• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Muis desperately putting out the fire causes by MM remarks

8::::::D

Islam no barrier to integration: Muis
Council responds to queries from Muslims over MM Lee's remarks
By Rachel Chang

THE highest authority on Muslim affairs said yesterday that the teachings of Islam do not hinder Muslims from integrating fully into Singapore society.

In fact, the true teachings of Islam obligate believers to live harmoniously in a multi-religious and multi-racial society, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (Muis) said.

The statement on its website was in response to questions from the public about whether Islamic practices were a barrier to the integration of Muslims in Singapore's plural society.

These questions were prompted by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew's comments in the book, Lee Kuan Yew: Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going, that Muslims in Singapore tend to be 'distinct and separate'.

Muis said the Muslim community here is deeply aware that Islam's teachings exhort believers to live together harmoniously in a plural society like Singapore's.

'An ethos in the Singapore Muslim identity elucidates clearly that a good Muslim who is true to his religion, is also one who is a good citizen,' it said.

Mr Lee's comments have drawn reactions from Muslims here and overseas.

In the book, Mr Lee, when asked to assess the progress of multi-racialism in Singapore, said: 'I have to speak candidly to be of value, but I do not want to offend the Muslim community.

'I think we were progressing very nicely until the surge of Islam came, and if you asked me for my observations, the other communities have easier integration - friends, intermarriages and so on, Indians with Chinese, Chinese with Indians - than Muslims. That's the result of the surge from the Arab states.'

He added: 'I would say, today, we can integrate all religions and races except Islam.' He also said: 'I think the Muslims socially do not cause any trouble, but they are distinct and separate.'

His remarks have been criticised by some leaders, officials and readers in Malaysia and Indonesia after they were reported in local newspapers.

Muslims and other Singaporeans have also written to The Straits Times Forum page on the issue.

Muis said yesterday the Muslim community has always played a role in national development:

'The integration process is readily accepted by the Muslim community as an integral part of the nation's development and progress, which is a shared aspiration of every Singaporean.

'This can be seen through the active participation of Muslims in mainstream society and also through the various multi-racial and multi-religious activities, be they at the individual or at the institution levels.'

Muis said that Muslim Singaporeans' commitment to integration is motivated by two factors:

First, by the aspiration to live up to the country's tenets, as laid out in the pledge to live 'as one united people, regardless of language, race and religion'.

Second, by the teachings of Islam, which obligate Muslims to live harmoniously with those of other races and religions.

'This is reaffirmed by the teachings of Prophet Muhammad through the hadith (the sayings of the Prophet) and his life journey,' the statement said.

It recalled that in 2005, Muis launched the Singapore Muslim Identity project to bring home the point that Muslims can stay true to their religion comfortably while being active citizens in a secular, multi-racial state.

'The fact is, this set of ethos has been an integral part and practice of the Singapore Muslim community for many years. It has been well-received by the Singapore Muslim community because it is not a new construct in the Islamic faith. It is in fact derived from the tenets of the religion.'

Muis added that it was confident that this better understanding of the true teachings of Islam has led Singaporean Muslims to take a progressive outlook and become very much part of the mainstream.

[email protected]

The response (I won't rate it as a rebut as it is so mild) by executives in MUIs is really weak in substance and strenght.

If exact same statement was made by a opposition party or specifically CSJ, MUIs will enure all hell broke loose and CSJ will be arrested for inciting unrest and anti-religion, and get thrown in jail, espcially when election is so near !

Yeah, more of a frantic assurance to Old man than a stolid defence.

I am sure many Malays are disappointed with Muis mild meek pretence at a rebuttal.

Malays with any backbones don't join Muis; they join AMP.

The response (I won't rate it as a rebut as it is so mild) by executives in MUIs is really weak in substance and strenght.

If exact same statement was made by a opposition party or specifically CSJ, MUIs will enure all hell broke loose and CSJ will be arrested for inciting unrest and anti-religion, and get thrown in jail, espcially when election is so near !

Integration my foot!
No Hala they won't eat. Want to marry Muslim girls? Must go and cut your cock (skin), change your name to Muhammad something and change your religion to theirs. Ya, Integration, it is the non-Muslim that must integrate to them and not the other way round. This is a known fact.

