Muslim Women over 30 means too old for marriage?

17468.jpg

ABU DHABI - If you are a 30-year-old Emirati woman and still single, then you have missed the marriage boat: by UAE standards, you are now considered to be too old.

Authorities in the Gulf state say more women are falling into this category: some 60 per cent, according to the latest statistics, raising concerns among officials and sparking online debates as to why.

The issue has been the focus of discussions for weeks at the Federal National Council, the country's appointed consultative body, where members are scrambling to find a solution to what they believe could be a serious demographic problem.

"This is very worrying," FNC member Said al-Kitbi told AFP, adding that there are now more than 175,000 Emirati women who are over 30 and unmarried.

Though he conceded that being a "spinster" is "not a bad thing in itself", he argues that the demographic consequences of these women not having children is the real problem.

The United Arab Emirates is home to more than eight million people, only 950,000 of them UAE citizens. The rest are foreign, and young Emirati men are increasingly choosing to marry them instead.

The latest government statistics show that at least 20 per cent of UAE men are marrying non-Emiratis.

The reasons behind this growing trend of spinsterhood are not entirely clear.

UAE planning ministry statistics show that in 1995, only 20 per cent of women over 30 were unmarried. By 2008, that figure was 50 per cent.

Some evidence suggests that excessively high dowries are preventing men without the means from choosing a spouse.

The latest survey by the UAE Marriage Fund, a government institution that provides financial assistance to those who want to marry but cannot afford to, showed that 87 per cent of respondents blamed high dowries for low marriage rates among Emirati women.

The government has imposed a $14,000 (S$17,700) ceiling on dowries, but many families still demand much more - in some cases over $135,000.

"One of my friends is still paying his dowry bill and he's been married nine years," said Ali Mansouri, 30.

'Lost between tradition, modernity'

To address the rising costs of marriage, the government has ordered that each Emirati man who wants to marry be given $19,000 - but on condition that it is his first marriage.

However, the Marriage Fund will make an exception for men who married women who cannot conceive. In this case, the fund will give the man money to take a second wife.

In the UAE, as in many Muslim countries, polygamy is sanctioned by both religion and the law.

The Marriage Fund also routinely organises mass marriages to help cut costs and reduce the burden on individual men seeking a wife.

There are also other reasons why Emirati women are not getting hitched before 30: they are opting for education and a career before settling down.

Take Mansouri: he is looking for a wife but says he prefers that she not work. And if she insists, he would rather that she do so part-time only.

"Most men who succeed in their lives have wives who do not work, or do so from home," Mansouri said. "It's impossible to reconcile work and family life."

A survey of 200 medical students at the UAE University showed that 57 per cent of respondents believed a desire to pursue higher education and a career were the main reasons why UAE women are not marrying before 30.

The students, however, said they would not classify a woman as an "old maid" until she is 32.

"We're a little lost between tradition and modernity," said Wafa Khalfan, a single Emirati in her twenties.

"Many girls are pretty and all grown up but they can't find a spouse," she said, adding that "if liberal they're considered easy, and if they're conservative, men think they're too uptight."

FNC member Kitbi says that the problem could be "the girls themselves, as they prefer to complete their university studies and work rather than get married."

He said it also seems that young Emirati men "prefer a woman who does not work."

Tribal traditions, meanwhile, have made an already difficult situation worse.

Some families refuse to marry off "their younger daughter before the first-born," while still others will not allow their children to marry into a family of "lower social status", Kitbi said.

Some of the most interesting statistics from a separate survey of 200 medical students show that many men and women believe polygamy may be the solution.

Some 73 per cent of those surveyed said encouraging polygamy was a reasonable solution to the spinster crisis - and 59 per cent of women surveyed agreed.

For Emirati writer and journalist Al-Saad al-Minhali, however, polygamy is not the answer.

"This is not a solution," she said. "Marriage is a personal choice and should not be used to satisfy a national agenda."

Depends on what you're marrying for.

If it's for making babies, the eggs of a woman is fresher when she's in her 20s.

Her looks and fertility start to decline rapidly in her 30s. That's the way things are.

So all you career spinsters who keep reading 'Eat, Pray, Love', watch chick flicks, and hope that one day a Prince Charming Alpha Male will come riding on a white horse to rescue you from your cubicle hell and defuse your ticking biological time bomb... good luck with that! ;)

Just see the SG Malay. After 30plus their size change rapidly. U know what I mean.
Late called me racist.

Just see the SG Malay. After 30plus their size change rapidly. U know what I mean.
Late called me racist.

1. aiyoh!
2. from the back, it looks like a huge walking pear hoh.

Sometimes don't even need to wait till the Minah has reached 30 years of age.

