• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mudlaysia Football Captain GAN Lions no balls without foreign trash (Acceptable?)

To be considered a true blue Sinkie

- born in sg
- did NS

What's so difficult to understand? Does staying over a prolonged period at Britain make me a British?

Dun know, dun care. Personally I dun see NS as a big deal. All SG women dont serve NS. should we ship all of them out of the country? I have a few Uncles who are born here but never served NS coz it wasn't implemented at the time, does that make them any less Singaporean? I also have a friend who is Pes F coz of some muscular disease. Should we ship him off to Malaysia?

==
bro, wiki on Chan:

- so u see, Chan served NS, Daniel did not. Why?

Chen was born in Taiwan and moved to Singapore at the age of 11. He studied at Nanyang Primary School, Catholic High School and Anglo-Chinese School. Chen was the president of the students’ council at National Junior College and graduated as the top student in Singapore for the 1979 “A” level examinations,[SUP][2][/SUP] scoring straight As in Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics B as well as A1s for General Paper and Chinese. Although Chen had yet to become a Singapore Citizen, he chose to serve National Service. During National Service, Chen served as an infantry platoon commander at the Fifth Singapore Infantry Regiment (5SIR) and as Brigade Adjutant, or DYS1, at the headquarters of the Third Singapore Infantry Brigade (3SIB).[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] He took up citizenship in 1986, six years after serving National Service.[SUP][3][/SUP]
Despite graduating as the top student for the 1979 “A” level examinations, Chen did not gain admission into the local medical school.[SUP][4][/SUP] Thereupon, he pursued his undergraduate studies with Major in Economics at Harvard University. Chen graduated from Harvard University in 1986 and from Corpus Christi College, Oxford University in 1988, where he was a Rhodes Scholar.[SUP][5][/SUP] In 1992 Chen received his Juris Doctor from Stanford Law School and in 2005 received his M.A. fromCorpus Christi College, Oxford University.[SUP][6][/SUP]

To be considered a true blue Sinkie

- born in sg
- did NS

What's so difficult to understand?

JoshuaBenjaminJeyaretnam.jpg

NOT A TRUE SINGAPOREAN COZ NEVER DID NS!!!!!

Does staying over a prolonged period at Britain make me a British?

The answer to this question is actually YES!!!!

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/britishcitizenship/eligibility/naturalisation/standardrequirements/

Fat lard....pls read properly. If you can't speak English, you stay there 100 years also cannot get citizenship! Let me test you....how to get Citizenship in Australia? Dun tell me stay there can liao ah.

Ignoring the fact that Daniel Bennett have been living here for the past 20+ years, I am almost certain he can speak at least 1 of the 4 official language.

And yes for Australia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_nationality_law#Registration_and_Naturalisation_as_an_Australian_Citizen

Naturalization applies to most countries in the world, criteria may be different but the logic same applies. Can speak national language, stay for set period of time, did not leave country for extended period of time etc etc

Dun know, dun care. Personally I dun see NS as a big deal. All SG women dont serve NS. should we ship all of them out of the country? I have a few Uncles who are born here but never served NS coz it wasn't implemented at the time, does that make them any less Singaporean? I also have a friend who is Pes F coz of some muscular disease. Should we ship him off to Malaysia?

==

Women don't serve NS not because they don't want to, its because the constitution don't allow them to. if you are not serving NS, becos u are medically unfit, handicapped, Jehovah witness, etc...fine...but if you are born in Singapore, carry a red IC, you are a singaporean, one way or another.

But for you and me who went thru NS ( I believe you did), it gave us the right to fuck those zar bohs (see one of the posts) who think NS grew boys to men. To fuck the gahmen's policy of giving out PRs / citizenships like tissue paper when singaporeans are going in to serve.

