• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Murdoch University - Master in Professional Accounting

If you are mentally prepared to re-take papers again and again, you will be eventually rewarded with a cushy job.

No lah.. .accountant's life is not cushy. It can even be unbearably repetitive with long hours and stagnant pay.

The real rice bucket (bee tang) professional qualification for people who are good at passing exams is the Actuaries exam program. Exams are damn difficult but once you pass a level your pay automatically goes up.

ACCA====>CPA if one wants to be in the audit industry. If in audit industry, then must choose electives and pass audit papers.

ACCA, if one just do accounting in a company. No necessary be a member and pay annual fees. Just pass get the cert and FO :)

ACCA+CPA+CFA=more power.:o

There is also the CA (chartered accountants) and CMA (Certified management accountant)... all set up to con corporate slaves' money :p

1. I mean the pass rate for individual papers can be as low as 29% for any given sitting.

2. If have got finally pass ACCA with clearing all papers, then annually is about 3-4% of the whole cohort (1st level to 3rd level all add together), whole world.

29% is actually considered 'high' passing rate. :)

No lah.. .accountant's life is not cushy. It can even be unbearably repetitive with long hours and stagnant pay.

The real rice bucket (bee tang) professional qualification for people who are good at passing exams is the Actuaries exam program. Exams are damn difficult but once you pass a level your pay automatically goes up.

If you are working long hours and stagnant pay, then you are working for the wrong company. When you have an ACCA, don't try your luck at some half-ass local company.

I believe the MPA is equivalent to australian accounting degree ... which is equivalent to the ACCA.

The CPA is the post grad qualification for accounting/finance professionals.

1st route
Complete bachelor degree in accounting
If he wants to be a company accountant in commerce and industry ,an accounting degree will be sufficient.

2nd route
Complete MPA + complete CPA(Aust) program =Member of CPA (Aust) + Tax Modules (S) =ICPAS (S)

3rd route
Complete ACCA + Tax Modules (S) = ICPAS (S)

U need to be a member of ICPAS (S) plus few years of practical auditing experience to be a practising external auditor in singapore.

I have met General Managers (Finance),Financial Controllers,Finance Managers and Accountants of Listed Companies and SMEs who are just accountancy graduates of SU,NUS,NTU or other overseas universities from UK and Australia and they are not members of ICPAS (S) or CPA (Aust).

thank bro for the advice. i am alrdy mid 20. its quite senseless to pick up another bachelor rite? but i dun intend to work in the life science as the NUS and NTU chinaman master students r more preferred.....they have to complete 2 yrs of work in singapore after getting their master on tax payers money......lol.....wif my pass degree, cant compete wif them. dun wanna work in the lab... so got to think of alternative.... r u guys aware of Master of Professional Accounting from Murdoch @kaplan?

Chinaman this and Chinaman that. With this kind of fuck up loser attitude. U will be miserable anywhere U go.

Yes, but what are the job opportunities other than in insurance business?

Thatz why local U actuarial class is that small.

It is always grass greener on the other side.

If you are working long hours and stagnant pay, then you are working for the wrong company. When you have an ACCA, don't try your luck at some half-ass local company.

The problem with accounting is you rarely go anywhere fast in a company. The best way to move is to change companies and most probably will be cleaning up shit the last accounts guy can't solve.

Unless you are in professional services, accountants are generally considered back office staff and your bonus is pegged on company/industry performance. It sucks when you work harder than any of the HR/IT/procurement/logistics guys but still get the same miserable bonus.

Yes, but what are the job opportunities other than in insurance business?

Thatz why local U actuarial class is that small.

It is always grass greener on the other side.

point taken.. but you can't deny that passing actuarial exams pay really well. better than any CFA, CPA, CA, CMA, CIA, ICPAS etc etc

I say the skillset market is deliberately kept small due to protectionism.

thank bro for the advice. i am alrdy mid 20. its quite senseless to pick up another bachelor rite? but i dun intend to work in the life science as the NUS and NTU chinaman master students r more preferred.....they have to complete 2 yrs of work in singapore after getting their master on tax payers money......lol.....wif my pass degree, cant compete wif them. dun wanna work in the lab... so got to think of alternative.... r u guys aware of Master of Professional Accounting from Murdoch @kaplan?

Might want to consider overseas studies. It's more expensive but think of it as investing in a potential new home. With the way things are going in Spore you may want to look at relocating.

1. I mean the pass rate for individual papers can be as low as 29% for any given sitting.

2. If have got finally pass ACCA with clearing all papers, then annually is about 3-4% of the whole cohort (1st level to 3rd level all add together), whole world.

The financial officer at one of the companies I worked in got his ACCA by going to London.

I think it's easier that way, it's hard to do it part-time. I tried it when I was working at Orchard Rd & when the school was near to Orchard Theatre.

If get into accounting, only hope is to go into professional services. Only bosses who are trained accountants will appreciate and fully understand what you are doing and the amount of efforts put in by the staff.

If go any company, if an account executes his/her duties diligently and professionally and objectively......will make alot of enemies and die very fast.

The problem with accounting is you rarely go anywhere fast in a company. The best way to move is to change companies and most probably will be cleaning up shit the last accounts guy can't solve.

Unless you are in professional services, accountants are generally considered back office staff and your bonus is pegged on company/industry performance. It sucks when you work harder than any of the HR/IT/procurement/logistics guys but still get the same miserable bonus.

Relevant experience is very subjective, depending on presentation. But as long as one clear all the papers, more opportunities are open.

If I am correct, CFA requires relevant experience before the charter is being awarded.

Not sure if doing accounting job count as part of the relevant experience.

If get into accounting, only hope is to go into professional services. Only bosses who are trained accountants will appreciate and fully understand what you are doing and the amount of efforts put in by the staff.

If go any company, if an account executes his/her duties diligently and professionally and objectively......will make alot of enemies and die very fast.

Yah... but the problem with accounting professional services now is also the most outsourced accounting functions are the bohleow ones like AP and payment. Most interesting strategic accounting roles are still kept inhouse.

And audit is a totally shit con job. The whole industry should be revamped.

Hey,,,ACCA is tough,,but it is not recognised ( 5 yr ago info hor) in Australia as they have to protect their CPA...got ACCA grads want to go AUst and practice but cannot as not recognised,,,

Yup. ACCAs have to pass the Oz CPA program. Singapore CPAs are also not exempted.

Fucking aussies ..