• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Murdoch University - Master in Professional Accounting

tgb888

Hi Bros, I would like to seek some advice form you all. I am a fresh grad with a life science degree. I do not intent to join the life science field due to the strong competition from those chinaman....

am intending to take up this Murdoch University - Master in Professional Accounting. am wondering if this is the way to start to take accounting as my profession?

Go do ACCA. Cheaper, more flexible. You can gain accounting work experience while studying but the pay will be shit. If you are hardworking and don't mind sacrificing for 3 years, go this way. I have a friend who only had N level qualification. Took ACCA and work his way up. Now he is getting a good pay with MBS.

another POV - talk to anyone in the accounting field and they will tell you they regret joining the industry. there is simply no life, every month has a deadline, you are doing a job that others don't have the knowledge but nobody appreciates that. worse are bosses that don't care what is right or wrong and they will "instruct" you to do what they want. You will always be last to get good bonuses, excuse no 1 - you didn't bring in the sales revenue, excuse no 2 - you are a cost centre.

the field of accounting is changing rapidly but the industry does not want to specialise or have not recognise specialisation therefore you are expected to be a jack-of-all-trade as far as accounting is concerned so your bosses expect you to know banking, auditing, taxation, economics, business development, investments ie everything that is not sales, operations or marketing. talk to the engineers and they will tell you, a civil engineer is not a mechanical engineer is not a electrical engineer. Accountants ARE Accountants.....

Go do ACCA. Cheaper, more flexible. You can gain accounting work experience while studying but the pay will be shit. If you are hardworking and don't mind sacrificing for 3 years, go this way. I have a friend who only had N level qualification. Took ACCA and work his way up. Now he is getting a good pay with MBS.

U failed to warn him on the difficulty of the ACCA. Pls check out the passing rate from the ACCA website.

If you are mentally prepared to re-take papers again and again, you will be eventually rewarded with a cushy job.

No job is perfect. There is always something you need to get over, be it the monotonous nature of the job or the hectic process it may involve. Chose a field, degree you will enjoy I say. Have fun in it, and it will keep going for longer time.

U failed to warn him on the difficulty of the ACCA. Pls check out the passing rate from the ACCA website.

If you are mentally prepared to re-take papers again and again, you will be eventually rewarded with a cushy job.

Have heard of people who passed Level 2 but could not clear Level 3.

Hi Bros, I would like to seek some advice form you all. I am a fresh grad with a life science degree. I do not intent to join the life science field due to the strong competition from those chinaman....

am intending to take up this Murdoch University - Master in Professional Accounting. am wondering if this is the way to start to take accounting as my profession?

May I suggest that you consider the difference between intend (verb) and intent (noun).

bro, salah liao. ACCA are only meant for ppl who can tong 3-5years of no life. basically no life and need to work very hard for. even that no gurantee can pass as the passing rate is very low. if no interest to work in audit industry then study ACCA is a waste. and it not cheap either as must pay yearly subscription to the association plus must attend seminars every years. there a minimium hours require each year and if boss dont pay, then u must pay the seminar fee yourself and it no cheap hor.

if only want to be an accountant, just take those normal degree offer bu university.

thank bro for the advice. i am alrdy mid 20. its quite senseless to pick up another bachelor rite? but i dun intend to work in the life science as the NUS and NTU chinaman master students r more preferred.....they have to complete 2 yrs of work in singapore after getting their master on tax payers money......lol.....wif my pass degree, cant compete wif them. dun wanna work in the lab... so got to think of alternative.... r u guys aware of Master of Professional Accounting from Murdoch @kaplan?

Yes, what Scroobal(clone) and Sleaguepunter mentioned is true. ACCA is tough, but rewarding. My friend is those like Laksaboy. No intention to get married type. Don't even like girls. Sometimes I think he is gay. That's why he made it. Bump this thread up. Hope more people can share their views with TS.

r u guys aware of Master of Professional Accounting from Murdoch @kaplan?

Go for it if you think a career switch will be better for you. You are quite young now anyways. I made my career switch when I was close to 30 and never looked back (err.. more like can't look back liao) :*:

I also know the Big 4 audit firms like crossed trained people so that they know the specialised industry better when auditing clients.

Does the MPA include the australian CPA program? or do you have to do that after you graduate?

All the best!

Yes, what Scroobal(clone) and Sleaguepunter mentioned is true. ACCA is tough, but rewarding. My friend is those like Laksaboy. No intention to get married type. Don't even like girls. Sometimes I think he is gay. That's why he made it. Bump this thread up. Hope more people can share their views with TS.

The ACCA program is indeed very tough. I have worked with some of them I always respect them for able to complete the program while working long hours.

U can get your degree in accounting first,then go for ACCA later.
Master in Professional Accounting is a conversion accounting degree for non-accounting graduates.

BTW,are u sure u want to give up your career in life science ?

Do ACCA & CFA.

ACCA will bring you into account. ACCA is equivalent to Masters degree from an Uni.

CFA will bring you out of accounting and into business feasibility studies and analysis, acquisitions etc. and with both; many avenues available. One can study CFA on your own if your maths is good. But it will not give you much accounting knowledge, basically just crunch numbers already available from financial statements.

With ACCA, you can value add by analyzing financial statements, perform forensic accounting, audit......it just gives you more a solid grounding. And will be a very good foundation to add-on to CFA.

ACCA + CFA is more power:)

Degree in account is not as through.

Hope this is thread will not turn political though.....

People tell me huan.:o

thank bro for the advice. i am alrdy mid 20. its quite senseless to pick up another bachelor rite? but i dun intend to work in the life science as the NUS and NTU chinaman master students r more preferred.....they have to complete 2 yrs of work in singapore after getting their master on tax payers money......lol.....wif my pass degree, cant compete wif them. dun wanna work in the lab... so got to think of alternative.... r u guys aware of Master of Professional Accounting from Murdoch @kaplan?

One friend told me some papers, pass rate 29% nia.......:(

U can get your degree in accounting first,then go for ACCA later.
Master in Professional Accounting is a conversion accounting degree for non-accounting graduates.

BTW,are u sure u want to give up your career in life science ?

I believe the MPA is equivalent to australian accounting degree ... which is equivalent to the ACCA.

The CPA is the post grad qualification for accounting/finance professionals.

The ACCA program is indeed very tough. I have worked with some of them I always respect them for able to complete the program while working long hours.

I gave up after paper 5. Every lesson just sit in class and mind rape those PRC chicks in class. After lesson never go home, just crossover to Lorong 18 :o

To finish part two(8 papers) is not difficult. The killer is part 3.

ACCA====>CPA if one wants to be in the audit industry. If in audit industry, then must choose electives and pass audit papers.

ACCA, if one just do accounting in a company. No necessary be a member and pay annual fees. Just pass get the cert and FO :)

ACCA+CPA+CFA=more power.:o

bro, salah liao. ACCA are only meant for ppl who can tong 3-5years of no life. basically no life and need to work very hard for. even that no gurantee can pass as the passing rate is very low. if no interest to work in audit industry then study ACCA is a waste. and it not cheap either as must pay yearly subscription to the association plus must attend seminars every years. there a minimium hours require each year and if boss dont pay, then u must pay the seminar fee yourself and it no cheap hor.

if only want to be an accountant, just take those normal degree offer bu university.

I guess it depends on what you really want to do. If you wanna be a professional accountant, you cant go wrong with ACCA as it is very recognised. However, if all you want to do is get some accounts/finance related career then the Murdoch degree should fill you in nicely.