Daniel Benett did not serve NS and went off to UK. Seriously, u think he is a fantastic player? Look at the game in Jln Besar, he KNN pass the ball to the opposition player and still dare to show gua-lan face. Where is our Iskandar, Sasikumar ? Back then, when Benett is still sucking milk, we already have a solid back 4 all Malay chaps, true bred singaporeans. We won the Malaysia Cup.

And I know (from States Times) that there are ang mohs who purposely serve NS to show they are part of Singapore. And there are PRs who serve as VIs.

So, if you ask does serving NS make u more singaporean? U ask the bros here, the answer is resoundingly yes.

If you can't commit 2 years of NS to defend a country you are staying in for your entire life, you are just a parasite leeching on locals.

==

Women don't serve NS not because they don't want to, its because the constitution don't allow them to. if you are not serving NS, becos u are medically unfit, handicapped, Jehovah witness, etc...fine...but if you are born in Singapore, carry a red IC, you are a singaporean, one way or another.

But for you and me who went thru NS ( I believe you did), it gave us the right to fuck those zar bohs (see one of the posts) who think NS grew boys to men. To fuck the gahmen's policy of giving out PRs / citizenships like tissue paper when singaporeans are going in to serve.

Daniel Benett did not serve NS and went off to UK. Seriously, u think he is a fantastic player? Look at the game in Jln Besar, he KNN pass the ball to the opposition player and still dare to show gua-lan face. Where is our Iskandar, Sasikumar ? Back then, when Benett is still sucking milk, we already have a solid back 4 all Malay chaps, true bred singaporeans. We won the Malaysia Cup.

And I know (from States Times) that there are ang mohs who purposely serve NS to show they are part of Singapore. And there are PRs who serve as VIs.

So, if you ask does serving NS make u more singaporean? U ask the bros here, the answer is resoundingly yes.

I dun get this, if what you say is true, and NS is such a big Freaking deal, and that only men who have gone true NS can be considered Singaporean. Why in the world of ass did every freaking moron in here start calling me a FT supporting PAP dog when I came out to defend a 17 yr old kid who just pass out of OCS and whose father is a converted Citizen. Because that was the first time anyone in here started calling me a Pro-FT PAP Dog.

Oh yeah just in case any idiot in here forgot I was defending a CITIZEN who had gone through NS in that post and not the FT or PR that some asshole twisted the story later on

As far as I'm concern he has lived here all his life, made the commitment to convert to citizenship. That's more then enough for me to qualify as a citizen

Red Amoeba; Back then, when Benett is still sucking milk, we already have a solid back 4 all Malay chaps, true bred singaporeans. We won the Malaysia Cup

Again got to agree with Bro Red Amoeba..

If my memory serves me right this is the backline of our Lions competing in the 1993 SEA Games, we got the great David Lee as our goalie.. RB: Saswadimata Dasuki, Centre backs: Lim Tong Hai, Razali Saad, Left back; Borhan Abu Samah..

3 Malays 2 Chinese helming our backline... All 4 born and bred Singaporean..

your reasoning is flawed.

If male , fit and eligible after early 1967 then must do NS lah. How can you say NS is no big deal. Also if reasons for being unable to do NS are valid then of course exemption does not render them any less Singaporean. So no need to ship out your womenfolk, uncles and your unfortunate PES F friend. I did my NS during the early years and it was not easy. So dont relegate NS to ' no big deal '

==

Where is our Iskandar, Sasikumar ? Back then, when Benett is still sucking milk, we already have a solid back 4 all Malay chaps, true bred singaporeans. We won the Malaysia Cup.

Bro,
Iskandar now s league coach, ocassionally appears on tv, but should concentrate on his coaching. :o
Sasikumar now running sports pr company, appears on tv quite often as football analyst, he's actually quite good.

