• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nicole Seah Funding Donation Issue

Dear GMS,

This is a much better reply and I hope you can post this reply on NSP facebook as well as Nicole Seah's FB.

Just because it's legal doesn't make it right. They're a party that need more time to wise up and get their act together. Hopefully in five years time they will have a Party bank account.. Phanar Phanar. This was political suicide.

I still like Nicole Seah. I am still an ardent supporter of hers politically. The points I've made were that it was a very stupid move considering the climate of distrust when it comes to money issues in Singapore politics.

Don't even bring up Jeanette Aruldoss doing the same thing! She is rich. She could sign a check of $30,000 without blinking an eye. Why the need to ask for political donations to cover her run for Mountbatten is for her to answer alone. Just don't put it to contra Nicole's faux pas. Was she savvy enough to see the implications and the consequences of that? Her son is now active in TOC. She is Chinese with a husband of mixed Chines and Indian blood and who is one hell of a singer, he provides the entertainment in oppo political functions. They may turn out to be a political family to watch if she inclines to continue in the journey.

I have always look at NSP with a sceptical eye, the motley crew of Da Lu Bar customers like uncles that constitutes their representative in walkabouts. NSP without Nicole Seah in the last GE would had just garnered the usual 30% oppo votes.

Goh Meng Seng is certainly no high level political material. No looks, no charisma. But a bumbling king.

One thing I am certain. If Nicole decides that politics is in her blood, then getting out of NSP should be her next step!

And the TS who had started this must had been grinning like an mischievous Indian cat. That are many ways to skin the likes of him.

Official statement link http://nsp.sg/2011/05/23/nsp-statement-on-donations/
NSP Statement on Donations

By nsp • May 23, 2011 • statements • Leave a comment

NATIONAL SOLIDARITY PARTY STATEMENT DATED 23 May 2011

We refer to Nicole Seah’s recent online appeal for donations to a bank account set up in her personal name.

The appeals for donations are made by the Candidates to defray the actual campaign costs that the Party will not pay for. The Candidates have to pay for these themselves. The Parlimentary Elections Act requires each Candidate and his Election Agent to submit a return and declaration of his election expenses. By law, the Candidate must list all the expenses incurred for the election, and every donation accepted by the Election Agent or by the Candidate for the purpose of expenses incurred in respect of the election. This return and declaration must be submitted by each Candidate, not the Party, within 31 days of 9 May 2011. Given the urgency of preparing and submitting the returns before 9 June 2011, the Candidates consider it more practical to collect and account for donations at the Candidate level. Each Candidate making this appeal has set up a separate bank account to receive donations.

The public can be assured that the law requires Candidates to make full declarations of all campaign expenses incurred and all donations received, to the Returning Officer for public record and inspection.

Thanks Bro, you have crossed over to the dark side now. Kudos.
You guys are barking up the wrong tree. Let me offer you some help from the "other side".

It's not an issue of control over the NSP accounts. NS asked for cheques to be made in NSP's name and sent to her. That is because she can easily identify who donated to her campaign. However, for bank transfers and cash deposits, there is no way (or she's worried about confusion) about what the money was intended for. So she asked for the money to be deposited into her account which she would then deposit into NSP's account.

One of the things Nicole should do to win the trust of the donors is to:

- Published and constantly update how much money has been received
- What amount of money has been allocated to the Marine Parade campaign
- What amount of money is left over and how is it spent

By doing this, Nicole Seah is being accountable to funds that has been entrusted to her, being accountable is something she preaches a great deal in her talk of the PAP.

Let's hope she don't use any excess funds to buy some of her own Kate Spade since she did not make that MP's allowance of $15,000 a month

Please lor, you know how many young princelings have been intrigued by her? She no need to buy her own Kate spade bag ler. If willing to be pao, confirm easily $15k a month.

I believe that those who have donated to Nicole or any other opposition members would have full confidence and trust in them to utilize the funds solely for the GE only.

However, I think it is totally inappropriate for the members of public to insinuate corrupt practices, intent or misconduct with regards to this issue

Thank you for your clarifications.

First, the people who donated to Nicole may trust her but NSP should have its own set of governance procedures to justify this trust.

I doubt the public insinuate corrupt practices, intent or misconduct. The public states that the possibility of corrupt practices, intent or misconduct is present once you accept donations into your personal account. It all depends on NSP to state the governance on how they manage this possibility.

