulkifli Baharudin, felt that in general, "the institution of the NMP is to reflect non-partisan views in both letter and spirit of the institution so they should prove to be non-partisan".

The selection committee chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, includes ministers, PAP backbenchers and Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang. In 2009, public outcry led media entrepreneur Calvin Cheng to quit the Young PAP after he was appointed as an NMP. Sumita Sreedharan

Oei Hong Leong lost $1 billion when TXX was heading City.,,worse Citi had to pay him back

Once again, SINgaporeans are made a bloody fool again, even DBS supposedly to be a commercial entity are staffed with PAP members. she resigned just to be a NMP, makes a mockery of this NMP thing, we all know, it is another charade. All their own people.

the whole idea of NMP is a joke from beginning, so whats a joke on top of another joke?

Nothing wrong.
PAP already been telling you for years that their own backbenchers can offer alternate views....60.1% can believe that why not believe an ex PAP NMP can also do that?

Once again, SINgaporeans are made a bloody fool again, even DBS supposedly to be a commercial entity are staffed with PAP members. she resigned just to be a NMP, makes a mockery of this NMP thing, we all know, it is another charade. All their own people.

1. no eye see!
2. sheep of the same color and fur, blah together with the same tune.
3. all-in-one-familee.
4. selected, nominated, or anything! what a load of crap!
5. stop wasting free monies on such specimen.

Let NMP nominees have to resign for a year at least, before appointment.

Resigning because of the NMP appointment means that if you did not become NMP, you would not have resigned, which in other words you are PAP at heart.

1. 藕断丝连 (Ou Duan Si Lian)
2. Really treating sinkies like children and idiots:(...........again......and again.....:o

The reason: Ms Tan, who is also the bank's head of wealth management, has been a member of the People's Action Party (PAP) for the past two years.

Responding to Today's queries, she confirmed that she resigned from the ruling party before her nomination as an NMP was put up by the business and industry group.

Once a PAP Scumbag, Always A PAP Scumbag..

Maybe slated for recent GE but did not enter in the end for whatever reasons?... so, this come in back-door way?... Pengzzz!

I was told by a DBS staffer that she has political ambitions.. that's why she moved from investment bank to DBS so as to improve her chances of being selected.

Apparently, the PAP selectors were wary of some rumours surrounding her...

I was told by a DBS staffer that she has political ambitions.. that's why she moved from investment bank to DBS so as to improve her chances of being selected.

Apparently, the PAP selectors were wary of some rumours surrounding her...

So... the NMP post is a consolation prize for losers who don't make the cut for PAP. If rumours surrounding FMH are true, then those surrounding TSS must be worse...
the sexy quotient just went up a notch....NPNT

married to an ang moh with 2 kids?
are those fake brown contact lenses?

PAP's backdoor MP like Calvin Cheng in the previous round. The select committee to select NMP mostly PAP MP with the exception of WP's Low. So PAP had the cheek to take the chance to slot in one PAP NMP