• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MP Patrick Tay (who is that?) finally calls for priority for local PMEs

[h=1]Call to put local PMEs' interests first[/h]
20130206.091555_patrick_tay.jpg

MP Patrick Tay (pictured above) cautioned that measures like labour-market testing could be just "window dressing" for an employer bent on recruiting foreigners.
By Adrian Lim
My Paper
Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013

The interests of Singapore's professionals, managers and executives (PMEs) must be placed ahead of those of their foreign counterparts, said several Members of Parliament (MPs) yesterday.

While they admitted that foreign labour was required to take on jobs Singaporeans might shun, safeguards must be in place to ensure that local PMEs have job security and fair wages.
This was put forth by MP Patrick Tay, who cautioned that measures like labour-market testing could be just "window dressing" for an employer bent on recruiting foreigners.

Mr Tay, who is the director of NTUC's legal-services department and PME unit, proposed more stringent initiatives, such as coming up with a COE, or "Conditions of Eligibility", for employers to meet before they can hire foreign PMEs.

He added that there should be ready avenues for local PMEs to upgrade their skills, to stand up to competition from well-qualified foreigners.

According to the White Paper's projections, two thirds of Singaporeans will hold professional, manager, executive and technician jobs by 2030. This translates to 1.25 million Singaporeans, compared to just 850,000 currently.

MP Vikram Nair proposed that employers must give a longer notice period before terminating an employee's contract, and aspiring Singaporeans with good grades be given more opportunities to study in professional courses like medicine.

Mr Nair said that immigration, while already tightened, is still necessary. He alluded to small and medium-sized enterprises, which may require foreign labour to start up, but whose jobs may be taken over by Singaporeans later on.

In the larger picture, he said foreign workers are needed in sectors like construction, which will be critical for the country's expansion plans in terms of building flats and train infrastructure.

[email][email protected]
[/EMAIL]

Get my paper for more stories.

Seriously, this is the first time I've ever read of this Patrick Tay ...

Member's CV

Mr Patrick Tay Teck Guan . 郑德源 . பேட்ரிக் தே டெக் குவான்
Nee Soon GRC . 义顺集选区 . நீ சூன் குழுத் தொகுதி

Patrick%20Tay2.jpg

Name
Party AffiliationPeople’s Action Party
Place of BirthSingapore
Date of Birth01.12.1971
Marital StatusMarried
No of Children3
ReligionChristianity

<tbody>
[TD="align: right"] : [/TD]
[TD="width: 350"]Mr Patrick Tay Teck Guan[/TD]

[TD="width: 100"] Designation [/TD]
[TD="width: 30, align: right"] : [/TD]
[TD="width: 350"]Member of Parliament

Anggota Parlimen

议员

நாடாளுமன்ற உறுப்பினர்[/TD]

[TD="colspan: 3"] For address, telephone and email details, please click here. [/TD]

</tbody>

Educational Qualifications
1984 - 1987GCE 'O' Level (St Patricks' School)
1988 - 1989GCE 'A' Level (Temasek Junior College)
Bachelor of Laws (Hons) (National University of Singapore)
Master of Laws (National University of Singapore)
Advocate and Solicitor, Supreme Court of Singapore
Associate Mediator, Singapore Mediation Centre

<tbody>
[TD="width: 165"]1991 - 1995[/TD]

[TD="width: 165"]1998 - 1999[/TD]

[TD="width: 165"][/TD]

</tbody>

Present Occupations
April 2002 - PresentAlignment Director, PME, National Trade Union Congress
April 2002 - PresentDirector, Legal Services Department, National Trade Union Congress
Executive Secretary, Healthcare Services Employees’ Union

<tbody>
[TD="width: 165"]April 2002 - Present[/TD]

</tbody>

Member of Parliament
07.05.2011 -Nee Soon GRC

<tbody>
</tbody>

Select Committees
House Committee

<tbody>
[TD="align: left"]Member[/TD]
[TD="align: left"]12th Parliament, 1st Session[/TD]

</tbody>

Government Parliamentary Committees
MemberHealth
MemberManpower

<tbody>
</tbody>

Career
[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 165"]1995 - March 2002[/TD]
[TD]Singapore Police Force[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Other Appointments
2004 - February 2011Executive Secretary, Union of Security Employees
March 2011 -Advisor & Senior Consultant, Union of Security Employees
Board Member, Land Transport Authority

<tbody>
[TD="width: 165"]September 2011 -[/TD]

</tbody>

Awards and Decorations
1990PSC Local Merit Scholarship
2000SPF Good Service Medal
Public Service Medal
PAP Youth Service Medal
PA 15 Years Community Long Service Award
Public Service Star

<tbody>
[TD="width: 165"]2005[/TD]

[TD="width: 165"]2007[/TD]

[TD="width: 165"]2010[/TD]

</tbody>

MP Patrick Tay (pictured above) cautioned that measures like labour-market testing could be just "window dressing" for an employer bent on recruiting foreigners.
By Adrian Lim
My Paper
Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013

The interests of Singapore's professionals, managers and executives (PMEs) must be placed ahead of those of their foreign counterparts, said several Members of Parliament (MPs) yesterday.