Back when Bennett sucking milk, the back 4 consisted of guys like T. Pathmanathan and Au Yeong Pak Kuan, who are Indian and Chinese respectively. AUPK ironically has now migrated to Austria with his Austrian wife and family. :o

My take on the SG football team FT issue:
I still support SG team, whether there are foreign talents or not.
But how I judge the real Singaporean is what he does after he stops receiving economic fruits from SG and not necessarily whether he was born here or whether he did NS.
Suspect that one guy who will continue to stay here is Alex Duric. There was an interesting interview that John Dykes did with him where Alex exlpained why he likes SG. He was caught up in civil war back home and was at one time stateless.
Those 2, Dykes and Duric are 2 FTs whom I respect.

and the wingers are : malek awab and d tokijan ...or is it hasnim haron?

strikers are : F Ahmad, Sundramoothy..

we have FTs playing with us (3 i believe to be in line with the rules and regulations) - Alistair Edwards Abbas Saad and Jang Jung
Other FTs - Michael Vana - i think he genna kelong case, sent away. Craig Foster - came and go.

Again got to agree with Bro Red Amoeba..

If my memory serves me right this is the backline of our Lions competing in the 1993 SEA Games, we got the great David Lee as our goalie.. RB: Saswadimata Dasuki, Centre backs: Lim Tong Hai, Razali Saad, Left back; Borhan Abu Samah..

3 Malays 2 Chinese helming our backline... All 4 born and bred Singaporean..

Aiyoh bro, in 1993, Bennett was already a teenager. Hope he wasn't still drinking milk then...................... :D

Who could forget Tong Hai. The moron scored 2 goals against SG when we were in the Semis against Myanmar during the Sea games. I'm sure no one follows this but back in the S-league days when Tiong Bahru United(now Tanjong Pagar United) was still a major player in the league, he also scored some nice goals for the opposition against his own team as well.

I remember the Brazilian born player Egmar Goncalves who changed his citizenship to play for Spore..
Failed to make an impact for us an now he has left Spore for good after making good money playing in the Ass League... Read somewhere that he had given up on his Spore citizenship and is now in his native Brazil running a football academy.. Same goes to Mirko Grabovac who left Spore for his home back in Croatia..

But how I judge the real Singaporean is what he does after he stops receiving economic fruits from SG and not necessarily whether he was born here or whether he did NS.

Finally someone who talk sense

http://www.bolasepako.com/2009/01/exclusive-q-with-home-united-legend.html

IMAG0022.JPG

Q & A with Egmar...
It's been quite a while we last hear from you, after you returned to Brazil. So are you still playing actively? As what I heard you been playing for some amateur teams since then.

“After I returned from Singapore in 2007, I played for a club called Desportiva and follow by Rio Branco, a year later, but I decided to hang up my boots because I found that infrastructure and administrative-wise the standard is too amateurish.

Currently, I run my own soccer academy in Espírito Santo State, where I'm staying now and the kids I coaching now are completing in ‘Copa Agazetinha’, a league for kids and teenagers in this part of Brazil. ”

It was mentioned in the papers in Singapore years back that you already relinquished your Singapore citizenship, it must be a tough decision then, do you ever regret that decision? If yes, why? OR if no, why?

“I always stated clearly beforehand that 'once my playing career is over, I'll return to Brazil for good', and since I'm back in Brazil now so there's no point of retaining the (Singapore) citizenship.”

Beside you, Mirko Grabovac also followed your footsteps and returned to his native Croatia, citing financial sustainability, so was that the main reason behind for you to give up the Singapore citizenship too? As it was mentioned in the papers then that salary was one of the reasons why you decided to leave Singapore, true?

“No, I´m proud of my career in Singapore. I never had any salary issue .

I left Singapore because it's been 11 years since I came over to play in the S.League, also my children were yearning to return home as what my daughter once said,'Oh, daddy, you always tell me that we will return to Brazil, but it never happens' and thought then that it was time to leave Singapore.”

In your opinion, what can FAS and the clubs do to resolve this issue, in order to keep naturalized players in Singapore for long term?

