• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New GPS ERP, waste of $556 million by LTA, when it can be done for free now

So, let me get this straight. SOme scholar fucktard in the LTA, supported by Minister Lewd Fuck You at that time, wants to spend $556 million to put into place a GPS based ERP system. The main goal of which is to charge motorists for the mileage they drive on the roads.

The agency first issued a tender in October 2014 to build a new ERP system based on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) technology, which charges motorists according to distance travelled on congested roads and removes the need for physical gantries. Mr Lui Tuck Yew, then the Transport Minister, said this would be a more equitable pricing method.

But wait a minute. Don't we have to renew and pay road tax every 12 months or every 6 months? When we go to renew our road tax, couldn't the odometer reading be noted and verified by a staff? When we go the next time to renew our road tax, lets say 6 months later, the odometer can again be verified by staff during the renewal. If the difference between the first and latest odometer reading indicates 6000 km have been driven, why don't the car owner just pay the for the usage at the same time as he renews his road tax? If the pricing is 25 cents per km traveled, then the motorist pays $1500 along with what ever his road tax renewal is. This way, you don't need any fancy $556 million GPS ERP. Its low tech, cheap and works. And it uses existing procedures and staff already in place.

I mean if you pay your road tax at post offices or whatever, it might be hard to do. But if you pay at Vicom, it should not be a problem. If you take a picture of your odometer reading with your handphone, and show it to the staff when you do your road tax renewal, that should be good enough to verify mileage. Especially if the pic is also dated. There must be some ways to kill two birds with one stone.

Am I wrong or is this solution too cost effective and not enough kickback to the PAP?

You are barking up the wrong tree. They are not charging you for miles travelled; only miles travelled on some busy roads. You have wasted lots of words telling the wrong story.

When I heard about the coming "improvements" to the ERP system, I had to laugh because it means more money being wasted on a system that has become a PAP cash cow instead of a means to control car use:)

Sporeans really deserve this for re-electing the PAP into power.

Drive to Malaysia mileage not counted.

I think is more sinister than that.

After the global GPS system is in place, everyone has to wear a sensor on their head at all times. Over and above income tax, you be charge per km you walked on. Those who steal-eat outside will be tax even more. You be monitored at all times!

End of day, PAP government : money money money!

PAP have been spending public money like a drunken sailor to prop up the GDP from falling into a recession, from new MRT lines to Changi airport expansion to GNSS ERP etc. PAP will subsequently tax Sinkies more heavily to recover all the billions spent, and Sinkieland is going to be an even more expensive city to live.

With this GNSS ERP, motorists will lose all their privacy as they will be tracked at all times by the Govt, and they will be taxed more heavily on road usage and parking. As all cars are being tracked by GPS, it may also be much easier for the Govt to issue summons and fines to motorists for violations like illegal parking or driving on bus lane etc. Owning and driving a car in Sinkieland is going to be even more expensive than it already is.

But they also want to know where you have been realtime. They cannot wait 6 months for that.

So, let me get this straight. SOme scholar fucktard in the LTA, supported by Minister Lewd Fuck You at that time, wants to spend $556 million to put into place a GPS based ERP system. The main goal of which is to charge motorists for the mileage they drive on the roads.

The agency first issued a tender in October 2014 to build a new ERP system based on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) technology, which charges motorists according to distance travelled on congested roads and removes the need for physical gantries. Mr Lui Tuck Yew, then the Transport Minister, said this would be a more equitable pricing method.

But wait a minute. Don't we have to renew and pay road tax every 12 months or every 6 months? When we go to renew our road tax, couldn't the odometer reading be noted and verified by a staff? When we go the next time to renew our road tax, lets say 6 months later, the odometer can again be verified by staff during the renewal. If the difference between the first and latest odometer reading indicates 6000 km have been driven, why don't the car owner just pay the for the usage at the same time as he renews his road tax? If the pricing is 25 cents per km traveled, then the motorist pays $1500 along with what ever his road tax renewal is. This way, you don't need any fancy $556 million GPS ERP. Its low tech, cheap and works. And it uses existing procedures and staff already in place.

I mean if you pay your road tax at post offices or whatever, it might be hard to do. But if you pay at Vicom, it should not be a problem. If you take a picture of your odometer reading with your handphone, and show it to the staff when you do your road tax renewal, that should be good enough to verify mileage. Especially if the pic is also dated. There must be some ways to kill two birds with one stone.

Am I wrong or is this solution too cost effective and not enough kickback to the PAP?

But they also want to know where you have been realtime. They cannot wait 6 months for that.

for the small geography and number of motorists in sg, they don't need such expensive customized software running in a purpose-built data center. navigation software that can track each vehicle and motorist with a gps-assisted device down to within 10m is now available via open source. add cloud source tech like waze which is used by google to navigation and tracking precision and they can pinpoint a motorist down to 3m. location based services are not new and they are mastered in the valley with startups writing code for multiple apps using open api's. cheaply done. and it's not like there are over 300 million motorists in sg. the database is small and the server farms should be able to handle the vast amount of data processing. $69m will do for a robust solution.

Lidat how to hire 30000 ah neh IT engineers?? Ah Soh oso no need............

Given the high cost of the system, I suspect that the governement intends to do more with the satellite than just using it to collect ERP.

for the small geography and number of motorists in sg, they don't need such expensive customized software running in a purpose-built data center. navigation software that can track each vehicle and motorist with a gps-assisted device down to within 10m is now available via open source. add cloud source tech like waze which is used by google to navigation and tracking precision and they can pinpoint a motorist down to 3m. location based services are not new and they are mastered in the valley with startups writing code for multiple apps using open api's. cheaply done. and it's not like there are over 300 million motorists in sg. the database is small and the server farms should be able to handle the vast amount of data processing. $69m will do for a robust solution.