While they admitted that foreign labour was required to take on jobs Singaporeans might shun, safeguards must be in place to ensure that local PMEs have job security and fair wages.
This was put forth by MP Patrick Tay, who cautioned that measures like labour-market testing could be just "window dressing" for an employer bent on recruiting foreigners.

Mr Tay, who is the director of NTUC's legal-services department and PME unit, proposed more stringent initiatives, such as coming up with a COE, or "Conditions of Eligibility", for employers to meet before they can hire foreign PMEs.

He added that there should be ready avenues for local PMEs to upgrade their skills, to stand up to competition from well-qualified foreigners.

According to the White Paper's projections, two thirds of Singaporeans will hold professional, manager, executive and technician jobs by 2030. This translates to 1.25 million Singaporeans, compared to just 850,000 currently.

MP Vikram Nair proposed that employers must give a longer notice period before terminating an employee's contract, and aspiring Singaporeans with good grades be given more opportunities to study in professional courses like medicine.

Mr Nair said that immigration, while already tightened, is still necessary. He alluded to small and medium-sized enterprises, which may require foreign labour to start up, but whose jobs may be taken over by Singaporeans later on.

In the larger picture, he said foreign workers are needed in sectors like construction, which will be critical for the country's expansion plans in terms of building flats and train infrastructure.

[email][email protected]
[/EMAIL]

Double post

Patrick from St Patrick's got PA 15 years community long service award.......................

By Adrian Lim
My Paper
Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013

[email][email protected]
[/EMAIL]

If I recall correctly in an article, where they have similar requirement in Australia too.
Singaporean first........
Or perhaps, the cohorts in the same year with Mr Tay, is also having similar problems facing PMETs.

What kind of CV is this? No rank no designation no department. If i receive this type of CV in my e-mail, I will classify it as spam.

Career
1995 - March 2002 Singapore Police Force

I hope you ppl understand that only if you serve 2 terms in parliament, then youre entitled to the pension.

This is his first term. Looking at how the wind is blowing, I get what he is trying to say.

anyone who come from PAP linked company to present ideas is 0/20 vision.

I like to hear from private ogranisations, and nothing else.

First time also I heard of this Patrick Tay..

Last nite saw the Parliament clips on Channel U..

Saw a fat fuck talking during the Parliament session.. Not sure whether he's a PAP MP or NMP..

I hope you ppl understand that only if you serve 2 terms in parliament, then youre entitled to the pension.

This is his first term. Looking at how the wind is blowing, I get what he is trying to say.

No wonder everyone trying their best to get into parliament. Work for 10 years then can shake leg. I also want to go form political party liao.

SPF scholar? GD know?

He was commander of the SOF team in the SPF, nice steady chap who has his heart in the right place. I spoke to him a few times when he did his walkabouts.

i have seen him a lot and working around the neighbourhood before he was chosen as MP. this guy is the real deal, the grassroots people around bedok north will know him well as someone who had been serving from bottom up for the longest time. A real pity he has sold his soul to the PAP, someone like that will be a real asset for a different political party since he has his heart in the right place.

I kena shocked thought it was Patrick Tan son of Tony Tan. OK, who the hell is this guy?

He was commander of the SOF team in the SPF, nice steady chap who has his heart in the right place. I spoke to him a few times when he did his walkabouts.

i have seen him a lot and working around the neighbourhood before he was chosen as MP. this guy is the real deal, the grassroots people around bedok north will know him well as someone who had been serving from bottom up for the longest time. A real pity he has sold his soul to the PAP, someone like that will be a real asset for a different political party since he has his heart in the right place.

Don't recall him as commander of STAR. I think he was Dy Comdr STAR. Yes, nice chap. Pretty wife too!

Tuayapeh says when you have Lim Soo Gee as commander, you might as well be the commander lor heeheehee

LSG is one lucky chap. How he managed to pension was close to a miracle. He was sidelined as a DD in CID while being investigated for 'inappropriate' behavior while Comdr of the elite SOC. Many respect this man but when you know the real LSG ......................... Used to por the lumpars of GYH and KBH.