• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NEA applies for court summons against Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council

streetcry

SINGAPORE: The National Environment Agency (NEA) has applied for a court summons against the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council for an unlicensed trade fair at the Hougang Central Hub.

In a statement on Wednesday, NEA said four stall holders have also been served with notices to attend court for hawking without a licence.

NEA said that town councils are not allowed to engage in commercial activities, including the organisation and operation of fairs, as these are not related to their statutory function of management and maintenance of common property.

NEA said that the town council was reminded of this by the Ministry of National Development on 14 January 2014.

NEA added that the town council had continued to blatantly break the law, and wilfully exposed their tenants to legal action.

Between 2011 and January 2014, NEA had taken operators to court for operating a fair without a valid licence on 15 occasions.Eleven operators have since
been fined with amounts up to S$800, with the remaining four pending court mentions.

The fairs were located at Tampines, Toa Payoh, Simei, Clementi, Kovan City, Bukit Merah, Kampong Glam, Chinatown and Tanglin Halt.

There are currently 28 approved fairs in operation islandwide, three of which are located in the Aljunied/Hougang area.

Separately, the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council has issued the People's Association (PA) with three notices of offences regarding an ongoing Lunar New Year fair in Kovan.

Channel NewsAsia understands that the fair extended to about a metre into "common property".

The Kovan City Merchants Association, which organised the fair beside Heartland Mall, told Channel NewsAsia that it had set up the fair in the area leased by the PA.

But on January 7, it was informed by the town council that the tentages, which had been set up since December 31 last year, were beyond a metre of the allocated area.

Secretary of the Kovan City Merchants Association, Poon Cher Hock, said the merchants association was informed at a meeting with a town council officer that it might be fined S$1,000 a day, backdated to the day the tentages were put up.

Mr Poon said arrangements were made on January 7 to move the tentage into the allocated area.
But he said he was informed by the PA on the same night that it had received three notices of infringements.

- CNA/gn

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/nea-applies-for-court/973280.html#photo-tab

The more they fix the opposition, the more voters will tulan the govt........

Thank you NEA for helping the opposition cause......

dont want to listen or borther to find out the trith but play these FOOking games just coz its oppostiotion....

u mean all PAP mps perfect and never tell lies?

"Reputation" or "branding", these are words that they often emphaise. Unfortunately, they have forgotten that these qualities can be easily lost if misdeeds are committed time and again. Their reputation is now at a level that can be described as "scheming, vindictive, petty, inconsistent".

I thought they know better of the cry wolf folk tale. Once the reputation is gone, nothing that they do will be seen as right. Even if they are factually correct, they will still be viewed as petty or vengeful. Looks like these new elites have very little social skill.

"Reputation" or "branding", these are words that they often emphaise. Unfortunately, they have forgotten that these qualities can be easily lost if misdeeds are committed time and again. Their reputation is now at a level that can be described as "scheming, vindictive, petty, inconsistent".

I thought they know better of the cry wolf folk tale. Once the reputation is gone, nothing that they do will be seen as right. Even if they are factually correct, they will still be viewed as petty or vengeful. Looks like these new elites have very little social skill.

on the contrary, they are going about things like they could not give a FOOking FOOk,..... soooooo many examples, obviously there i s a plan in place for 2016,
whether it is enough new citizen votes, PRs voting, redrawing boundaries, i dont know, but they cant all be that stupid to carry on as they are, so they must already be a plan in place

Le them fix the opposition and voters will fix them harder.

New citizens are not dumb to see PAP vendetta and fixing opposition and they will fix VTO PAP in 2016.

What's new, fixing of the opposition again.

on the contrary, they are going about things like they could not give a FOOking FOOk,..... soooooo many examples, obviously there i s a plan in place for 2016,
whether it is enough new citizen votes, PRs voting, redrawing boundaries, i dont know, but they cant all be that stupid to carry on as they are, so they must already be a plan in place

Considering the contribution that their predecessors have made, at times I do hope that they can make it in the next round but with significant losses. I hope it will then be a wake up call for them to change their selection process. The rot starts from the way people are picked. The scholars they picked are consistently of the undesirable kind for politics. They have picked leaders that are lacking in interpersonal skill. How can a young chap ask his much more senior peers to "kee chew"? How can a leader tell his people that he is making lots of personal sacrifices? How can a person speak in public that "I really don't know why you all are always angry?" How can an experienced chap said that they have difficulty assembling the BEST team, implying that he is the best since he is part of it? The list goes on. If we scrutinize their contents, it centered on their over zealousness to tell the world that they are good i.e. Self-centered.

It is not surprising to find that among themselves, they may not be working together as a team but more a case of each for his/her own portfolio so that he/she can shine. So Even if there is a plan, it may not work this time because they are too detached from reality.

Political grinding; I tot PA promote 'kampong spirit'?

Vivian wants to be in the news again.

If this is PAP constituency this will not happened even if they do not have so called licence!!

PAP Toilet minister all the way out to bite on Opposition ward!! They still feel sore after losing

to opposition!!

The more they fix the opposition, the more voters will tulan the govt........

Thank you NEA for helping the opposition cause......

These gong cheebyes minions of vile pappies still dun get it.
Or perhaps someone high up in NEA is a closet opposition supporter out to sabo pap time and again?
Either way is good news for 39.9%

I go with PR voting....of course usual gerrymandering is mainstay.
I'm only afraid a big sinister masterplan in place that will catch us by surprise....
Either way if sinkies savvy enough to be voting donkeys then no worries whatever evil plans they have.

I am amazed because nothing in the Town Councils Act state that a town council cannot engage in commercial activities. Even if it is, operating fairs and renting out common property to fairs are 2 different things.

This is likely to be AHPETC's defence. Since MND and NEA don't mind looking bad by filing the case, the judge might as well let them win it so that we can see what happens in 2016.

Encroachment on common property on the other hand is a straightforward offence against SCDF fire safety regulations.

..... but they cant all be that stupid to carry on as they are, so they must already be a plan in place

Yes they can be that stupid. Just look at what has happen since the last GE, same, same as in past years. Hike the prices of this & that, hike, hike,....:rolleyes:

Suspect that the real brain behind the "fixing" was the Gecko. With her gone the PAP are just using the tried & true tactics they have used in the past. However todays Spore is different & the old tactics might not work.

This is real silly on the part of the organisation of the fair.

Just apply for a licence and everything should be a breeze.

How can you hold a fair without a licence in Singapore?

Even putting a little poster needs a licence!

Come on, please be sensible lah.

This is simply a very stupid thing to do. Telling the stall owners to go ahead and sell - without a licence!!!

I remember those days the stalls would be destroyed and their food confisticated , even by HDB officials!!!

Going to court is really not necessary. Just instil some common sense into those organisers will do lah!!!

This is Lunar New Year!!! Why make things so unpleasant and blow the whole thing so big like a horse's neighing!!!

Come on!!!!! Settle this peacefully out of court lah. We are all Singaporeans!!!

Instead of improving our lives to the std enjoyed by ministars n elites PAP in particular VB chose to use pple given power to beat up WP........... so fucking vindictive this chap cheng kia

VVote out such coward