• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MS Malaysia "Blackout"

Microsoft

XP still selling for RM580...:eek: Hey y not blackout China har? There lagi more pirated XP...:biggrin::p

Curtains for pirated Windows

STEVEN PATRICK
Wed, Aug 27, 2008
The New Straits Times

PETALING JAYA, MALAYSIA: From today, those with pirated copies of the Windows XP Professional operating system in their computers that are Internet-capable could find their screens going black and the icons vanishing as Microsoft Corp gets tough.

There are 8.6 million users of Windows XP Pro in Malaysia and about three million are expected to suffer the "blackouts", according to Microsoft Malaysia.

To continue working, users will need to reset the machine's desktop background. All will return to normal, but only for 60 minutes before another blackout occurs.

The only "cure" is to get a licensed copy of the operating system from a Microsoft reseller or going online at www.microsoft. com/malaysia/genuine. Each licence costs RM580.

The initiative is part of Microsoft's anti-piracy campaign, dubbed Windows Genuine Advantage, aimed at educating users on the benefits of using genuine software, Microsoft Malaysia client business group director K.T. Ng told The Star yesterday.

tate

Why do these people have to use pirate windows? My windows 2000, XP and Vista are all free. They come pre-installed with the PC or notebook that I have. Of course, by now I've dump the Windows 2000 machine. :biggrin: :biggrin:

Big Sexy

Siao wan.. how could they charge so much for a product they dont give support on anymore???

but Ms...no worries... there are alot of 'people' better than those in microsoft
it wont be long before u see the 'No Blackout' version.. Then Acer3939 can use his PC again..:biggrin: :biggrin:

XP still selling for RM580...:eek:

Microsoft

Why do these people have to use pirate windows?

Maybe they dun buy frm Dell/HP... but some local PC maker... Remember Datamini/Sherry/Cubic last time... Can request wat sw u 1 foc...:biggrin::biggrin:

It's a question of afforadability lah :wink:..the same goes for pirated games, movies etc. :p

Quite true... Vista Ultimate cost a bomb if u diy ur comp... Gamers... boh pian... DIY all the way...:biggrin::biggrin:

but Ms...no worries... there are alot of 'people' better than those in microsoft it wont be long before u see the 'No Blackout' version.. Then Acer3939 can use his PC again..:biggrin: :biggrin:

Heard Acer jus bought a dis baby siak kian hiand frm CIA wor...:biggrin::p

1.7285!cray1-small.jpg

Nothing will happen if the user of pirated software not update the system. So better get original for price about RM250~RM300 for home edition.
MS will not fine them. Because no point of suing each user for few hundred $ will take more time and cost. So the best solution when the pirated user update the system the whole system going down.