• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Mother May fight for Schooling for NS Deferrment

bodycells

Joseph Schooling’s mum on NS debate: Swimming for Singapore is also ‘national service’

You don’t want to mess with the most important woman in Joseph Schooling’s life.
The Singapore swim star’s mother, May, is the self-professed “bad cop” and the stricter parent to Joseph compared to her husband Colin.
“If he says a foul word, I’ll slap him,” the outspoken lady said, dead serious.
May, who is in her 50s, put her tough, no-nonsense approach to good effect when she and Colin famously negotiated for their son’s long-term deferment from National Service (NS) in October this year.
It was a groundbreaking move that saw Joseph, currently studying and training at Bolles high school in the US, become the only Singaporean athlete to ever be permitted up to three years of undisturbed training.
The target for the 18-year-old is a historic Olympic medal for the country come 2016 in Brazil. With five individual national records and hugely-impressive butterfly timings that rank amongst the top in the world, Joseph is on track for greater heights – barring the obstacle that is NS, said May.
“So far, all our prominent swimmers have been girls,” argued the finance director at a trading company founded by herself and Colin. “Pat Chan, Junie Sng, Joscelin Yeo… where are the boys?”

Determined to not have their son’s progress possibly derailed by NS, the Schoolings opened talks in 2010 with the then-Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as well as the Singapore National Olympic Council.
“They asked if he can serve six months (three months of basic and vocational training each) then go back to the States to train,” May revealed to Yahoo Singapore.

That would still affect his performance, according to her.
“I told them very clearly: I’m trying to teach my son to be loyal to this country,” said May. “But why should he be loyal to a country that doesn’t even support him when he wants to achieve swimming success for (it)?”

This is how his mother fight for NS deferment. Not PAP willing to give it to her son. Only a Malaysia mother do that. His father made the right choice of not choosing a sinkie bitch to marry.

“[In a way] if you represent the country and make people stand for your flag, you’re doing ‘national service’,” she added.
May, however, stressed that they "never pushed for swimming to be a substitute for NS" -- in fact, her son should eventually serve NS like any Singaporean man, she said.
But the real clincher, according to May, was the assistance that poured in from all corners of the globe.
“Top authorities in the world came in to help us and supply us with all the information we needed,” she said.
“For example, Gregg Troy, the men’s head coach at USA swimming then, and Bill Sweetenham, who was an advisor to the Singapore Sports Council, all wrote letters supporting Joseph.”
“They’re the ones who can see talent, and they say he will be world-class,” she added.
May, understandably proud of her son, joked that his deferment was approved because “they want to show (him) off at the 2015 SEA Games in Singapore, the year he’s supposed to be in NS.”
But she ultimately stressed that she and her husband were not looking for Joseph to escape a duty expected of all Singaporean men.
“He can come back and do (NS) when he finishes swimming,” said May. “It’s okay to get him into the pool of soldiers. Not a problem.”

Tiger Mom but not as chio

dd6ac5f9a449f261c2c0397236e4df17.jpg

On a more serious note, during my BSLC we had an very old aneh (25 yrs old as compared to us 19-20 yr olds), what happened was that he kept deferring and deferring until MINDEF put a stop to his nonsense antics and enlisted him

Determined to not have their son’s progress possibly derailed by NS, the Schoolings opened talks in 2010 with the then-Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as well as the Singapore National Olympic Council.
“They asked if he can serve six months (three months of basic and vocational training each) then go back to the States to train,” May revealed to Yahoo Singapore.

in sillypoore
those working in/for the garberment , garberment related org just follow rules.
they are not authorised to make important decision. and they don't care or worry what impact it has on the party involved.
onli the top top level can decide to allow or not. thats how a son can be exempted from NS to do other more important thing.
In JS case the officer just followed SOP . No he would be using his brain to weigh the pros and cons ,
neither will he be bothered to feed back , refer the matter higher up.
who cares ? u die your business.

JS mother is a opportunist to siam ns for his son now.any sinkie mother can do that too not only msian mother.

We all know that it's thanks to MP Lee Bee Wah that JS can defer his NS for years. Mrs Schooling should stop trying to steal Lee Bee Wah's credit.

03-3.jpg

JS mother is a opportunist to siam ns for his son now.any sinkie mother can do that too not only msian mother.

I think you dun understand the diff between malaysian lady and sinkie bitches.. sinkie bitches follow the law to the Tee while malaysia ladies got brains to know that law can be turn around in situations.

We all know that it's thanks to MP Lee Bee Wah that JS can defer his NS for years. Mrs Schooling should stop trying to steal Lee Bee Wah's credit.

03-3.jpg

Jia Lioa Bee Gahmen LBW now want to claim credit??

Please lah!! go look at yourself in the mirror did u or did u not

really help Schooling in the deferment?? His mother did it !!

Did Papaya help in Schooling scholarship??? Nope!! USA Texas

University gave him the scholarship worth US$46K per annum!!

Out gahmen only gave toe PRC scholarship when completed their

study they run road to China !!

Now you want to claim Credit!! Shameless butch of idiots now want to jump

on the bandwagon!!

I think you dun understand the diff between malaysian lady and sinkie bitches.. sinkie bitches follow the law to the Tee while malaysia ladies got brains to know that law can be turn around in situations.

You calling our president and First Lady as non sinkie ?