Again, GMS, you did not clarify on this governance.

Please lor, you know how many young princelings have been intrigued by her? She no need to buy her own Kate spade bag ler. If willing to be pao, confirm easily $15k a month.

She looks like a fucking big pork bun anyway

Her mum is more chio than her

PAP will be waiting for any opportunity to sink Nicole Seah. And only Nicole Seah. The other NSP shitbirds will not cause them to lose any sleep.

Any credible individuals who wants to step to the fore will be stupid or crazy to hop aboard the NSP bus.

PAP will be waiting for any opportunity to sink Nicole Seah. And only Nicole Seah. The other NSP shitbirds will not cause them to lose any sleep.

Any credible individuals who wants to step to the fore will be stupid or crazy to hop aboard the NSP bus.

Very true

Anyway, did you notice that GMS looks like a deformed and uglier version of Goh Chok Tong?

Eh, pardon my ignorance but what's with the fuss over Nicole Seah? She's no more than a Sinkie social worker without the archetypal Sinkie butchering of the English language. So she's relatively eloquent and compassionate. And that makes her a politician? :rolleyes:

The young Sinkie Peasants are desperate you know

Hence, they look for any cheebye to represent them. Those who can talk cock but have achieved nothing is a good fit with the useless young sinkies.

GMS

For many years you have been pursuing this thing and yet you do not know what people are asking from your party.

It is Checks and Balances, dude. :D

You cannot say let MP team to collect monies, perform due diligence and give reports to contributors, all "on their own" simply because you trust them or that the money is meant for them. It will give people a general perception that the party does not have any C&B, which is the root of the disputes mentioned.

Decentralisation (of financing activities) does not mean full and absolute autonomy. This is what you should let people think.

GMS

For many years you have been pursuing this thing and yet you do not know what people are asking from your party.

It is Checks and Balances, dude. :D

You cannot say let MP team to collect monies, perform due diligence and give reports to contributors, all "on their own" simply because you trust them or that the money is meant for them. It will give people a general perception that the party does not have any C&B, which is the root of the disputes mentioned.

Decentralisation (of financing activities) does not mean full and absolute autonomy. This is what you should let people think.

GMS should go and FUCK SPIDERS.

He used NS to do hid bidding. That is the long and short of this exercise.

What is a fucking leader of a party for?

Now that he sees the that public is by and large are still supportive of NS's exercise; he comes out and issue a statement.

NS. PLEASE WAKE UP AND KNOW YOU ARE BEING USED. ANY GOOD POLITICIAN MUST KNOW THIS.

NS, PLEASE GO JOIN A BETTER PARTY. It is for you own political future; which is very bright. Do not let others drag you down.

So she's relatively eloquent and compassionate. And that makes her a politician? :rolleyes:

The answer to that is 'yes'. Eloquence and rhetoric are the present keys to the MP door.

Perhaps in the next election, voters will start to examine the political parties track record, the candidates motivations (eg a front for gay rights, creation of a personal kingdom, etc) and then vote accordingly. (For PAP and WP, it is PAP vs WP. For PAP and non-WP parties, it is PAP vs political candidates).

Right now, people vote for the oppositions because they are there and dissatisfaction of the PAP is great. So anyone who can talk will succeed because voters equate eloquence with an ability to do with two things: an ability to do and a desire to talk on your behalf to the PAP.

The incident on the funding shows that some political parties have no sense of governance. If they do not have party policies to protect those public who trusted their candidates, then what makes you think they can manage the town council funds and purchasing decisions by providing the correct governance policies.

Collecting political donations is apparently legal but that does not mean that there need not be procedures within each party to govern the collection. For example, instead of Nicole Seah's POSB account, will it be better if the funds go to GMS's bank account. How about a joint Nicole Seah and GMS account since that will provide better governance? Finally why not an NSP account specially set up for political donations? Why is that so difficult to do?

NSP does not have a treasurer?

A 24 year old can appear mature and responsible in 2 weeks but in the long run, she is still a 24 year old and will make mistakes like this.
Legally maybe ok but politically cmi.
Give her time.

lianbeng says nicole lost her campaigning so badly now resort to extort money from her supporters - payback time for her residents. donation is a nicer word than extortion. no wonder tin pei lin laughing at her stupidity. :D