• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Msia & Brunei Nearly Went to War!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Published May 1, 2010
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Malaysia gave up oil blocks to Brunei, says Mahathir
Abdullah Badawi caused country to lose at least US$100b of oil, he says

By S JAYASANKARAN
IN KUALA LUMPUR
FORMER Malaysian prime minister Mahathir Mohamad has dropped a bombshell claiming that the country had lost territorial waters sitting on one billion barrels of oil equivalent to Brunei during the tenure of his successor Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

<TABLE class=picBoxL cellSpacing=2 width=100 align=left><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR class=caption><TD>DR MAHATHIR
'It would seem that the loss of a huge oil-producing area - that is okay'</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>In a late Thursday post on his blog titled 'Malaysia's Generosity', Dr Mahathir said he had read in the newspapers that a substantial oil-producing offshore area in the South China Sea, namely Block L and Block M, 'were no longer a part of Malaysia'.
Last week, US-based Murphy Oil, which had entered into a production-sharing contract with national oil company Petronas to prospect the two blocks offshore Limbang in Sarawak announced that it was ceasing operations because it had been told the two blocks were 'no longer part of Malaysia'.
'It would seem that the loss of a huge oil-producing area - that is okay,' wrote Dr Mahathir.
Ironically, the opposition's Lim Kit Siang has also echoed the former premier's views, insisting on an explanation from the government.
Dr Mahathir is not only the current Petronas adviser but was also premier when the territorial dispute began in July 2002, when Murphy struck oil in 1,340 metres of water 150 kilometres off Sabah.
The field, Kikeh, had an estimated recoverable reserve of up to 700 million barrels, or 21 per cent of Malaysia's then oil reserves.
The find triggered interest in the deep-water prospects of the South China Sea and probably sparked the dispute between the two countries.
Soon after, Malaysia and Brunei hired prospectors to explore the two nearby blocks. The sultanate awarded one block to a consortium led by French major Total in 2003. Meanwhile, Petronas awarded both blocks to a subsidiary and to Murphy Oil.
In 2000, Brunei claimed sovereignty over the blocks as part of an 'exclusive economic zone' (EEZ), which stretches 200 nautical miles from its coastline. Malaysia had long claimed the same area as part of its own EEZ. But it wasn't a problem until Kikeh.
It got worse. According to the Far Eastern Economic Review July 2003 issue, Brunei sent in a gunboat in March 2003 to drive away a Murphy drilling ship in the area. In April, the Malaysian navy sent several gunboats into the disputed area to block the arrival of a Total ship. After a tense stand-off involving a single patrol craft from Brunei, Total backed off and both sides stopped work in the disputed areas.
For Dr Mahathir, there seemed to be no question of ownership. 'Block L and Block M had been claimed by Malaysia based on historical facts,' he wrote in his blog. 'Accordingly, Petronas entered into a production-sharing contract with Murphy Oil to start drilling to produce oil. It is estimated that the reserves amounted to almost one billion barrels.' It isn't clear if his estimate is right but oil industry sources told BT that it was 'possible'.
What's clear is that Mr Abdullah attempted to sort things out before he retired. 'Abdullah Badawi negotiated with the Sultan (in 2009) to get back Limbang in Sarawak,' said Dr Mahathir. 'In return he agreed to surrender the two blocks to Brunei.'
Limbang shares a border with Brunei and has long been claimed by the sultanate although for all intents and purposes, it has been part of Malaysia.
Dr Mahathir claimed that 'no Petronas representatives were present at the meeting - only foreign office staff and the foreign affairs adviser to the PM'.
'As we all know, Abdullah triumphantly announced that he had settled the Limbang claim with Brunei,' Dr Mahathir said, but 'no mention was made of the two blocks'.
Subsequently, however, Brunei denied that Limbang had been settled. 'The foreign office and Abdullah did not rebut Brunei's statement,' wrote Dr Mahathir.
'Now it is made clear that the two blocks are no longer a part of Malaysia,' said the former premier. 'Abdullah has caused Malaysia to lose at least US$100 billion of Malaysia's oil in this agreement. Can Wisma Putra please explain why it did not stop Abdullah?'
At press time, however, Mr Abdullah issued a rebuttal. He said that the discussions had revolved around establishing, once and for all, a boundary between the two countries. On the land side, a demarcation exercise would be carried out that, once completed, would establish a 'final and permanent' boundary between Sarawak and Brunei that would remove all previous 'irritants' (read Limbang) without 'any disadvantage to Malaysia'.
On the water side, Mr Abdullah conceded that the two blocks now belonged to Brunei but the agreement contained a clause that Malaysia would jointly develop the oil resources of the area for 'a period of 40 years'. This means, Mr Abdullah concluded, that as far as the oil and gas resources of the area are concerned, the agreement 'is not a loss for Malaysia'.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I thought they were Abang & Kawan??:p no Kawan-ku or Cinta-ku?:D

