• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MRI & CT Scans in S'pore more costly than in US & Europe ?!

wah..........did a check with local hospitals and compare with what i found online, seems that MRI and CT Scans here more expensive than in Ang Moh countries !

called up Changi and SGH hospitals here and found big difference in prices................

the cheaper one cannot use Medisave to deduct, the more expensive one can use Medisave !

how come ???!! i thought prices should be same and can use Medisave ???

How much does it cost in Singapore? I did a full body CT scan before my surgery, includes full 3D and cost me around $1200, claim back around $700 from medicare here.

you in USA ??

at S'pore General Hospital...........CT Scan (one fixed price regardless how many body parts you scan).........S$2260.......about USD1800 i think............can use Medisave to offset S$600

at Changi General Hospital........CT Scan head and neck..........S$880............cash only

Aussieland, so around $1500USD. They did a full scan and a full 3D on the parts of my surgery. Very cool to see the machine moving. Sounds like its about the same price then.

you in USA ??

at S'pore General Hospital...........CT Scan (one fixed price regardless how many body parts you scan).........S$2260.......about USD1800 i think............can use Medisave to offset S$600

at Changi General Hospital........CT Scan head and neck..........S$880............cash only

Aussieland, so around $1500USD. They did a full scan and a full 3D on the parts of my surgery. Very cool to see the machine moving. Sounds like its about the same price then.

even same price also not right.............Aussies got more money than normal S'poreans mah

you in USA ??

How come one country, one health authority, two different charges? $880, can scan now, pay later? no money how?:p

Yah, forgot to mention, I could have gone in for free as well, no charge, but there is a waiting list for it. I thought there was a report that says that on average Singaporean have more money then Austtralian?

even same price also not right.............Aussies got more money than normal S'poreans mah

Yah, forgot to mention, I could have gone in for free as well, no charge, but there is a waiting list for it. I thought there was a report that says that on average Singaporean have more money then Austtralian?

got more savings maybe...........salary here much lower what........otherwise you won'y go there liao mah..........

our savings kana makan by PAP in the end............

No idea mate, I just know the medical coverage here is pretty good. Got the final bill from my health insurance that totals to 40K in total paid to the hospital.

got more savings maybe...........salary here much lower what........otherwise you won'y go there liao mah..........

our savings kana makan by PAP in the end............

I heard about some MP who only paid $8 heart for heart surgery:eek: I think it's just an urban legend myth. He probably paid nothing.
If they are getting millions in pay I bet they would think nothing about giving themselves the bestest medical coverage second to none.

just had my left shoulder MRI at Gleneagles last week, paid 960 cash

In the US, some of these scans are outsourced to India !
The doctor reading the scan is from India, machine operator in the States.
That may be why it is cheaper.

wah..........did a check with local hospitals and compare with what i found online, seems that MRI and CT Scans here more expensive than in Ang Moh countries !

called up Changi and SGH hospitals here and found big difference in prices................

the cheaper one cannot use Medisave to deduct, the more expensive one can use Medisave !

how come ???!! i thought prices should be same and can use Medisave ???

It is a myth that government hospital is cheaper. The only way it can be cheaper is when you get referred to a govt hospital by a polyclinic (or GP).

Anyway, if you can afford it, pay a little more and go to a private hospital. There have been numerous cases where a patient's illness got worse at a govt hospital due to lousy treatment. The service at govt hospitals are usually fucked up too. Also, avoid CGH and NUH: too many shitty doctors and inexperienced houseman rookies.

It is a myth that government hospital is cheaper. The only way it can be cheaper is when you get referred to a govt hospital by a polyclinic (or GP).

Anyway, if you can afford it, pay a little more and go to a private hospital. There have been numerous cases where a patient's illness got worse at a govt hospital due to lousy treatment. The service at govt hospitals are usually fucked up too. Also, avoid CGH and NUH: too many shitty doctors and inexperienced houseman rookies.

Totally agreed. Had a nightmarishly experience at Alexandra Hospital for myself and KK for my kid. Now i totally swear off govt hospital. Had very good experiences at Mt. Alvernia and their A&E cheaper than gov hospital

In the US, some of these scans are outsourced to India !
The doctor reading the scan is in India, machine operator in the States.
That may be why it is cheaper.
OOii, they do it here too

anyone go M'sia like JB do before ?..................i assume JB got CT Scan and MRI ?

M'sians that become S'pore citizens will regret in future.....................in M'sia, 60yr old and above...............FREE...........MRI also FREE.................

Don't have to wait until the future.
I've actually met a Malaysian in his 30's who regretted his decision to become a Sporean:( He's actually a minority:eek:

The smarter ones just become Spore PRs & I know a few who own pte properties. Many will probably balek kampong once they are too old to work here.