“I think the relevant bodies (i.e.: the FAS and the clubs) should provide “post-career” employment to those (naturalized) players, once they retired from playing.

They can be either in a position of that as a coach, manager etc.

Take an example of Aldair (who was part of the Brazilian team that won the World Cup in 1994), despite that he's not longer with AS Roma, he still maintained contact with the club and as for me, however, I have not heard anything from my former club, Home United or FAS after I left. ”

It's been quite a while you left Singapore, tell us what do you miss Singapore the most (football-wise and non-football wise)?

“It was a difficult period for me when I first came back to Brazil from Singapore.

Once I looked at my trophies at home and it was hard to believe, initially, that my playing career was coming to an end, at times I often dreamed of scoring goals for Home United in my sleep too.

'Mani' (Home United's skipper S Subramani) once emailed me and said,'We would like to have you here again, is missing something during training sessions' as I was always happy, talking joke to other players during the training sessions and (national 'keeper) Lionel Lewis gave a pair of boots as a gift.

I love my ex-teammates and Singapore. I lived 11 years there.”

You spotted Peres de Oliveira and recommended him to Home United, so any chance of seeing someone like Peres who you can recommend to S.League now?

“No, I don´t have many contacts. The only player I recommended was Rivaldo da Costa, who played for Geylang (in 2008) after one of their directors enquired about him from me, before signing him.”

We seen number of Brazilian players in S.League over past few years but none of them stayed as long like both Peres de Oliveira and you, what do you think is the main problem Brazilian players faced in settling in Singapore? as refer to Qns 9) what do you think can be done to resolve the problem?

“A good question.

Honestly, I don´t know why just Peres and myself being the only ones from Brazil able to stay for long (playing in the S.League) but I always gave 100% when playing for Home United during my years there.

I love that club, all that I have today is because I played for Home United.”

Do you still follow S.League?

“Yes, I look the official website sometimes. Just that. I´m sad because SAFFC been winning the league title.”

Last question - Do you have anything to say to Singapore football fans, who been wondering you are doing now?

“You will be always and forever in my heart. ”

Thank for the interview, the memories, Egmar and we wish you all the best... and also to Renato, for the call he made to Egmar in conducting this interview, thank you.

Good job Bro Cooleo.. This is the article about Egmar that I'm talking about..

Who could forget Tong Hai. The moron scored 2 goals against SG when we were in the Semis against Myanmar during the Sea games. I'm sure no one follows this but back in the S-league days when Tiong Bahru United(now Tanjong Pagar United) was still a major player in the league, he also scored some nice goals for the opposition against his own team as well.

==

yes...back then i was cursing his parents, grandparents for that..why? I was passionate about the Singapore team.

Yes, tanjong pagar ...they have this very tall black player, then another player with only one arm. Steven Tan - the super sub was playing for TP...

==

yes...back then i was cursing his parents, grandparents for that..why? I was passionate about the Singapore team.

Yes, tanjong pagar ...they have this very tall black player, then another player with only one arm. Steven Tan - the super sub was playing for TP...

I followed them until the team went bankrupt. They had pretty good standings during the first few years, constantly in the top 3, I remember they even loss the league on goal difference once. Then the stupid club went bankrupt. The tall black guy was from Senegal. Very good striker. Way better then those 2 piece of crap Itimi Dickson and Agu Casmir. I stopped following the league since coz the other stadiums were a bit troublesome to get to. The standard of the league was never an issue coz I was watching the kampong standard M-league and the switch to the kampong standard S-league so no difference.

In the earlier days the S-league teams actually thrashed the M-league teams whenever they played. Those were the days. Standard went a bit downhill in recent years though. I think the main probably was the lack of marketing, lack of support from local media and the increasing availability of the EPL. At 1 point U cant even get any freaking news from a few of the local publication.

IIRC that Tong Hai 2 own goal match we loss on penalties(oh and the 2 freaking goals were probably the most spectacular own goals I've seen in my life)