• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NEA Tsunami plan for singapore - 'RUN FOR YOUR LIFE'

†††††

Tsunami contingency plan in place: NEA

WE THANK Mr Tin Chee Yee ('Let's be prepared') and Mr Lee Kek Chin ('Set up crisis communication site') for their letters on Monday.

Following a study in 2008, the National Environment Agency (NEA) informed the public that there was a low probability of Singapore being affected by a tsunami, as the country is sheltered by the surrounding land masses. The shallow waters in the Malacca Strait and South China Sea will significantly slow down the propagation and dissipate the energy of a tsunami before it reaches Singapore.

The potential impact on Singapore will therefore be minimal.

Notwithstanding this, NEA has implemented an early warning system to closely monitor the occurrence of earthquakes and tsunamis.

A multi-agency tsunami response plan is also in place to coordinate the responses of the relevant government agencies.

In the event a tsunami is assessed to potentially affect Singapore, NEA will issue advisories and warnings to the public via media channels. As part of its contingency planning, Singapore also participates regularly in international tsunami response exercises to test and fine-tune our operational readiness. Inter-agency exercises are conducted regularly.

For the Japan crisis, the Singapore Government has established a micro-site on www.gov.sg as a one-stop information portal for the public. This site provides useful information and frequently asked questions.

The micro-site is also available through the www.gov.sg apps on the iPhone and Android phones, as well as the www.gov.sg mobile site.

Patricia Ee (Ms)
Acting Director
Operational Services Department
Meteorological Services
National Environment Agency

K. Bhavani (Ms)
Director
Public Communications Division
Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts

Run to where? We don't have much high ground down here. If a Tsunami hits us, we're pretty fucked.

This is NEA's contingency plan:

"Listen everyone!
This is a once-in-a-1,000-years event!
Not my fault hor!"

03yacob.jpg

Run to where? We don't have much high ground down here. If a Tsunami hits us, we're pretty fucked.

Run to the top of pigeon hole. Hope the HDB flat can withstand the impact and will not collapse.

I think our pigeon holes are 15-50 storey death traps, if a Tsunami hits us won't it weaken the concrete and structure skeletions around the void deck? And once it did, will the exposed concrete and weakened steel skeletion take the full weight of the building? Hope i won't be around to find out whether it does or not :p

The chances of SG kenna hit by tsunami is virtually 0%, half covered by johor, south-west covered by Sumatra, not enough area to form big waves?

run to Bukit merah, Bukit batok, Bukit Ho swee..just run to a place where got Bukit (Hill)...

The chances of SG kenna hit by tsunami is virtually 0%, half covered by johor, south-west covered by Sumatra, not enough area to form big waves?

nothing is impossible for mother nature....

Pigeon holes are a death traps, access to the roof top is always locked.

1. honest, we will never know what mother nature can do even if sheepishland is so-called safe!
2. trusting sheep is trusting no one!

rubbish, if a several torpedos exploded at the sea off east coast, see got tsunami or not.
or may be Jurong island explosion, see got tsunami or not

Singapore island. Top half cover by Johore, on the west side cover by Sumatra Indonesia. On the south cover by Batam or called ir Riau Island . On the east side cover by Tekong,Ubin , part of Johore.
So chance Tsunami more than 2m height are near to 0%.
Our ministers even more stupid dont study the Geography. If Tsunami happen our neighbouring country like Malaysia and Indonesia will be flat before hit Singapore island.

Singapore island. Top half cover by Johore, on the west side cover by Sumatra Indonesia. On the south cover by Batam or called ir Riau Island . On the east side cover by Tekong,Ubin , part of Johore.
So chance Tsunami more than 2m height are near to 0%.
Our ministers even more stupid dont study the Geography. If Tsunami happen our neighbouring country like Malaysia and Indonesia will be flat before hit Singapore island.
Have to agree, we not facing any open sea or ocean.......

this question i ask....our pigeon hole..is it quake resistance?

I dun think so........worry for those flats builts on reclaimed land more

although singapore is not located in any fault plate...we still affected by the tremors,,just imagine if indon struck by magnitude of 10 quake..i think mah bow tan can fly kite after that...

rubbish, if a several torpedos exploded at the sea off east coast, see got tsunami or not.
or may be Jurong island explosion, see got tsunami or not
LOL, so which chances is higher? tsunami or several torpedoes explodes at East coast?, LOL. Funny comparison, hahaha

People discuss natural disaster. He talk bomb. Then better compare nuke bomb hit Bukit Timah.