Integration my foot!
No Hala they won't eat. Want to marry Muslim girls? Must go and cut your cock (skin), change your name to Muhammad something and change your religion to theirs. Ya, Integration, it is the non-Muslim that must integrate to them and not the other way round. This is a known fact.

1. i believe the name changed should be abdullah.
2. honest, the funny thing is that those whites marrying m&d-gals still eat pork back home!

one of my fren, a chinese, married a malay gal.... attended his malay wedding...we kept laughin seeing him in songkok and the malay attire...he convert to muslim...but when he is out with us...he still eat bakkutteh with us....LOL

Which religion has the highest rape case ?

grandfather rape granddaughter
grandfather rape daughter
father rape daughter
father rape neighbor's dog.

father rape daughter

The Chinese.

They would even sell their mother if they have to.

stupid goondoo. the question is which religion, are you so racist that you can wait to blame Chinese for everything.

father rape daughter

Wa, heng ah. Brothers not involved ha....ops, I meant brothers not kena caught yet ah.

in this occasion, i agree with Harry. Actually Harry telling them not to blow themselves up even if it is part of their you know what.

What the old man said, is not consider sedition meh?? I believe if its the opps or any commoners here were to say such things... Confirm go Whitley Road lim kopi and enjoy air con??

Yeah, more of a frantic assurance to Old man than a stolid defence.

I am sure many Malays are disappointed with Muis mild meek pretence at a rebuttal.

Malays with any backbones don't join Muis; they join AMP.

What to object when what the MM Lee observed is true and happening in everyday life? You must be living in a cave if you have not been observing it. I find it nothing offensive.

MM Lee is not so stupid as to offend the Malay Muslim voters so close to election time? Neighbouring Muslims simply want to have their say to show who is the real abangs. Who other than MM Lee dares to stand up against them?

This is not about neighbouring Muslims rebutting him. You must be living in a cave if you do not know who is AMP.

Blurfucks like you accept whatever comes out of his mouth. After 50 years of racial politics against them, he is asking why Malays dont integrate. If you are not clear about Singapore's racial history and PAP covert race policies, find someone to explain to you.

What to object when what the MM Lee observed is true and happening in everyday life? You must be living in a cave if you have not been observing it. I find it nothing offensive.

MM Lee is not so stupid as to offend the Malay Muslim voters so close to election time? Neighbouring Muslims simply want to have their say to show who is the real abangs. Who other than MM Lee dares to stand up against them?

hahaha....I have 1 fundamental question.
why is it that Malays must be Muslim?
If I am a Malay but I want to be a Christian or Buddhist or Hindu; etc......can or not?

Integration my foot!

totally agree with u bro. With open eyes, we can see it very clearly. They are just another religion like christian. everybody must follow them, if not u are outcast. They just cannot accept the Fact.

Islam no barrier to integration: Muis
Council responds to queries from Muslims over MM Lee's remarks
By Rachel Chang

THE highest authority on Muslim affairs said yesterday that the teachings of Islam do not hinder Muslims from integrating fully into Singapore society.

In fact, the true teachings of Islam obligate believers to live harmoniously in a multi-religious and multi-racial society, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (Muis) said.

Nothing can be futher from the truth. The true teaching of Muhammad the Prophet is that Muslims can never be dominated and Muslim must dominate. Hence it is impossible for non believers to co exist as equals.

The values of non belivers vs believer is also clearly defined

In Saudi Arabia if a person has been killed or caused to die by another, the latter has to pay blood money or compensation, as follows:

100,000 riyals if the victim is a Muslim man

50,000 riyals if a Muslim woman

50,000 riyals if a Christian man

25,000 riyals if a Christian woman

6,666 riyals if a Hindu man

3,333 riyals if a Hindu woman

Source: The Wall Street Journal

Therefore there can be co-existance but only if non believers are made second class in a mixed society of Muslims and Non Muslims.

Perhaps its better not to say anything to let things cool down and leave things that cannot be changed, be. I am sure every good Muslim wants to co exist with others of different faiths and will know how to be flexible when the need arises. The MUIS by providing more flexible guidelines will help this process alot.