• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nanospeed and Sbfuncle will be happy on 13 May 2025

sinkies are so lucky for a gov that cares. can at least makan and minum kopi and kaya toast set at pap porlumpar kopitiam for 69 days with $500.

those kopitiam kopi and kaya butter will kill us faster. those kopi beans are roasted with high salt level and margarine to create that kind of taste.

The (Ugly) Truth Of Local Malaysian Coffee

The ugly truth of the local roasted coffee is that they contain only up to 79% coffee, with some possibly higher, but never 100% coffee. Often the balance comes from other addictive such as salt, sugar and even margarine. Some utilises sesame seed to give that signature aroma and a majority uses flour as a bulking agent. Essentially, these ingredients are mixed while the coffee bean were being roasted to give the distinctive "quality and flavour" synonym with local coffee. A quick check at a local grocery store reveal three different local coffee. I was not disappointed and what will be shown herewith are what most of us Malaysians are drinking everyday. To put it mildly, you are not getting your money worth.
Opps...only 50% Coffee! No wonder Nice and sweet!
No indication on the "purity". But you get to make Coffee Dough if the flour is substantial.
79% - good enough? But why cereal?

Herewith lies the problem.

Firstly, it is a sin to treat coffee bean this way - not much different from those "caramel" and "Vanilla" flavoured coffee.

Secondly, how can they be healthy? All the while, those ignorant or unknown would had thought that a cup of coffee contains ZERO calories.

With these additive placed in, they carry up to 10kcal/cup - and that is before any sugar, creamer, condensed milk etc. are added. A harmless "brew" will come close to 200kcal/cup.

If you are like me and love your coffee, perhaps, it is time for reflection. Drinking coffee without sugar and creamer, even without milk - is actually very rewarding. With ZERO calories and potentially helping to raise your metabolism up, you get to learn, and appreciate these humble beans as they are meant to be - without any food additives.

The (Ugly) Truth Of Local Malaysian Coffee

The ugly truth of the local roasted coffee is that they contain only up to 79% coffee, with some possibly higher, but never 100% coffee. Often the balance comes from other addictive such as salt, sugar and even margarine. Some utilises sesame seed to give that signature aroma and a majority uses flour as a bulking agent. Essentially, these ingredients are mixed while the coffee bean were being roasted to give the distinctive "quality and flavour" synonym with local coffee. A quick check at a local grocery store reveal three different local coffee. I was not disappointed and what will be shown herewith are what most of us Malaysians are drinking everyday. To put it mildly, you are not getting your money worth.
Opps...only 50% Coffee! No wonder Nice and sweet!

No indication on the "purity". But you get to make Coffee Dough if the flour is substantial.

79% - good enough? But why cereal?

Herewith lies the problem.

Firstly, it is a sin to treat coffee bean this way - not much different from those "caramel" and "Vanilla" flavoured coffee.

Secondly, how can they be healthy? All the while, those ignorant or unknown would had thought that a cup of coffee contains ZERO calories.

With these additive placed in, they carry up to 10kcal/cup - and that is before any sugar, creamer, condensed milk etc. are added. A harmless "brew" will come close to 200kcal/cup.

If you are like me and love your coffee, perhaps, it is time for reflection. Drinking coffee without sugar and creamer, even without milk - is actually very rewarding. With ZERO calories and potentially helping to raise your metabolism up, you get to learn, and appreciate these humble beans as they are meant to be - without any food additives.
plus condensed milk sure mati by 69 and becum diabetic by 36.9.

it’s humane slow sexecution. shiok first si later.
The problem i see today is that there too many youtube videos focusing on outside food in Singapore. Many people watch those videos and eating at all these promoted food outlets. Over a long run, this form of reckless consumption will have serious health effects. The young people don't realize this yet. To me, all these recommended food videos are slowly but surely going to cost a cardiovascular and stroke epidemic in Singapore when these young audience ages and goes into their 40s and 50s. Heart attack and stroke will be more prevalent for them at a younger age (compared to previous generations).

many ckd cases among 69-year old sinkies due to prolonged use of medication and diet or choice of food. sg is already a dialysis hub. soon to becum die-lysis hub.