See Kumar's dancer on the left of the video.
[video=youtube;BfVpwvkgaUw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfVpwvkgaUw[/video]

Even our LocaL Minahs aLso marrying earLy, aga 18+ can become mother Liao.Hence she couLd have a 36yo+
singLe mother.That's where the probLem may come in Later..her son-in-Law who is in his Late 20's; may end up having both daughter & mother as wives since some of them stay as an extended famiLy aLL together ..:eek::)

Late called me racist.

I can attest to that.

Used to have a neigbour who was damn chio during her pre-u days. But after married hor, beauty becomes the beast.

Her nice cheeks now occupy over 70% of her face liao. Fuck man.....

Late called me racist.

RACIST!!!! How could you have left out the ah neh? Their women quadruple in size too after giving birth!

This topic about Muslim mah.
Seldom see any local Indian lady.
Mostly now Indian lady are from India. They bring their culture here. Wear Saree, pushing baby trolley everywhere even if the kid is 4 year old can run.

Even our LocaL Minahs aLso marrying earLy, aga 18+ can become mother Liao.Hence she couLd have a 36yo+
singLe mother.That's where the probLem may come in Later..her son-in-Law who is in his Late 20's; may end up having both daughter & mother as wives since some of them stay as an extended famiLy aLL together ..:eek::)

Thats the problem with the Malays.. Shotgun marriages, marrying too early.. Some married in their late teens, early 20s.. Then after a few years of marrying and having 3,4 kids, hubby went astray with other Minahs.. Thats why divorce rates are higher among the Malay community..

Usually the culprits are the lower educated Malays who only have sec education, N Level, and ITE certs.. The higher educated Malays are now following the example of us Chinese, working hard to earn money, marrying late.. Some don't even marry at all.. Even my Malay colleagues shook their heads in disapproval when we once went out for lunch at Jurong Point and seeing young Malay couples pushing baby prams in the mall..

Thats the problem with the Malays.. Shotgun marriages, marrying too early.. Some married in their late teens, early 20s.. Then after a few years of marrying and having 3,4 kids, hubby went astray with other Minahs.. Thats why divorce rates are higher among the Malay community..

Usually the culprits are the lower educated Malays who only have sec education, N Level, and ITE certs.. The higher educated Malays are now following the example of us Chinese, working hard to earn money, marrying late.. Some don't even marry at all.. Even my Malay colleagues shook their heads in disapproval when we once went out for lunch at Jurong Point and seeing young Malay couples pushing baby prams in the mall..

Dont laugh at Malay. Same with Ah Beng and Ah lian. See very young Chinese couple also with tattoo all over body.
I see I shake my head. Who want to employ them. How to feed the baby?

Who gives a Sh}t about other peoples life, Its not like we feed them or what... We got to sort ourselves out 1st and stop thinking that our way of life is the right way... You know you aint gonna give them a dollar even if they haven eaten for a full-day, So stop commenting and being a bunch of stuck up critical pariyas.

Yah lah.

Then why you give a shit what we say here. Nothing to do with you right? We talk we shiok, cannot har?

Who gives a Sh}t about other peoples life, Its not like we feed them or what... We got to sort ourselves out 1st and stop thinking that our way of life is the right way... You know you aint gonna give them a dollar even if they haven eaten for a full-day, So stop commenting and being a bunch of stuck up critical pariyas.

I don't give a damn on their personal lives and how many times a day they want to have sex with their wife.. But 2 chaps are under my charge.. Joined my company as store assistant after finishing NS 2 years ago.. Both married young and having 2 kids each.. One of this guy is now undergoin divorce proceedings.. Every 2, 3 months both will knock on my office to request for advance pay or small loans from the company to settle their family's financial problems.. Of course I would cede to their requests out of pity.. I don't give a shit about their lives, but their mentality of marrying early must change.. No money then don't marry and have kids.. At the end of the day, its their young kids that'll suffer because of their parents messy divorce.. This message of mine goes out to not only the young Malay couples, but to other young parents from other communities as well..

i have a few Mats working with me for more than 5 years aLready..the catch ?. They are paid daiLy..;)

I know a Malay truck driver who earns about $2000 a month and he has less 3 'O' level passes. He always complain not enough money and I ask him to spend less lah. He say cannot because he got 7 kids and wife not working.

I don't give a damn on their personal lives and how many times a day they want to have sex with their wife.. But 2 chaps are under my charge.. Joined my company as store assistant after finishing NS 2 years ago.. Both married young and having 2 kids each.. One of this guy is now undergoin divorce proceedings.. Every 2, 3 months both will knock on my office to request for advance pay or small loans from the company to settle their family's financial problems.. Of course I would cede to their requests out of pity.. I don't give a shit about their lives, but their mentality of marrying early must change.. No money then don't marry and have kids.. At the end of the day, its their young kids that'll suffer because of their parents messy divorce.. This message of mine goes out to not only the young Malay couples, but to other young parents from other communities as well..

U right no want hack care how they do with their life. But every time come asking money or loan really make others piss off. They should plan and live with their mean.
If need more money they work harder or upgrade their skill and had better pay.