• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MRT train hits 14-year-old girl

MarrickG

20110403.170657_mrtamk-a.jpg

SINGAPORE - A 14-year-old Thai girl was hospitalised with bodily injuries after she was hit by a MRT train at Ang Mo Kio MRT station on Sunday morning.

The Straits Times reported that a reader saw the victim under the train before he was ushered by train officials off the train platform.

According to the reader, the girl's lower limbs were broken with the knee bone jutting out visibly. Her head was also bleeding.

The news site said that the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) received a call at 11.11am this morning regarding the incident. The SCDF said that the girl was conscious, although her lower limbs were severely injured.

The Straits Times also said that commuters experienced five to 10 minute delays on the North-South line. However, SMRT officials said train services were not disrupted.

pic3.jpg

pic2.jpg

AssMrt cannot make it. Nowadays, take mrt also must buy travel insurance....CCB!

travel_insurance.jpg

Cannot understand why they take so loooooong to setup the safety barrier . How long was the last case of accident. Wonder whether all cctv are up by now . If that was a miw fallen into there, it would make a hell lot of different in speed of setting up. We can do mracle prepaing YOG in record time, but we are so slow to make a place safer. Feeling sad for the girl, all dream and hope gone with this episode.

PM Lee can promise Ang Mo Kio voters he is making sure LTA builds the platform screen doors for the safety of all voters...

Why do these jokers seem to have a penchant for falling onto MRT tracks

you don't need a scholar to find the risk on those platform , there must be barrier and safety door to prevent anyone from falling into it due to giddiness or crowd ( don't forget we are heading to 6M in population, when it is pack like sardine, you will be 'pushed' along the way even when there is no accident.

Usually people who are poor tend to 'push themselves' down the train track

I've taken trains in many different Cities. Places like Tokyo and most of Europe don't seem to have a problem with it. How come we have idiots falling onto the tracks so often

tks to our education system...where from young, we have 'rules' & guidelines to follow.

What kind of answer is that? Is there a guideline that says, thou shall fall onto tracks.

Which doesn't start explaining the Japanese who have more rules and guidelines then us drilled into the kids when they are young

Search the net for train platform accident, there are plenty . When you don't see it doesn't mean it didn't happen. We can afford millions dollars parks, pay and perks, how about spare a few for public safety with decent speed please ? Guides and rules are of no use when you are fainting, is one suppose to refer to rules and guides in such situation ?

Sinkies like to crowd and push before the train comes.
Pushing like penguins.
Other contries like Taiwan they will queue up orderly.

Pushing like penguins.

1. sheepishland world-crass transport network's doing.
2. such mishap bound to happen.

Pushing like penguins.

Almost all stations in Taiwan have barriers installed, and during peak hours they have staff patrolling the platforms. Same with Bangkok, no barriers but before train arrives the staff will whistle and ensure that commuters do not breach the yellow line.

If you know AMK belongs to LHL, the reason is not difficult to understand.

The MRT especially the NS/EW line was planned & projected for a x,xxx,xxx number of population & our population had incrhe eased thanks to the FT's. Many of these comes from countries with no Mass Rapid Trains, what do you expect of them? plus the fact that the locals have not much of an orderly discipline like the Japanese. The MRT NS/EW lines and all the stations are aging, especially AMK Station, it can not cope with the traffic and is bursting at the seams. LHL is too busy giving out 'goodies' to his constituents, and the trasnport system is the job of Rayman Limp...who incidentally is paid......:p so, this is once in a ten years thing ? no?, the last time someone walked onto the tracks at Ang Mo Kio Station was a secondary school teacher who was reading a book, and was that around 10 years ago??

What I do not understand is, Yishun Station have the extra divider door, wheras AMK Station with a larger human traffic, do not have one. Ok I get it, waiting for another price adjustment, we will now be charged per meter run instead of KM at the moment. Then, we will see the divider door or AMK Station did not have enough spaces to create shops for rental?

Apr 4, 2011

Thai teen loses both legs after being hit by MRT train

By Jalelah Abu Baker

p6.jpg

Peneakchanasak Nitcharee (above), 14, who came here three weeks ago to learn English, being carried out of Ang Mo Kio MRT station by officers from the Singapore Civil Defence Force on Sunday. -- PHOTO: LIANHE WANBAO

A 14-YEAR-OLD Thai girl who fell onto an MRT track at the Ang Mo Kio station has lost both her legs.

One was severed by a train as it came into the station, and the other was so badly mangled that it had to be amputated by doctors.

It is not known why Peneakchanasak Nitcharee fell onto the track in the above-ground station at about 11am yesterday, but according to Shin Min Daily News, she had a dizzy spell while waiting on the platform.

Lianhe Wanbao reported that she had come here to stay with a relative in Ang Mo Kio three weeks ago to learn English, and was supposed to return to Thailand on Saturday.

The station at Ang Mo Kio is among the 25 slated to be fitted with sliding doors aimed at preventing such falls; 11 other above-ground stations already have such 1.6m tall doors.

Officers from the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) who arrived at the scene of the incident deployed a scoop stretcher - used only in confined spaces - to lift the injured girl off the tracks.

An SCDF spokesman, noting that she was conscious throughout the rescue operation, said her lower limbs were seriously injured.

Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.

<center></center>
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="2" width="380"><tbody><tr><td align="center" width="120">
01m.jpg
</td><td align="center" width="120">
02m.jpg
</td><td align="center" width="120">
03m.jpg
</td></tr><tr><td align="center">
04m.jpg
</td><td align="center">
05m.jpg
</td><td align="center">
06m.jpg
</td></tr></tbody></table>

Dont know who who to blame or more idiot.
1. Why does anyone want to Q/stand near to the yellow line or track? It vey dangerous if fainted/suddenly piush by others.
2. Maybe those line up near the track because want to grab a seat. Standing for 30min will die meh?
3. Line up near track doesnt guaranty can get a seat. Those still want to fight for the seat.