How to go to war Brunei Population only the size of Toa Payoh!!! Malaysia is many times(millions) the size of Brunei!!!

No war going to happen.
If war really start between Malaysia and Brunei will Singapore help Brunei since both share same currency. Sure Singapore currency value will drop by 50%.

I thought they were Abang & Kawan??:p no Kawan-ku or Cinta-ku?:D

Under the veil of ASEAN cooperation, Brunei and KL do not see eye to eye -ever since The Kingdom backed out from the federation. Brunei made the right decision and is the best country in the world now. I am not drunk at time of writing

I wonder which country ADVISED Brunei on this matter; to make MADHatter so mad ah.:rolleyes:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

i think its time sarawak and sabah become independent states and east malaysia just malaysia....one malaysia thats all

They were more fervent about this twenty years ago. It's fizzled out. There was even some talk (whispers really) about making Sabah a state for "overseas chinese" but I think most of them ended up in London and Frisco selling char siew or heroin. As for Sarawak, they're quite happy banding together, living in longhouses, and keeping others out.

Sarawak and Sabah should strive for independence - it's capable of self-sustaining because it has rich resources (oil, gas, timber, gold, rich agricultural land, tourism attractions, etc).

It should be possible. Remember when Pakistan was West and East Pakistan? The people of East Pakistan finally broke away from the Central Government in West Pakistan and became Bangladesh. Yes, there were casualties - but it was worth the price.

May be then Peninsular Malaysia will want to join Singapore to form a new federation and make Singapore its capital.

Sarawak and Sabah should strive for independence - it's capable of self-sustaining because it has rich resources (oil, gas, timber, gold, rich agricultural land, tourism attractions, etc).

It should be possible. Remember when Pakistan was West and East Pakistan? The people of East Pakistan finally broke away from the Central Government in West Pakistan and became Bangladesh. Yes, there were casualties - but it was worth the price.

May be then Peninsular Malaysia will want to join Singapore to form a new federation and make Singapore its capital.

i agree they should push forward to being independent....the republic of sabah and republic of sarawak....its time to break away from west malaysia and form their own

"Sarawak and Sabah are rich in resources" - and that's why Malaysia wants them!

1. They have no army!!!!
2. The population is a mixed riff-raff of different tribes with NO UNIFIED GOV'T other than KL!!!
3. If they don't have KL's protection, Indonesia will invade!!!!! Or Sg but other than the 1st Battalion, the rest of the army are ... okay, I won't say. Sabah will be taken by Phillipines or Abu Sayyaf!!!!

Now I ask - who d'ya think Sabah and Sarawak would rather be with? I'd like to say Sg. Luckily this is Sammyboy, or I would be questioned for political motives. Hahahahah.

This is so funny.

i agree they should push forward to being independent....the republic of sabah and republic of sarawak....its time to break away from west malaysia and form their own

The first person in their political circles to suggest that will face a fate worse than Anwar. Malaysia Boleh!

Our neighbors are so OIL/GAS RICH.

What have SG got?

Only NeWater Sai Chwee? :p:eek::(

How to go to war Brunei Population only the size of Toa Payoh!!! Malaysia is many times(millions) the size of Brunei!!!

Brunei has defence treaty with S'pore. In even of attack, S'pore will come to their aid. So, your question of how to go to war? Very simple, SAF will open Mob, and when u report to camp, they will send you to fight mats in Brunei. IN other words, your blood willbe spilled for Brunei Sultan's wealth. Got it? Otherwise u think the Bruneian navy so garang to confront malaysian navy?

that sucks, fight for rich terrorists wealth. those soldiers with guns should turn around and take out pap instead.

