• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MP Lee Kuan Yew

Jlokta

why are we acting so petty over this special treatment for our great leader
he deserves everything
he sacrificed the best part of his life to ensure the survival of the little red dot
why are we quibbling over his special privilege which he rightfully earned and worked for
our greatest leader ever deserves more than just recognition and respect
he should be acknowledged as the greatest politician in asia,if not in the world
we singaporeans should be proud - and rightly so - to have such a wonderful leadership
charismatic, assertive,enigmatic , courageous, incorruptible - all the virtues that constitute a great leader
we should accord him more than he needs - but his humility is a further testimony of his world class governance
majulah LKY! majulah Singapura!! majulah Singaporeans!!!

Kopi, old farts contribution to nation building should best be left to the history books.

Man of his age should be sitting at home enjoying his retirement. Him being in the parliament is adding a pile of deadwood already there.

I will remember him better if he were to step down and not trying to dish out teachings to the current generation.

And before u start saying I have no respect for this fucker - Respect has to be earned, not demanded.

kukubird58

hahaha.....lky is not as influential as u all make believe....
if u know the man well and if he has the final say...the casinos will not be built....there will be no F1 also; etc.....
so pse lah...don't behave the hdb aunties/uncles who still thinks that lky rules Singapore.

RoyMcFarland

why are we acting so petty over this special treatment for our great leader
he deserves everything
he sacrificed the best part of his life to ensure the survival of the little red dot
why are we quibbling over his special privilege which he rightfully earned and worked for
our greatest leader ever deserves more than just recognition and respect
he should be acknowledged as the greatest politician in asia,if not in the world
we singaporeans should be proud - and rightly so - to have such a wonderful leadership
charismatic, assertive,enigmatic , courageous, incorruptible - all the virtues that constitute a great leader
we should accord him more than he needs - but his humility is a further testimony of his world class governance
majulah LKY! majulah Singapura!! majulah Singaporeans!!!

While I agree with most of what you've said, the question remains....why do you need to remain just a MP?? For all his contributions to Singapore, he'll only be remembered if he remains in Parliament as an MP? And frankly, most people might not even realise that he's an MP, given that he's clearly incapable of performing MP duties. I'll always remember and be grateful for his contributions. Even when he travelled around the world as an elder statesman and Singapore's top salesman, do you think the fact that he was still an MP helped? Come on! Its ridiculous that a 89 year old man who is clearly struggling physically is still an "MP" Like I said before, what does it say about the PAP in general, and LHL in particular, if they still need the old man holding their hands??

LKY in parliament is an inspiration to the young
an impetus to perform well
to stay incorruptible
to instil fire in the belly
to remain an icon for everyone
an icon of great leadership
of courage, bravery, honesty and integrity
he earned it all...he deserves all the accolades

Jlokta

to stay incorruptible

LKY in parliament is a laughing stock for others and can forget about inspiration to the young. Let them chose Steve Jobs or old fart, i'd bet more than 60.1% will chose the former.
an insecure jiakliaobee thinking that everyone must still kaotao to him,
gave an obscene pay raise to civil servant and look at the number of corruption cases we have after that.
increase their fat paychecks and bonuse through GDP growth at the expense of the nation,

i hope they have a statue made after him when he's gone, would love to bring my dogs there for walks. I won't bring bags, NEA can fine me. I'd gladly pay.

LKY in parliament is a laughing stock for others and can forget about inspiration to the young. Let them chose Steve Jobs or old fart, i'd bet more than 60.1% will chose the former.
an insecure jiakliaobee thinking that everyone must still kaotao to him,
gave an obscene pay raise to civil servant and look at the number of corruption cases we have after that.
increase their fat paychecks and bonuse through GDP growth at the expense of the nation,

i hope they have a statue made after him when he's gone, would love to bring my dogs there for walks. I won't bring bags, NEA can fine me. I'd gladly pay.

you write well
you speak your heart
good for you
but LKY is unforgettable
hate him love him adore him detest him
he is an indelible part of the singapore's icon
world respect him for what he is
there never will be another lky....another miracle city
dubai is near but it's a big white elephant...
singapore is the miracle city - the gem of asia and the world
it's all thanks to the man LKY...:smile:

Jlokta

you write well
you speak your heart
good for you
but LKY is unforgettable
hate him love him adore him detest him
he is an indelible part of the singapore's icon
world respect him for what he is
there never will be another lky....another miracle city
dubai is near but it's a big white elephant...
singapore is the miracle city - the gem of asia and the world
it's all thanks to the man LKY...:smile:

thank the heavens there will never be another LKY, don't think Stinkapoor or the world can take another LKY.

you give him too much credit. he did not build this country single handedly.

many of those who helped made us what we are are probably cleaning tables, collecting papers or cans to make a living.

