• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Covid-19 wave is here: Ong Ye Kung. Singapore reports 11,504 new COVID-19 cases, highest daily number of infections in more than 3 months

SBFNews

www.channelnewsasia.com
Singapore

Singapore reports 11,504 new COVID-19 cases, highest daily number of infections in more than 3 months​

Singapore reports 11,504 new COVID-19 cases, highest daily number of infections in more than 3 months
People wearing masks in the central business district in Singapore on Mar 25, 2022. (Photo: CNA/Gaya Chandramohan)

28 Jun 2022 09:27PM (Updated: 28 Jun 2022 10:59PM)

SINGAPORE: Singapore reported 11,504 new COVID-19 cases as of noon on Tuesday (Jun 28), comprising 10,732 local infections and 772 imported cases.
There was one fatality, taking the death toll from coronavirus complications to 1,410.

Cases tend to increase on Tuesdays, with Health Minister Ong Ye Kung previously referring to such a pattern, writing on Facebook in October 2021 that numbers would "always spike after the weekends".

The last time Singapore reported more daily infections than Tuesday was on Mar 22, when 13,166 COVID-19 new cases were reported.

A total of 437 patients are in hospital, according to the latest infection statistics on the Ministry of Health's (MOH) website on Tuesday night. Thirty-six patients require oxygen supplementation.

Nine patients are in the intensive care unit.

On Monday, MOH said about 45 per cent of COVID-19 cases in the community in the past week were those of the BA.4 and BA.5 subvariants, up from 30 per cent in the week before.

The BA.5 subvariant alone is estimated to have contributed to 40 per cent of all COVID-19 cases in the past week.

However, international and local data show that the two subvariants do not result in more severe outcomes as compared to the earlier Omicron strains, said MOH on Monday.

"Coupled with our population’s high vaccination coverage, the number of severe COVID-19 infections has remained manageable," said the Health Ministry.

Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong, who is also co-chair of the COVID-19 multi-ministry task force, said on Monday that there was no need to tighten COVID-19 safe management measures at this stage, but adjustments will be made "if need be".

He said cases are expected to continue rising in the coming weeks, although the hospital situation remained stable.

Earlier this month, Mr Ong said that Singapore could expect a new Omicron wave to emerge in July or August, as COVID-19 antibodies start to wane.

Among the local cases reported on Tuesday, 9,989 cases are tested using antigen rapid tests (ARTs) and have been assessed by doctors to have mild symptoms and are of low risk, said MOH.

The remaining 743 local COVID-19 cases were confirmed via polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests.

Of the imported cases, 748 were tested using ARTs and 24 using PCR tests.
The week-on-week infection ratio is 1.62. A number above 1 indicates that the number of new weekly COVID-19 cases is rising. The week-on-week infection ratio has been above 1 since Jun 14.

Singapore has recorded 1,425,171 COVID-19 cases since the start of the pandemic.

The Health Ministry will be conducting a third national distribution of 10 ART kits to each residential household from Jul 18 via post.

As of Monday, 96 per cent of Singapore's eligible population have completed their full vaccination regimen under the national vaccination programme.

About 78 per cent of the total population have received their vaccine booster shots.

People aged 50 and above who want to get their second booster shot can do so by walking into any vaccination centre offering mRNA vaccines. The mRNA vaccines used in Singapore are Pfizer-BioNTech's Comirnaty vaccine and Moderna's Spikevax vaccine.

The expert committee on COVID-19 vaccination has assessed that people aged 50 to 59 who wish to take their second booster may also do so about five months after their first booster shot.

“This is in view of data indicating that the risk of severe COVID-19 increases in the age group of 50 to 59 as well,” said MOH. "This is also around the age when chronic diseases start to set in."

There are currently 10 Joint Testing and Vaccination Centres, and eight vaccination centres. Last week, MOH said that mobile vaccination teams will be deployed to help seniors get boosted.

SBFNews

New Covid-19 wave is here: Ong Ye Kung

JUNE 28, 2022PUBLISHED AT 11:18 PM
ByTIMOTHY GOH

image_1325.jpg

SINGAPORE - The next wave of Covid-19 infections in Singapore has arrived sooner than expected, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said on Tuesday (June 28).

Speaking to Chinese newspaper Lianhe Zaobao after the 30th annual general meeting of the Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC), Mr Ong said many people had travelled overseas, including to Europe, during the June school holidays, and the recent increase in Covid-19 cases here could be related to that.