Under the veil of ASEAN cooperation, Brunei and KL do not see eye to eye -ever since The Kingdom backed out from the federation. Brunei made the right decision and is the best country in the world now. I am not drunk at time of writing

Brunei did not join the Federation of Malaysia, due to their oil reserves, they were smart...we have no choice!!

u sure or not.... Brunei having defence agreement with Singapore? Sure they let us use their jungles, etc... but so do the Taiwanese.... I never heard of that kindda agreement before. It will suck if we have to protect other countries using our military strength. That's worse than mercenaries. At least mercenaries get paid according to the spoils of the war. SAF soldiers are indeed slaves if that is the case.

You better believe it.

But our Singapore soldiers not stupid lah. If got war, they will think first before they act. You think because HIGHER UP tell you soldiers to go to war, you BLINDLY follow orders?

Also, many FT PROSTITUTES ar taking cover underground in a hotel in SCOTTS road that never get raided by AV. If got raid there; AV only go there to jia hong.

Go to that hotel and check the undergound cover these FT prostitutes use; ANY DAY OF THE WEEK.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

What, are you some kind of simpleton or what? There was an article in the Economist many years ago, in the last page of the magazine. The article basically talks about the close ties that S'pore has with Brunei. It started when there was an attempted coup by the Sultan's uncle to take over the country. The sultan at that time was very young, and so his opponents though he would be weak. The SUltan called on the Brits to help him since they have a defence treaty. The Brits had to sail their Gurkha garrison from HK down to Brunei to put out the rebellion, but that would have taken 2 weeks. The SUltan could be dead by than. In the meantime, the Brits called upon Con you to help because he was nearer and he send supposedly 3 and 4 SIR to Brunei. This saved the Sultan, and from than on, they were very close. You better believe there is a secret treaty in place to help him. Seeing as how the Economist was not sued for this article, I assume they were accurate. Ask yourself these questions:

1) Why is Con You, a non muslim the godfather of the SUltan's oldest son? This is astonishing, considering that there are many rich and powerful muslims in the region that would be more than happy to be the godfather.
2) Why is the Bruneian currency and central bank in such close alignment with the Sin dollar and MAS?
3) Why is our entire armed forces geared towards long range offensive ops? eg. tankers to refuel fighter bombers on their way to bomb any enemy in Brunei, etc.
4) Which country in the world with so much wealth would allow a foreign country which is non muslim to station troops, tanks and aircraft totalling 1/3 of their own armed forces on a permanent basis in their country? What an extraordinary level of trust. Our forces arethere as part of the treaty as a quick reaction force.

I can go on, but you get the gist. Many sinkies don't realise that they could very possibly be fighting and dying for someone else in some other foreign country. Would you put it pass the PAP? Yes. you would.

What, are you some kind of simpleton or what? There was an article in the Economist many years ago, in the last page of the magazine. The article basically talks about the close ties that S'pore has with Brunei. It started when there was an attempted coup by the Sultan's uncle to take over the country. The sultan at that time was very young, and so his opponents though he would be weak. The SUltan called on the Brits to help him since they have a defence treaty. The Brits had to sail their Gurkha garrison from HK down to Brunei to put out the rebellion, but that would have taken 2 weeks. The SUltan could be dead by than. In the meantime, the Brits called upon Con you to help because he was nearer and he send supposedly 3 and 4 SIR to Brunei. This saved the Sultan, and from than on, they were very close. You better believe there is a secret treaty in place to help him. Seeing as how the Economist was not sued for this article, I assume they were accurate. Ask yourself these questions:

1) Why is Con You, a non muslim the godfather of the SUltan's oldest son? This is astonishing, considering that there are many rich and powerful muslims in the region that would be more than happy to be the godfather.
2) Why is the Bruneian currency and central bank in such close alignment with the Sin dollar and MAS?
3) Why is our entire armed forces geared towards long range offensive ops? eg. tankers to refuel fighter bombers on their way to bomb any enemy in Brunei, etc.
4) Which country in the world with so much wealth would allow a foreign country which is non muslim to station troops, tanks and aircraft totalling 1/3 of their own armed forces on a permanent basis in their country? What an extraordinary level of trust. Our forces arethere as part of the treaty as a quick reaction force.

I can go on, but you get the gist. Many sinkies don't realise that they could very possibly be fighting and dying for someone else in some other foreign country. Would you put it pass the PAP? Yes. you would.

Long long time know this already along with the fact that if matland don't sell us water we go over to hum tam them hehe:D