Lee Kon Yew is not Singapore, Singapore is not Lee Kon Yew.

to stay incorruptible

Don't make me laugh...we know what LKY stand for , honesty, integrity...and many to name....but he has his warts & faults..has he ever apologize for this?? NO!...I have read quite a number of his works...including others who written about him...humility is never one of his virtues...has he ever thanked the people that have worked together with him & his team to bring SINgapore to what it is today & to give him the fame & accolade?? NO!

There is no doubt of what he has done for us, begrudging, we do not like his policies, personality & so forth, but we, thank him but like someone said here, let history decide not HIS STORY.

history will vindicate LKY
what he had done is for the good of singapore
and singaporeans
yes, there were humps now and then
but he had never lost his sense of urgency
sense of direction and his focus to ensure the survival of singapore
i salute a great leader
majulah singapura

kukubird58

history will vindicate LKY
what he had done is for the good of singapore
and singaporeans
yes, there were humps now and then
but he had never lost his sense of urgency
sense of direction and his focus to ensure the survival of singapore
hahaha.....yes leave it to the academics to analyse the contributions of lky.
what any reasonable person should be able to agree is that lky has over-stayed in parleement.
he should have retired in 2006...
that he chose to stay on in 2011 smacked of a selfish man (refusing to give way) rather than a great man.

hahaha.....yes leave it to the academics to analyse the contributions of lky.
what any reasonable person should be able to agree is that lky has over-stayed in parleement.
he should have retired in 2006...
that he chose to stay on in 2011 smacked of a selfish man (refusing to give way) rather than a great man.
like all concerned parents who have a precious and fragile little baby
LKY stays in parliament to ensure its continual growth and survival
he will only let go of his baby with his passing on
we should not begrudge him for doing such a noble task

iamhere

we had long been a welfare state for papees n cronies where they first claim that
they should be paid XXX amount of $$$ if not, they would be better off in private sector or in biz themselves.

By "default", since we do not have enough opposition to veto all these "claims", these leeches at the first split second
when they are elected or "elected" thru walkovers, commit FUNDAMENTAL BREACH of what they claim.

They hold tonnes of appointments, directorships and/or in biz themselves.

Having more than one appointment does not give one more than 24hrs per calendar day...

Question remains: WHO did they neglect?

Shareholders of public listed companies?

(Public) Stakeholders of GLC or statutory boards?

or???

We had long been providing WELFARE STATE facilities for PAPees n CRONIES....

MY FELLOW SINGAPOREANS PLEASE...

REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

:wink::wink::wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::wink::wink::wink:

steffychun

The day the whole world understands the LKY isnt what is is painted to be, is so so far away. Sadly for now, even Obama hails him as a great leader.

hearthard

LKY already has his pension. Why another $15K/month? We are discussing the technical and ethical correctness of the PAP system. His Security Officers are civel servants and cannot be hired for private use, so it has to be tax payers' money. With his current state, is he being an MP by meritocracy?

Kohliantye

thank the heavens there will never be another LKY, don't think Stinkapoor or the world can take another LKY.

many of those who helped made us what we are are probably cleaning tables, collecting papers or cans to make a living.

Lee Kon Yew is not Singapore, Singapore is not Lee Kon Yew.

Wow, Jlotka what a wise statement. I am standing solidly by you for that statement. Well done. Singapore need honest people like you and Not LIARS.

Singapore has had enough mismanagement, cronyism, and nepotism and the WORLD knows.

LKY stands for LETS KICK YOU

May Merdeka come to those poor table cleaners, "scavengers" (cans and cardboard collectors).

SINGAPORE IS SINGAPORE and not LKY. Wew made Singapore as poorly paid civil servants and not LKY who was already paid a salary of close to $8000/ inclusive of allowances. That was a time when we were paid a miserable $220 per month. See that difference. Peanuts for us...............

I salute the civil servants who were killed by the enemies of Singapore for a miserable salary.

Please get rid of the cancer before it spreads.

steffychun

LKY already has his pension. Why another $15K/month? We are discussing the technical and ethical correctness of the PAP system. His Security Officers are civel servants and cannot be hired for private use, so it has to be tax payers' money. With his current state, is he being an MP by meritocracy?

Expensive health support system

like Darth Vader's chamber