However, Mr Ong said he did not think this wave would be worse than the one in February this year that was caused by the BA.2 Omicron subvariant.

Cases in Europe and the United States are on the rise, with the new Omicron subvariants, BA.4 and BA.5, steadily gaining ground.

Speaking in Mandarin, he said: "I had earlier said that the next wave might take place around July or August, but it's now here a little earlier, at the end of June - possibly due to the June holidays."

Mr Ong was referring to remarks he made on June 2, where he also said that every healthcare setting must be prepared to handle a surge in the number of Covid-19 patients.

On Tuesday, Mr Ong said the Ministry of Health would continue to monitor the situation, and that it was important to ensure hospitals had enough support.
In that respect, the three new nursing homes that opened in April were very important, as hospitals could transfer elderly patients with only mild illness to these homes, thus relieving pressure on themselves.

Mr Ong also said that three doses of the Covid-19 vaccine are required to protect people from the new Omicron subvariants and called on seniors to have their booster shots as soon as possible.

MOH said on Monday that about 45 per cent of the Covid-19 cases here in the last week were caused by the subvariants, with BA.5 estimated to have contributed to 40 per cent of all cases in the past week.

This article was first published in The Straits Times. Permission required for reproduction.

If you stop testing, the number gets reduced to zero.

All Covid testing is fraudulent... by design. They artificially inflate the case numbers and scare you into taking the death jabs and giving up your freedoms.

realDonaldTrump

Such news are meant to encourage more vaccinations. Singapore is opening up to the world, and with NDP and F1 coming, we will not lockdown even if it is 20000 cases a day.

dredd

Vaccinations more than halved potential global Covid-19 death toll: Lancet study​

hzvax240622.jpg

More than three quarters of the deaths averted were due to the protection provided by vaccination against severe symptoms. ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG
joyceteo.png

Joyce Teo
Senior Health Correspondent

PUBLISHED

JUN 24, 2022, 6:30 AM SGT

SINGAPORE - Vaccinations more than halved the potential global death toll due to Covid-19, as an estimated 19.8 million deaths were averted in the first year after vaccines were introduced, according to a mathematical modelling study just published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases.
These reductions were concentrated in high-income countries that relied on their vaccination programmes to relax interventions and allow SARS CoV-2 transmission to increase as they moved into a new stage of the pandemic, the authors said.
The researchers from Imperial College London estimated that 31.4 million people would have died, if no one had been vaccinated in the first year of vaccination, beginning Dec 8, 2020.

"However, because of vaccination, we estimate that 19.8 million of these lives were saved," said the study's lead author, Dr Oliver Watson.
The estimates were based on excess deaths from 185 countries and territories. China was not included in the analysis owing to its large population and strict lockdown measures, which would have skewed the findings.
The excess deaths, which are deaths that occur over and beyond what is typically expected in a year without a pandemic, could have been caused directly or indirectly by the coronavirus.

Many lower-middle income countries were not able to meet vaccine targets in the first year after they were introduced, and as a result, lost hundreds of thousands of l
The study estimated that 156,900 additional deaths would have been averted if the vaccination target of 20 per cent set by global vaccine-sharing initiative Covax had been reached in that time frame, and a further 599,300 deaths would have been averted if the World Health Organisation's (WHO) 2021 Covid-19 vaccination target of 40 per cent of each country's population had been reached.
Dr Watson said in a release that "if the targets set out by the WHO had been achieved, we estimate that roughly one in five of the estimated lives lost due to Covid-19 in low-income countries could have been prevented".
More than three-quarters of the 19.8 million deaths averted were due to the protection directly provided by vaccination against severe symptoms.

The remaining 4.3 million averted deaths were estimated to have had indirect protection because the use of vaccines led to reduced transmission of the virus in the population and burden on healthcare systems, thereby improving access to medical care for those most in need.
The indirect protection extended to both vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals, said Dr Watson. First, populations with high vaccination coverage will have fewer transmission events, which reduces the likelihood of an individual encountering someone with an infection, he said.
Second, individuals who are vaccinated but still become infected are likely to be less infectious than if they did not have a vaccine. This reduces how likely they are to lead to onward infections, he added.
The latest study is the first to estimate the impact of Covid-19 vaccinations on a global scale and the first to assess the number of deaths averted both directly and indirectly.
"Such studies are absolutely necessary in health policy to determine the extent of preventable morbidity and mortality," said Professor Teo Yik Ying, dean of the Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health at the National University of Singapore.