Is taking health supplements same as use of medication? Nowadays sinkies are much into health supplement pills.

Don't waste time (or money) on dietary supplements - Harvard Health
www.health.harvard.edu

photorealistic illustration of a supplement capsule open at the middle, with an array of vegetables and fruits coming out of it
In 2022, Americans are projected to spend $35.6 billion on dietary supplements. That's a lot of money for products that show little, if any, evidence of benefits.

"The thinking is that taking these pills can somehow improve your health or protect you from disease," says Dr. Pieter Cohen, associate professor at Harvard Medical School and general internist at Harvard-affiliated Cambridge Health Alliance. "While some people may need specific vitamins or supplements to help with deficiencies, for the average healthy person, following a diet with plenty of fruits and vegetables provides all the essential vitamins and minerals."

A look at labels​

"Dietary supplement" is an umbrella term. It includes everything from individual nutrients — vitamins A, B, C, D, E, and K and minerals like calcium — to multivitamins and specialized "senior" formulas that contain various combinations of vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, and other compounds.

Why do people buy so many? Blame clever marketing and loopholes in federal guidelines. The FDA regulates dietary supplements as a subcategory of food but not as prescription or over-the-counter drugs. This means the FDA only monitors claims on supplement labels regarding disease treatment.

For instance, dietary supplements cannot make claims about treating specific conditions on their labels, like "lowers heart disease risk" or "protects against dementia." Yet, the guidelines do allow for phrases like "promotes heart health" or "supports immunity." (However, any such phrases must be followed by these words: "This statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.")

"This kind of ambiguity means the sky's the limit in terms of how manufacturers can present their products," says Dr. Cohen. "And many people don't realize the difference. They see 'heart health' and think it's beneficial even though there may not be anything in the product that has shown effectiveness."

The medical consensus is that there are no miracles in those bottles. Multiple studies have found that taking extra vitamins and minerals doesn't protect against disease or improve overall health in otherwise healthy people.

But what about taking extra vitamins known to be helpful? For instance, vitamin C is loaded with antioxidants shown to support the immune system. So, why not load up on vitamin C pills to, say, fight a cold? In general, taking large amounts of vitamin C is not toxic since the body can only absorb so much, and any excess gets excreted in urine. "But again, there is no proof that taking extra vitamin C beyond the recommended 90 milligrams per day for adult men offers extra protection from infections," says Dr. Cohen.

Some vitamins or minerals can cause health problems when taken in high amounts. For example, high calcium intake has been linked to an increased risk of prostate cancer.

Taking a lot of vitamin A — a fat-soluble vitamin that can build up in the body, which stores what it doesn't use — can cause dizziness, nausea, headaches, and in rare cases, even death.

What's the problem with a daily multivitamin?​

Healthy adults don't need dietary supplements, but what if you don't eat right all the time?

Should you pop a daily multivitamin for good measure?

Doctors have different opinions about multivitamins. Some take a "might-help-won't-hurt" approach to fill in nutritional gaps in one's diet. Others believe they are not necessary. If you feel you need a multivitamin, there is no harm in taking one. "Studies have shown that taking multivitamins as prescribed usually doesn't cause serious issues," says Dr. Pieter Cohen, general internist at Harvard-affiliated Cambridge Health Alliance.

But realize that multivitamins have their limits. "They might offer extra vitamins and minerals you may occasionally lack from your regular diet, but they are not a replacement for healthy eating, and they won't offer special benefits or protection," says Dr. Cohen.

Who needs a supplement?​

While a well-balanced diet usually provides sufficient amounts of micronutrients, special attention should be given to vitamins D, B12, and B6.

Strict vegans may not get enough vitamin B12 from food and usually need a B12 supplement. Vitamin B12 deficiency can result from reduced stomach acid production caused by aging or by regularly taking proton-pump inhibitors or H2 blockers to manage heartburn or gastroesophageal reflux disease.

Without enough stomach acid, it's harder for the body to absorb vitamin B12 from food. Low levels of both B12 and B6 also can stem from digestive disorders, such as Crohn's disease, celiac disease, and ulcerative colitis, as well as from procedures like gastric bypass surgery.

