[TD="class: msgFname"] maimeechai <nobr></nobr>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, width: 30%, align: right"]Aug-21 4:53 am
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, width: 1%, align: right"]To:
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <nobr></nobr>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"] (1 of 1)
[/TD]

</tbody>
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"]72963.1
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgtxt"]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
New citizen from India advocates foreign talent influx

Hi Gilbert,
My name is Saravana, a Singaporean from 1997 and before that Indian. Well, I have being reading regularly your page.
There are many outcries/comments and some are exaggerated . There is however no doubt that the influx of FT has affected the livelihood of Singaporeans.
In fact , I am affected too. I am willing to help you / volunteer on anything that might be of help. But, I have always asked a question myself. Why this is happening? I am not advocating for any political party or organization or government by saying this.
The success of Singapore is well recognized worldwide. But from the year 2000 we started to hear frequent complaints about the FT issue.
In the 1980s, many Thai/Bangla/Indian workers and Philippino/Srilnankan/Indian maids were hired.
But there was no complaint well they did not take up the Singaporean-preferred jobs so life went well.
With the globalization, many MNCs expanded and Singapore was chosen by them due to many obvious reasons.
When they invested, they needed people to run their businesses. When I migrated to Singapore in 1993, there were fewer MNCs and the Singaporean PMETs were running the show.
But later, the FTs were imported into Singapore especially in the IT sector but at what cost?
Please notice at this point that there is still no threat for the Singaporean PMETs BUT new PMETs were coming all over from PRC, India, Philippines etc until the gates were too wide open.
The government decided to do this ONLY to keep up the pace of growth ultimately to prosper the economy and the Government’s coffers got fatter day by day as the output of these MNCs bring money by tax/employment etc.
On the other hand, imagine if the government had decided not to import foreign talents, the MNCs would have shunned Singapore and move to away to Malaysia or HK .
The purchasing power of the people would have gone down. We would also have lost to other countries.
It is like a Singaporean family running a small restaurant business.
To make more money, if they hire a foreign chef and pay more than the family employees, still as a business, they win. As an individual the Chef wins.
Thus win-win.
Now, where will the revenue money and profit go to?
Again to the family members right? This is what’s happening now. We as a Nation Singapore is growing richer because of these FTs.
The money is used to provide for all sorts of facilities/infrastructure etc like the family business renovates the restaurant, but the family employees may not earn more.
In the family business example, the family members accept that because the money is in their account and they can spend any time they want.
But here, the money is with the government and responsible people decide the spending. Also notice that, the government has a choice not to expand the economy, keep ONLY Singaporean PMETS job market and make sure there is no need of FT PMETS.
But the economy will shrink and we Singaporeans might not want that also…
But, what IF such growth affects the basic livelihood of Singaporeans?
The Government is responding by providing subsidies etc (old age employer subsidies), tightening up more policies, etc.
I am sure we will succeed soon. People like you can give more ideas to avoid these situations through forums . May be control in HDB flats buying by PRs, etc.,
The goal is , in the economic process, the average Singaporean’s fundamental needs should not be deprived of… mail me if you need any interview or input.
Regards
Rama
- See more at:http://www.transitioning.org/2013/0...s-foreign-talent-influx/#sthash.XfTBC3Gm.dpuf

He sounds logical, rational and intelligent.

He reinforces what I have been saying all along... that if it were not for foreigners, Singapore would be going downhill.

He sounds logical, rational and intelligent.

He reinforces what I have been saying all along... that if it were not for foreigners, Singapore would be going downhill.

You are taking the provincial opinion of a neh with a vested interest in mantaining the status quo to reinforce your theory, which I must add is repeated time and again by our political leadership like it is gospel truth. Yet on the other hand, we have eminent economists and sociologists, both local and overseas who have dispelled the so called benefits of such a policy, along with a sizable proportion the Singaporean population, people who are on the ground and live firsthand with the day to day repercussions of such policies, which are implemented by the SG government.

Every policy will have repercussions. The problem with Singaporeans is that they are experiencing the repercussions of the FT policy but most do not have the brains to understand that their lives would be FAR WORSE if it were not for the millions of foreigners that are helping to keep Singapore humming along.

In order to understand the profound wisdom of the PAP, you need to be in the top 10% IQ bracket. Anyone with an IQ of 120 or lower will probably struggle. Heartlanders who form the lower strata of society will never be able to handle the complexity of modern day economics.

By "foreigners," you refer to the leadership of the PAP?

The PAP leadership are all top notch locals... very high IQ.. scholars and other high achievers.

"Please notice at this point that there is still no threat for the Singaporean PMETs BUT new PMETs were coming all over from PRC, India, Philippines etc until the gates were too wide open.
The government decided to do this ONLY to keep up the pace of growth ultimately to prosper the economy and the Government’s coffers got fatter day by day as the output of these MNCs bring money by tax/employment etc."

yes, and they use the fat coffers to build world class tourist amenities but quibble over $10s for welfare payouts.

"On the other hand, imagine if the government had decided not to import foreign talents, the MNCs would have shunned Singapore and move to away to Malaysia or HK ."

no, only the inefficient exploitative sweat shop MNCs would have avoided us. we would have attracted higher quality MNCs had the government decided to help instead of repress the PMETs.

Every policy will have repercussions. The problem with Singaporeans is that they are experiencing the repercussions of the FT policy but most do not have the brains to understand that their lives would be FAR WORSE if it were not for the millions of foreigners that are helping to keep Singapore humming along.

we have no problems with the work permit holders - who build our roads and homes.

its the PMETs who are on S and E pass that are the problem.

we can see through your lies.

we have no problems with the work permit holders - who build our roads and homes.

go to the streets to protest against it, if not, your country will be gone.. posting in the forum do nothing much.

