• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Neighbours Put CNY Decorations In Lift Lobby

Windsor

A Chinese family put up Chinese New Year Decorations in their common corridor lift lobby and 2 six year old kids tore 3 of them down. The family was so upset and queried their neighbours and voiced their anger and a family's child admitted it. Is this right? Should they be allowed?

I think there is no right or wrong. Every chinese just want to get into the CNY mood by decorating along common corridor, just make sure its not overdone indirectly blocking anybodys way. As for the kids, C'mon, kids are meant to be naught at time. Forgive n forget la.

The neighbours should go fuck themselves. Lift lobby is not their house leh. Why don't go Oxley Road to decorate the house there?

ya...true...truee..., just rise up to the occasion, i am enjoying myself for lunar new year preparation, i think this is the best time for lny.:)

I think there is no right or wrong. Every chinese just want to get into the CNY mood by decorating along common corridor, just make sure its not overdone indirectly blocking anybodys way. As for the kids, C'mon, kids are meant to be naught at time. Forgive n forget la.

u can mark ur territory, lor! ... ppl c oredi can oso dun like wat u do, lor! ... :o

1 grab ... 1 destroy ...

sinkie behaviour vs sinkie behaviour ...

The kids imported? then they should hug them & say sorry to them for the government spent millions to Integrate them.

The kids are another race? then they are not fully integrated the had become ruffians.

:D

Kids being 5 years old, race is not the issue but more the case of thinking that the lift lobby is part of their territory. As the HDB lift lobby is out of their area and sight anyone can mutilate them. Furthermore, it is an offence to paste anything in public areas.

The kids imported? then they should hug them & say sorry to them for the government spent millions to Integrate them.

The kids are another race? then they are not fully integrated the had become ruffians.

:D

Yes, and I appreciate the funny comment.

The neighbours should go fuck themselves. Lift lobby is not their house leh. Why don't go Oxley Road to decorate the house there?

Oh, its a nice gesture to bring in the CNY spirit. My Malay neighbour decorate the corridor of the flat until to the lift with colourful blinking lights during hari raya and brightens up the whole place. The Chinese families were appreciative even lend them a hand by chiping in scotch tapes and strings.During some chinese festive period, the malays accomodate the placing of chairs and altars along the corridor. In appreciation, the chinese families gives canned drinks to malay children.
I am fortunate to live among these nice families and show the close friendship between Malay Muslims and Chinese Taoists families. This is what is needed in s'pore.

People should not assume that their decorations and potted plants are appreciated by others sharing the space.
They may argue till the cows come home that the decorations do not block people, add colour and merriment, are only for a few days, others can also enjoy them, etc. That's not the point. The point is that the space is not theirs.

People like this should be advised to go and buy a landed property. Even a condo will not be good enough.

you leave things / decorations, especially decorations - for sure they are prone to be torn down by kids.

what you expect? thank god the SCDF not there to summon the neighbours for hanging decorations posing as fire hazards.

HUAT AHHH.... !!!

clothing_for_practical_uses-thumbnail.jpg

Thing is even the saboteur's parents probably supported putting up the decor. But a kid is a kid, next time hang it higher lah.