Vitamin D insufficiency is especially common in older adults. Few foods are naturally high in the vitamin, and getting enough sunlight for the skin to convert to vitamin D can be challenging, even in the summer. A daily 1,000-IU vitamin D supplement offers safe insurance. "A blood test can identify most deficiencies, and your doctor may then prescribe an individual vitamin or multivitamin to help increase levels," says Dr. Cohen.

Image: © wildpixel/Getty Images

years of health supplements also contribute to eventual kidney (and liver) issues as these organs work tirelessly to process all sextra compounds and minerals in the bloodstream. for example, niacin or b3 vitamin. niacin helps with high chloresterol, but if you take it regularly in high dosages for decades your liver overworks and may quit after 69. if it can talk it will tell you. “please lah unker. tolong tolong. let me have a break ok? at least a few weeks of holiday to jiak hong ok? you want me to die hah? i die you die.”

The other scam is collagen. Most women fear aging. Vanity is causing lots of them ro become voluntary scam victims of supplement manufacturers globally.

Collagen is one of the biggest scams out there because you can't build collagen by eating collagen.

You need the building blocks with which your body can create collagen, like vitamin C and silica. That is what builds collagen in your body. You can't build collagen by eating collagen, just the same way you can't fix your eye by eating eye, or fix your liver by eating liver. That is one of the most ridiculous stuff out there.

Think about what they use for the collagen, like where it gets produced – it is the biggest waste products from animals, like pork skin and pork bone; that kind of stuff is what they are using for collagen scam powders. You can take as much as you want and it even clogs up your liver, it is even harmful for you. And it is not doing anything for your skin, and your collagen production. It is one of the biggest scams out there, it is ridiculous.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.hi...ork-what-doctor-says-101741949766987-amp.html

The other scam is collagen. Most women fear aging. Vanity is causing lots of them ro become voluntary scam victims of supplement manufacturers globally.
they should have swallowed natural organic starchy gluey cream like lau zoe, and not rub it on their faces.

Worried About Supplements Harming Your Liver? Doc Shares Tips​

Published May 05, 2025 4:09 AM EDT
By Suneeta Sunny

www.medicaldaily.com
supplements
Thinking of adding supplements to your wellness routine but worried about liver damage? It is good to be cautious as mindless supplement intake can harm your organs, but the good news is that you can still enjoy the benefits safely.

Dr. Karan Rajan, a top U.K. surgeon, warns that this is because all kinds of supplements, even natural ones can affect the way the liver functions, Dr. Rajan explained in an Instagram video to more than 1.7 million viewers.

Dr. Rajan admits that he is a fan of supplements and even takes a few himself, including omega-3, vitamin D, and fiber. But in response to a video of a woman who developed organ failure after using supplements for hair and nail growth, he offered a clear warning: "Just don't turn your liver into a science fair project gone wrong." "If you take supplements and want to avoid liver injury, there are a few things you should know," he added.

Know how it affects the liver:

Before taking any supplement, Dr. Rajan advises checking a trusted source like LiverTox—a database that compiles case reports on how various drugs and supplements impact the liver.

"If it's listed under grade A,B or C, be extra cautious about the dose and what you're taking. Even the natural ones involve liver metabolism, meaning they go through the liver's biochemical sorting hat and get processed by liver enzymes. This can affect how hard your liver is working," he said in the video.

Ensure quality:

With supplements so easily accessible, it is easy to get swept up by flashy marketing without knowing what you are really getting. That is why Dr. Rajan recommends looking for third-party certification labels on packaging, these indicate that the product has been independently tested for safety, quality, and performance. Although no testing can guarantee 100% protection from liver injury, it can at least help you know what is actually inside the capsule.

Be mindful of dosage and interactions:

When it comes to the dosage of supplements, Dr. Rajan emphasizes that more is not always better so it is crucial to stick to clinically recommended amounts.

"If you're on prescription medications like statins, blood thinners, anti-epileptics and anti-depressants, check for drug interactions with your pharmacist or doctor before starting any supplement," he said.

"If you are taking multiple herbal supplements, make sure there isn't significant overlap between the active ingredients of each one. You're creating a pharmacological cocktail with unknown synergy," he added.