Seniors turn up for booster shots as 5 new vaccination centres open
Moderna says its updated vaccine protects against Omicron BA.4 or BA.5

While these figures are at best an estimate, they nonetheless highlight the vital contributions of vaccines in saving lives.
"More importantly, it also demonstrates the collective benefit to the world if the challenge of inequality in vaccine access and delivery could have been successfully addressed," he said.
The true death toll of the pandemic is unclear, but excess deaths have far outstripped official fatalities. Estimates released by the WHO in May showed that the excess deaths in the first two years of the pandemic were nearly 15 million.
Singapore saw about 1,535 excess deaths in 2021, after accounting for the country's ageing population, and 52 per cent or 804 deaths were due to Covid-19, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said in May.

MORE ON THIS TOPIC
What is the link between Covid-19 and excess deaths in S'pore?
Where death rates rose the most during the Covid-19 pandemic

Deaths due to Covid-19 will continue to accrue, as there will be people who will succumb to the complications arising from an infection. This is regardless of whether immune levels are waning or not, said Prof Teo.
In a comment linked to the study, Professor Alison Galvani from the Yale University School of Public Health in the United States who was not involved in the research, said: "The inequitable distribution of vaccines has prolonged the pandemic, and exacerbated the probability and frequency of the emergence of variants of concern. Additionally, many of these novel variants evade host immunity, thereby eroding vaccine efficacy, as well as increasing transmissibility."
The "provision of vaccine doses from high-income to lower-income countries is therefore not only moral but also pragmatic", she said.

Vaccinations more than halved potential global Covid-19 death toll: Lancet study​

hzvax240622.jpg

More than three quarters of the deaths averted were due to the protection provided by vaccination against severe symptoms. ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG
joyceteo.png

Joyce Teo
Senior Health Correspondent

PUBLISHED

JUN 24, 2022, 6:30 AM SGT

SINGAPORE - Vaccinations more than halved the potential global death toll due to Covid-19, as an estimated 19.8 million deaths were averted in the first year after vaccines were introduced, according to a mathematical modelling study just published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases.
These reductions were concentrated in high-income countries that relied on their vaccination programmes to relax interventions and allow SARS CoV-2 transmission to increase as they moved into a new stage of the pandemic, the authors said.
The researchers from Imperial College London estimated that 31.4 million people would have died, if no one had been vaccinated in the first year of vaccination, beginning Dec 8, 2020.

"However, because of vaccination, we estimate that 19.8 million of these lives were saved," said the study's lead author, Dr Oliver Watson.
The estimates were based on excess deaths from 185 countries and territories. China was not included in the analysis owing to its large population and strict lockdown measures, which would have skewed the findings.
The excess deaths, which are deaths that occur over and beyond what is typically expected in a year without a pandemic, could have been caused directly or indirectly by the coronavirus.

Many lower-middle income countries were not able to meet vaccine targets in the first year after they were introduced, and as a result, lost hundreds of thousands of l
The study estimated that 156,900 additional deaths would have been averted if the vaccination target of 20 per cent set by global vaccine-sharing initiative Covax had been reached in that time frame, and a further 599,300 deaths would have been averted if the World Health Organisation's (WHO) 2021 Covid-19 vaccination target of 40 per cent of each country's population had been reached.
Dr Watson said in a release that "if the targets set out by the WHO had been achieved, we estimate that roughly one in five of the estimated lives lost due to Covid-19 in low-income countries could have been prevented".
More than three-quarters of the 19.8 million deaths averted were due to the protection directly provided by vaccination against severe symptoms.

The remaining 4.3 million averted deaths were estimated to have had indirect protection because the use of vaccines led to reduced transmission of the virus in the population and burden on healthcare systems, thereby improving access to medical care for those most in need.
The indirect protection extended to both vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals, said Dr Watson. First, populations with high vaccination coverage will have fewer transmission events, which reduces the likelihood of an individual encountering someone with an infection, he said.
Second, individuals who are vaccinated but still become infected are likely to be less infectious than if they did not have a vaccine. This reduces how likely they are to lead to onward infections, he added.
The latest study is the first to estimate the impact of Covid-19 vaccinations on a global scale and the first to assess the number of deaths averted both directly and indirectly.
"Such studies are absolutely necessary in health policy to determine the extent of preventable morbidity and mortality," said Professor Teo Yik Ying, dean of the Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health at the National University of Singapore.

Seniors turn up for booster shots as 5 new vaccination centres open
Moderna says its updated vaccine protects against Omicron BA.4 or BA.5

While these figures are at best an estimate, they nonetheless highlight the vital contributions of vaccines in saving lives.
"More importantly, it also demonstrates the collective benefit to the world if the challenge of inequality in vaccine access and delivery could have been successfully addressed," he said.
The true death toll of the pandemic is unclear, but excess deaths have far outstripped official fatalities. Estimates released by the WHO in May showed that the excess deaths in the first two years of the pandemic were nearly 15 million.
Singapore saw about 1,535 excess deaths in 2021, after accounting for the country's ageing population, and 52 per cent or 804 deaths were due to Covid-19, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said in May.

MORE ON THIS TOPIC
What is the link between Covid-19 and excess deaths in S'pore?
Where death rates rose the most during the Covid-19 pandemic

Deaths due to Covid-19 will continue to accrue, as there will be people who will succumb to the complications arising from an infection. This is regardless of whether immune levels are waning or not, said Prof Teo.
In a comment linked to the study, Professor Alison Galvani from the Yale University School of Public Health in the United States who was not involved in the research, said: "The inequitable distribution of vaccines has prolonged the pandemic, and exacerbated the probability and frequency of the emergence of variants of concern. Additionally, many of these novel variants evade host immunity, thereby eroding vaccine efficacy, as well as increasing transmissibility."
The "provision of vaccine doses from high-income to lower-income countries is therefore not only moral but also pragmatic", she said.

Comparisons between the African continent and Europe indicate that the more you jab the more deaths you get.

Articles can be written to spin things whatever way you want. However when you look at the data the cold hard truth is staring you in the face.

Screen Shot 2022-06-29 at 1.32.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-06-29 at 1.33.09 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-06-29 at 1.31.56 PM.png

dredd

Comparisons between the African continent and Europe indicate that the more you jab the more deaths you get.

Articles can be written to spin things whatever way you want. However when you look at the data the cold hard truth is staring you in the face.

View attachment 150921

View attachment 150923

View attachment 150922
Doesn't say anything to support your specious reasoning: "...the more jabs, the more deaths..."

In fact, nothing in any proven scientific data I have ever seen has proven this point, except for from some crazy and nutty CTs from a bunch of crazies out to prove that they are "smarter" than anyone else. :rolleyes:

Peace Maker

For almost a year after my initial 2 shots of Moderna, I was doing fine, just a week after my booster, I got covid. Is it a big fat lie about covid vacinations.

My partner caught it at the gym despite being triple vaxxed. I spent a week looking after her and never caught it although I'm unboosted. It's all a big con job.

Peace Maker

My partner caught it at the gym despite being triple vaxxed. I spent a week looking after her and never caught it although I'm unboosted. It's all a big con job.
I wished that I need not be vaccinated, but many of us working in Singapore got no choice, if not vaccinated, no work, that simple. Bro Sam, you are smart, left Singapore long time ago. Really thank you for hosting this forum. It helps many people to relieve stress and gather information cum knowledge in many fields. I hope you live a long life to continue with this forum.

tobelightlight

If you stop testing, the number gets reduced to zero.

All Covid testing is fraudulent... by design. They artificially inflate the case numbers and scare you into taking the death jabs and giving up your freedoms.
very awake statement. good for you, bro. How many on the street know this. Even the minister are dumb on this.

tobelightlight

Quite a few of my acquaintances who took the booster are also down with what they regard as covid, due to the test they took which tells them that it is positive so that is covid.

I only see them fall sick after the booster, covid or not i dunno as i dun trust what the tests tell them.

The unvaccinated me watches them sick away while i am perfectly fine and healthy.

gingerlyn

covid cases and vaccinations are meant to confuse you and it is the same as our cpf minimum sum. very confusing

Majulah

The Health Ministry will be conducting a third national distribution of 10 ART kits to each residential household from Jul 18 via post.

shows that it is bullshit.
if evil ong yek goon claimed the situation is serious , MOH should be giving out the kits IMMEDIATELY.

Of course lah, must clear stock of those China-made test kits. :wink:

The scamdemic has turned some morons into hypochondriacs. I know people who use 2-3 test kits each day. 10 free* kits will last them less than a week of use. :roflmao:

What would China's economy do without those dimwits? :biggrin:

*: Free first, but you pay later.