It is the PMETS that are essential to the growth of the Singapore economy. Singapore PMETs are sub standard. They are too lazy. They need spurs stuck in their hides in order to get going. FT PMETs have far more initiative and are willing to make sacrifices.

I speak from experience as I have hired both.

It is the PMETS that are essential to the growth of the Singapore economy. Singapore PMETs are sub standard. They are too lazy. They need spurs stuck in their hides in order to get going. FT PMETs have far more initiative and are willing to make sacrifices.

I speak from experience as I have hired both.

No Sam, they are just underpaid. i know a group of PMETs who have quit and become competitors to their ex-companies. before quitting, most were earning a comfortable 4k-6k, +1k/2k per month in sidelines.

now, they average 15-20k per month each, but its mighty hard work. odd hours, midnight calls, weekends burnt. but hey, at least they are working for themselves and earning good money, rather than slaving for their bosses.

the point is, the companies are losing their GOOD PMETs. the ones who stay for the "shit" pay of 4-6k, well i'm sure you can figure out they are the crap ones who cannot make it.

its just dollars and cents. asian bosses are greedy bastards who try to squeeze maximum profits from their employees without sharing the love.

another quick story: bunch of PMETs, 15-20 years with company. company gets listed on the exchange, boss cashes out, nothing for the PMETs. the PMETs left and started their own biz and are doing very well. the company never managed to rebuild that portion of the business.

What type of MNCs did the PAP attract? All Indians MNCs and they bring their own workers in, this is not creating jobs for the locals.

It is shifting lamp posts from India to Singapore bring their fathers, mother uncles and aunties and into Singapore. If USA, NZ and Australia did the same as Singapore you soon find it is IUSA, INZ and IAus. You know what that 'I" mean?

Will they offer to do NSF for 2 years? To protect their own assets and business?

In order to understand the profound wisdom of the PAP, you need to be in the top 10% IQ bracket. Anyone with an IQ of 120 or lower will probably struggle. Heartlanders who form the lower strata of society will never be able to handle the complexity of modern day economics.

go to the streets to protest against it, if not, your country will be gone.. posting in the forum do nothing much.

protest can change government meh? not unless there are leaders to lead the protestors. we have none.

no street protest ever occurs without political agitation from an opposing power. we do not have this opposing power. so its an exercise in futility.

No Sam, they are just underpaid. i know a group of PMETs who have quit and become competitors to their ex-companies. before quitting, most were earning a comfortable 4k-6k, +1k/2k per month in sidelines.

now, they average 15-20k per month each, but its mighty hard work. odd hours, midnight calls, weekends burnt. but hey, at least they are working for themselves and earning good money, rather than slaving for their bosses.

the point is, the companies are losing their GOOD PMETs. the ones who stay for the "shit" pay of 4-6k, well i'm sure you can figure out they are the crap ones who cannot make it.

its just dollars and cents. asian bosses are greedy bastards who try to squeeze maximum profits from their employees without sharing the love.

another quick story: bunch of PMETs, 15-20 years with company. company gets listed on the exchange, boss cashes out, nothing for the PMETs. the PMETs left and started their own biz and are doing very well. the company never managed to rebuild that portion of the business.

So in short, how do you get the locals not to be selfish, greedy but are caring , compassionate and still remain patriotic to their country?

The PAP ain't doing a fantastic job, ain't it?

As a matter of fact what they are doing is a rather short term gain, a gain to enrich themselves and their kind, while the sun shines.

And what would you, local folks of common breed do about it?

protest can change government meh? not unless there are leaders to lead the protestors. we have none.

no street protest ever occurs without political agitation from an opposing power. we do not have this opposing power. so its an exercise in futility.

Do not entirely agree with you here.

It takes the ppl to realise the need to regain their rights, have strength to act upon it and do what their conscience think is the right thing to do.

In other words, the Sinkie need to find where they had misplaced their ..

BALLS!

And this is just for start!Muahahahaha

So in short, how do you get the locals not to be selfish, greedy but are caring , compassionate and still remain patriotic to their country? it?

you can't. greed is a function of our survival programming. it can only be tempered.

in an ordinary situation where there is no intervention between demand and supply, bosses would be forced to raise salaries as the supply of workers diminish (they quit to start own biz, they move on to better paying jobs, etc.)

the government screwed things up when they went overboard in opening the floodgates to S and E pass workers, on the lobbying no doubt of locally connected companies. they heard a few complaints from bosses of choosy and lazy workers, sided with the companies and unleashed a torrent of tiongs, nehs and pinoys on us.

so bosses got an easy solution to increasingly demanding workers. the result is an exodus of capable PMETs, leaving behind the 2nd rate PMETs, giving the government an excuse to open the floodgates. Without the easy availability of imported PMETs, the bosses would have had to either raise wages or give stock options/shares in the company to the workers - thus sharing the love.

in short, greed has not been tempered but enhanced.

Do not entirely agree with you here.

It takes the ppl to realise the need to regain their rights, have strength to act upon it and do what their conscience think is the right thing to do.

In other words, the Sinkie need to find where they had misplaced their ..

BALLS!

i beg to disagree too. ethereal notions of human rights etc don't put food on the table. but a leader who can espouse human rights and keep stomachs full - that will draw out the masses.

we lack such a leader. so we're stuck with what we have today.

once in 5 years, we're all given a bullet to shoot. better not be a bo bo with the one round! :cool: