• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mudlaysia Football Captain GAN Lions no balls without foreign trash (Acceptable?)

cooleo

Malaysia captain to Lions: 'You are nothing' without foreign players

malaysia_captain_to_lions_you_are_nothing_without_foreign_talent-thumbnail.jpg

Is our national football team over-reliant on foreign 'imports'? Malaysia skipper Safiq Rahim thinks so. The 24-year old declared yesterday that without the squad's five foreign-born players, the Lions are 'nothing'.

The statement comes just three days ahead of the return leg of the second-round World Cup Qualifier between Singapore and Malaysia. The two teams will meet once more on Thursday, after their last meeting where Singapore beat their Malaysian opponents 5-3.

STOMPer SGBoleh commented:

"I think this is just an epic case of sour grapes.

"It is true that Singapore's World Cup hopes are bolstered by our five foreign-born players, but I think this is really just a lame attempt to try to weaken our morale with mind games before Thursday's match.

"Naturalised players are nothing new in the world of professional sports. Even in the English Premier League, a large proportion of players are not born in England.

"I for one am behind our Lions. If anything I hope our local players take his criticism to heart and work hard on Thursday, that will really shut them up." :rolleyes:

20110726ssfootball4jpg1311648510540-data.jpg

New Straits Times
Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011

NATIONAL captain Safiq Rahim struck a boot on Singapore by insisting that they are nothing without their five naturalised players.

"I think they are very reliant on their naturalised players. Singapore are not much of a team without them," said Safiq before boarding the flight to Kuala Lumpur at the Changi Airport yesterday.

Singapore's naturalised players - Aleksandar Duric (formerly from Bosnia), Daniel Bennett (England), Mustafic Fahrudin (Serbia), Shi Jiayi and Qiu Li (from China) played an instrumental role in their 5-3 victory over Malaysia in the World Cup second round, first leg qualifier at the Jalan Besar Stadium on Saturday.

The 41-year-old Duric proved age was no barrier when he easily outwitted young centre-backs Mohd Fadhli Shas and Muslim Ahmad to score a brace while Fahrudin, Shi Jiayi and Qiu Li added the other goals.
RELATED STORIES

M'sia fans pelt S'pore fans with water bottles
M'sia attributes Lions win to foreign imports
Singapore beats Malaysia 5-3
Your thoughts on the game

"These players are only good at their small stadium. They will not be able to play their game in front of our fans at the National Stadium. We will beat them," warned Safiq.

But the 24-year-old captain is suspended from the return leg after he was sent off five minutes into the second half for planting his studs into the ribs of Singapore's Hariss Harun.

"I am disappointed but I can't turn back the clock to make amends. I deserve the card as I miss-timed my tackle. I am confident my team will overcome the deficit to advance to the next stage," said Safiq yesterday.

"This is only my second red card of my career. Life is unfair... my team need me but I can't even be on bench on Thursday but it is not the end of the world...I will use my energy to motivate my teammates.

"I don't know whether my absence will affect the team's performance but I am sure that whoever replaces me will do a great job."

Among the players in contention to fill up the void in Safiq's absence are Ismail Faruqi Ashari, Shakir Shaari and K. Gurusamy.

I tend to agree with Mudland's skipper. Play square - all Sinkie player and watch the fun.

I don't mind even if we lost at least its true blue Sinkies. Not like table tennis, China's rejects won the Olympic silver and China's elite won the gold...nothing to be proud of.

Aiyo Singapore football team really disgraceful. Out of 11 players, 5 are foreigners! lol

Why dun recruit better foreign players like Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi leh? As long as can win, is ok right?

no need to look so far. Get maradona samleong can aredi lah. :eek:

Aiyo Singapore football team really disgraceful. Out of 11 players, 5 are foreigners! lol

Why dun recruit better foreign players like Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi leh? As long as can win, is ok right?

The Msia captain generates so much "heat".

I forsee the return leg in KL to end in a draw or win for the away team. It's mandated. :D

Daniel Bennett has been living here since he was 2.

I can understand pple complaining about ready made ones like Duric or the table tennis team but a number of the athletics were here young and were trained here. I think those shouldn't be classified along with the rest

I hate to say it but I think Mudland Tiger skipper has a valid point..

We'll see how our United Nations football team fare against the Tigers and their 50,000 m&d fans this week..

I will support the mudlaysia team on thursday. at least they play fair.

Daniel Bennett has been living here since he was 2.

I can understand pple complaining about ready made ones like Duric or the table tennis team but a number of the athletics were here young and were trained here. I think those shouldn't be classified along with the rest

===

bro...technically speaking, he moved here at 2 but took up Singapore citizen at 2002 in order to PLAY FOOTBALL...if he is not playing football, he would have still be UK citizen.

seldom I see singaporean who is honest and has some pride. you are one of them.

I tend to agree with Mudland's skipper. Play square - all Sinkie player and watch the fun.

I don't mind even if we lost at least its true blue Sinkies. Not like table tennis, China's rejects won the Olympic silver and China's elite won the gold...nothing to be proud of.

===

bro...technically speaking, he moved here at 2 but took up Singapore citizen at 2002 in order to PLAY FOOTBALL...if he is not playing football, he would have still be UK citizen.

If he did not convert he would have been an FT footballer here and probably command a higher salary. I don't know what kind of logic is that. He wasn't born here, big deal, he grew up here. He was already living in SG before he remembers anything. If anything he has been living here far longer then Chan Show Mao. Does that make CSM even less a Singaporean then he is? CSM btw came to SG at the age of 10 not forgetting he spent the majority of his adult life overseas while Daniel Bennett was the complete opposite

Fucking fat ass.. just because he is ang mo means he is FT and deserves high pay when playing in the Ass league?

fuck you understand?

Stupid theory from fat lard. If he played in the English lower divisions, he would have earned a pittance too.

==

hey bro...thats where u r wrong..he was already a FT footballer with Tiong Bahru..here's his bio from wiki.

its just that he wont make it to the UK team & since FAS came calling ... he converted to Sinkie citizenship in order to gain international football. Even at club level, he can still be paid FT wages.

[h=2]International career[/h]Bennett made his debut for the Singapore national team on 11 December 2002 against the Philippines at Singapore's National Stadium. He had a goal disallowed that day (an effort that he still maintains was a legitimate goal). He scored his first international goal against Hong Kong on 4 August 2003.
Bennett was a key member of the Singapore teams which won the 2004 Tiger Cup (defeating Indonesia in the final), and the 2007 ASEAN Football Championship (defeating Thailand in the final).
[h=2][edit]Club career[/h]Bennett had a stint playing for Tiong Bahru in the Singapore Premier League as a 17 year-old in 1995, before he left Singapore to study at Loughborough University in the UK. He then returned to Singapore, and played in the S.League for Balestier Central from 1999–2000, and for Tanjong Pagar United in 2001. He won the S.League's 'Player of the Year' award at the end of the 2001 season.
Bennett then had a stint playing for Wrexham in the English football league. He helped the club win the FAW Premier Cup in 2003.
Bennett briefly returned to the S.League in 2002, playing 11 games for SAFFC during their title-winning season. He then returned to Singapore permanently in 2003 and joined SAFFC. He moved to Woodlands Wellington in 2005, before rejoining SAFFC in 2007. He was part of the SAFFC teams which won the S.League and Singapore Cup double in 2007 and 2008.
During the 2007 Singapore Cup final against Tampines Rovers, Bennett was involved in a clash with Noh Alam Shah (a Tampines Rovers striker and fellow Singapore national team player) during which Alam Shah kneed Bennett in the head in a tussle for the ball and, after being dragged away by his team-mates, returned and kicked Bennett in the head. Bennett was knocked unconscious and had to be taken to hospital while Alam Shah was sent off. SAFFC ultimately won the match 4-3. The incident resulted in Alam Shah receiving a 12 month ban (reduced to 7 months on appeal).

Red Amoeba; its just that he wont make it to the UK team & since FAS came calling ... he converted to Sinkie citizenship in order to gain international football. Even at club level, he can still be paid FT wages.

I agree with Bro Red Amoeba..

Danny lad is just not good enough for England or any other British home nations.. If England came calling for him in 2002, I have no doubt that he would choose the 3 Lions over our Kampong Pussy Lions.. But sadly for him, that England FA call did not reach him and instead its the FAS who called and invited him..
He knows that he will never be able to play for England to fulfill his international dream, thats why he agreed to play for our Lions..

The fact that the guy lived 27 out of 32 yrs of his life here in SG seem loss to everyone. How is he any less a Singaporean compared to someone like CSM for example who spent a grand total of 14 years out of 50 yrs of his life in SG?

CSM came to SG at 11. Daniel Bennett came to SG at 2.

CSM at 25, Daniel Bennett convert to citizen at 24

More glaringly, CSM left SG for the US and then China during his uni years and never came back until this year while the other guy has always been playing Football in SG.

Daniel Bennett practically lived all his live in SG. I can understand if the criticism was directed at the rest but pointing it at this guy is a bit ridiculous

both got serve NS or not?

Dun know, dun care. Personally I dun see NS as a big deal. All SG women dont serve NS. should we ship all of them out of the country? I have a few Uncles who are born here but never served NS coz it wasn't implemented at the time, does that make them any less Singaporean? I also have a friend who is Pes F coz of some muscular disease. Should we ship him off to Malaysia?