Yah, you are right. Actually, in the US, LoJack has been around for a while. But its basically the same technology. In LoJack, if the car is stolen, the cops activate the signal to locate it. In this proposed GPS ERP, a LoJack type signal can be turned on all the time to track the vehicle. Why need $556 million?

that is the real reason. Cannot cheong in Geylang all the time now. PAP will know when and how long you were fucking pros there.

You are barking up the wrong tree. They are not charging you for miles travelled; only miles travelled on some busy roads. You have wasted lots of words telling the wrong story.

Don't be a cunt. The proposal for the GPS ERP is to charge motorist according to travel on congested roads. What is congested road? Almost all of Singapore is congested road. The fact is that the fucktard LTA considers CBT, and those areas surrounded by ERP gantry are congested areas. But I can tell you PIE, TPE, etc also have their fair share of congestion. If you want to reduce congestion overall in the country, not just CBD, then charge them for the km they drive. Definitely the motorist who drives 20,000km a year contributes more to traffic congestion then the motorist who drives 10,000km. why should they not pay more when they go to renew their road tax?

PAP have been spending public money like a drunken sailor to prop up the GDP from falling into a recession, from new MRT lines to Changi airport expansion to GNSS ERP etc. PAP will subsequently tax Sinkies more heavily to recover all the billions spent, and Sinkieland is going to be an even more expensive city to live.

With this GNSS ERP, motorists will lose all their privacy as they will be tracked at all times by the Govt, and they will be taxed more heavily on road usage and parking. As all cars are being tracked by GPS, it may also be much easier for the Govt to issue summons and fines to motorists for violations like illegal parking or driving on bus lane etc. Owning and driving a car in Sinkieland is going to be even more expensive than it already is.

I wonder how Malaysian cars will pay this.

Given the high cost of the system, I suspect that the governement intends to do more with the satellite than just using it to collect ERP.

what high cost? it's not like they are building and launching a brand new satellite system. signals from either gps (navstar) or glonass are free. receiver chipsets are so cheap these days they are in every new smartphones and vehicle tracking system. the only major cost is the custom software and data center which host the servers and network and service orchestration layers. what are in the network on roadways, parking lots and gantry gateways, etc.? just sensors and gps receivers/antennas. cheap cheap. instead of using these sensor and data collection points for positioning, timing and tracking of vehicles, it's best to track the motorists since everyone by now carries at least one mobile.

Yah, you are right. Actually, in the US, LoJack has been around for a while. But its basically the same technology. In LoJack, if the car is stolen, the cops activate the signal to locate it. In this proposed GPS ERP, a LoJack type signal can be turned on all the time to track the vehicle. Why need $556 million?

u.s. cars also have the on-star system, where the vehicle is communicating with a satellite system in case assistance is required. the system now can access the vehicle's computer and remotely open locked doors if needed.

Don't be a cunt. The proposal for the GPS ERP is to charge motorist according to travel on congested roads. What is congested road? Almost all of Singapore is congested road. The fact is that the fucktard LTA considers CBT, and those areas surrounded by ERP gantry are congested areas. But I can tell you PIE, TPE, etc also have their fair share of congestion. If you want to reduce congestion overall in the country, not just CBD, then charge them for the km they drive. Definitely the motorist who drives 20,000km a year contributes more to traffic congestion then the motorist who drives 10,000km. why should they not pay more when they go to renew their road tax?
hahaha,,,,truly an empty vessel with nothing between the ears....
ERP gantries are all over the island and the idiot still talking about CBD.....
the idiot cannot think beyong 2 and die die must cum in to embarrass himself......
congestion is not only location based....it is also time related (peak hours/off peak)......
and only a retard will conclude that a motorist who drove 20000km a year contributes more to traffic congestion than 1 who drives 10000km....

Originally Posted by Papsmearer
You are such a stupid cunt. Always saying people don't use their brains nowadays, but you are the ones with shit for brains. You think the taxi companies suka suka just decided to add a $10 surcharge to CEC for no reason? You ever ask yourself why they never have a $10 surcharge on any other months of the year to pick up fare at CEC but only for the Airshow? Have you read the article which says mostly premium taxis are the ones picking up passengers, or are you illiterate too?

Let me spell it out for you. They are charging the $10 surcharge because Experia Events is getting part or all of it. They are kicking it back to the show organizers. Non premium taxis are not going there to pick passengers up because they wouldn't kick it back. Of course, when you get your head out of the lap of a bangla, you can call Experia to see how much money they get from each $10 surcharge.

By the way, Experia is another GLC, so in keeping with all PAP GLCs, their mandate is to suck money from peasants as much as possible. Its similar to you sucking bangla lancheow as much as possible. The Chairman of Experia EVents is Tan Pheng Hock, CEO of St Engineering. Its current CEO is Leck Chet Lam, a former SAF scholar with RSAF, EDB, and then went to SIA. All part of PAP elites. Sinkies should be used to getting screwed this way by now. Get It Dumbfuck

hahaha,,,,truly an empty vessel with nothing between the ears....
ERP gantries are all over the island and the idiot still talking about CBD.....
the idiot cannot think beyong 2 and die die must cum in to embarrass himself......
congestion is not only location based....it is also time related (peak hours/off peak)......
and only a retard will conclude that a motorist who drove 20000km a year contributes more to traffic congestion than 1 who drives 10000km....

hi kuku how are you?