Chitchat Need advice from those who have dehumidifiers

garlic

Anyone using dehumidifier at home? Got use in make the surroundings less humid? Nowadays after shower, after a few moments feel sticky already without aircon. One day need to empty the tank how many times or rather, one day will remove how many litres of water? Thanks..

Frankly speaking, the most effective dehumidifier is an air-con, by far. Besides, with Singapore's increasing temperatures, you'd want dehumidifying together with cooler temperatures.

You may already have an air-con, but one is never enough (my bedroom has 4 separate air-cons, and I turn on between 1 to 4 at a time) depending on the ambient temperature and weather, and you'll want a backup in case one fails (repairing may take over a week).

As for emptying the condensate, it depends on your air-con dehumidifying and/or cooling settings. I personally use plastic jerry cans (don't use metal jerry cans as they rust badly) for my air-cons, and don't find it too much of a hassle to empty away the condensate, small price to pay for necessary comfort in crazy hot & humid Singapore.

And if emptying the condensate really bothers you, Trentios has a few air-con models that have built-in vaporizer, ie. automatically vaporizes away the condensate through the hot-air outlet so you needn't manually empty the condensate. However (see my next post below), most air-cons that come with built-in vaporizer only reduces, rather than totally eliminate, the amount of condensate to be manually emptied.

I'll reproduce my post from Bad New Brown's thread on buying a portable air-con.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An understated factor in choosing your air-con (portable or otherwise), is the ease of removing, cleaning and reinstalling the filters. On that note, I strongly recommend the Trentios portable air-cons SIN-TP9/15, SIN-TP7/14 and SIN-TP1/10.

Most portable air-con filters are always irritatingly difficult to remove and fix back (ie. poor design). Only the Trentios SIN-TP9/15, SIN-TP7/14 and SIN-TP1/10 models, have filters that are ridiculously easy to remove, clean and and reinstall.

15,000 BTU
6-in-1 Functions :
Cooling, Heating, Fan, Dehumidifying, HEPA Air Purifying, Wifi Auto Air Swing
Touch-screen controls with LCD display
Wifi-enabled with smartphone control (optional)
Weight: 29kg
Dimensions (mm): 350W x 535D x 600H

hybrid_SINTP15.jpg

http://www.trentios.com/products/portable/#hybrid

The Trentios (Singapore) website says now got special promotion 40% discount, with free delivery, free installation and free 6 years warranty. That's a crazy ass good deal.
http://www.trentios.com/promo/

This Singaporean posts his review of an Akira air-con model (with auto-vaporizing of condensate, which he finds, and as I expected, only reduces rather than totally eliminate, the amount of condensate to be manually emptied).

Frankly speaking, the most effective dehumidifier is an air-con, by far. Besides, with Singapore's increasing temperatures, you'd want dehumidifying together with cooler temperatures.

You may already have an air-con, but one is never enough (my bedroom has 4 separate air-cons, and I turn on between 1 to 4 at a time) depending on the ambient temperature and weather, and you'll want a backup in case one fails (repairing may take over a week).

As for emptying the condensate, it depends on your air-con dehumidifying and/or cooling settings. I personally use plastic jerry cans (don't use metal jerry cans as they rust badly) for my air-cons, and don't find it too much of a hassle to empty away the condensate, small price to pay for necessary comfort in crazy hot & humid Singapore.

And if emptying the condensate really bothers you, Trentios has a few air-con models that have built-in vaporizer, ie. automatically vaporizes away the condensate through the hot-air outlet so you needn't manually empty the condensate. However (see my next post below), most air-cons that come with built-in vaporizer only reduces, rather than totally eliminate, the amount of condensate to be manually emptied.

I'll reproduce my post from Bad New Brown's thread on buying a portable air-con.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An understated factor in choosing your air-con (portable or otherwise), is the ease of removing, cleaning and reinstalling the filters. On that note, I strongly recommend the Trentios portable air-cons SIN-TP9/15, SIN-TP7/14 and SIN-TP1/10.

Most portable air-con filters are always irritatingly difficult to remove and fix back (ie. poor design). Only the Trentios SIN-TP9/15, SIN-TP7/14 and SIN-TP1/10 models, have filters that are ridiculously easy to remove, clean and and reinstall.

15,000 BTU
6-in-1 Functions :
Cooling, Heating, Fan, Dehumidifying, HEPA Air Purifying, Wifi Auto Air Swing
Touch-screen controls with LCD display
Wifi-enabled with smartphone control (optional)
Weight: 29kg
Dimensions (mm): 350W x 535D x 600H

hybrid_SINTP15.jpg

http://www.trentios.com/products/portable/#hybrid

The Trentios (Singapore) website says now got special promotion 40% discount, with free delivery, free installation and free 6 years warranty. That's a crazy ass good deal.
http://www.trentios.com/promo/
4 air cons? :eek:

your bedroom must be huge!

depends on the capacity of the holding tank and the dehumidifying output. generally, well designed dehumidifers are designed for emptying once a day, but it is better to have a drain line permanently attached to drain for continuous drainage. presto no more emptying.

now all you have to do is to ascertain output necessary to dry your room volume.

4 air cons? :eek:
your bedroom must be huge!

Actually no. Just that I have multiple medical conditions (nothing contagious), including one which causes me to overheat all the time. Even when everyone else around me is feeling cold (eg. cinema), I'm still feeling uncomfortably hot. Macam imported husky dogs who will die in Singapore's weather without extra strong air-con all the time just to feel normal.

depends on the capacity of the holding tank and the dehumidifying output. generally, well designed dehumidifers are designed for emptying once a day, but it is better to have a drain line permanently attached to drain for continuous drainage. presto no more emptying.

now all you have to do is to ascertain output necessary to dry your room volume.

Yeah, i intend to get one that drains automatically via a pipe... just wondering how effective it is in maintaining the relative humidity at 60%....

Take cold showers, use ice cubes if possible.

Sleep naked, no underwear.

Put on some Prickly Heat powder.

Actually no. Just that I have multiple medical conditions (nothing contagious), including one which causes me to overheat all the time. Even when everyone else around me is feeling cold (eg. cinema), I'm still feeling uncomfortably hot. Macam imported husky dogs who will die in Singapore's weather without extra strong air-con all the time just to feel normal.
i have the opposite problem!

Yeah, i intend to get one that drains automatically via a pipe... just wondering how effective it is in maintaining the relative humidity at 60%....
wah! 60% suggest you follow ultimaonline's advice and just aircon. or just to piss sam off advise. :laugh: you need a powerful dehumidifier to do get 60%.

I may be imagining it, but it felt to me like dehumidifiers also have some heat output. I don't know exactly why, but dehumidifier output is a bit .... strange. not really pleasant, maybe it's an odd smell, but i used it to keep my piano in good shape. not sure if i want to spend time in that air.

Impossible to "dehumidify" Singapore lor. Tropical Jungle.
instead of dreading humidity i actually embrace it. it's shiok, especially at night when it rains. can smell vapor from the grass and asphalt combined. i like to open windows wide and let the warm tropical breeze through while sleeping. with no sun, it's not that prickly. in fact very refreshing and skin-moistening. otherwise in dry california skin starts to chap and crack by end of summer. bo pian have to resort to using a humidifier to keep the air moist.
1566055679212.png