• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More Than Meets the Eye in Candy Siow's Case?

Posted on 06 Apr 2012
4 months jail for unlicenced driver who killed old pedestrian not too light: Lawyers

4_months_jail_for_unlicenced_driver_not_too_light_lawyers-thumbnail.jpg

Netizens are enraged by the four-month jail sentence and 10-year driving ban that the woman who drove without a licence will need to serve. They feel this is too light for her offence, but lawyers disagree.

In a report in The New Paper today (Apr 6), lawyers the paper spoke to say her sentence was just. The usual sentence for causing death by driving negligently is a fine if there are no aggravating factors, they said.

Although most prosecutions for driving-related offences come under the Road Traffic Act, the Penal Code can come into play when a traffic violation results in another's death. The authorities will then have the option of prosecuting the offender under the Penal Code, which usually carries a heavier punishment.

For causing death by negligence, a person can be jailed for up to two years and fined. Candy Siow Pei Shan's punishment is quite consistent with past cases for a similar offence. For example, a driver who reversed into a couple crossing the road and killed a man was jailed for a week in March 2012.

Candy Siow, 23, will not be charged with murder as she did not intend to kill anyone, said a lawyer. "The tragic and fatal consequence was the result not of an intentional act but a cumulation of causative factors plus bad luck," he added.

She was driving her boyfriend's car on February 12, 2011, and reportedly lost control of the vehicle at the junction of Bukit Batok Avenue 3 and Avenue 4. She panicked when she saw an oncoming vehicle and her car veered to the left, mounted the kerb and hit 70-year-old Tan Son Seng, who was on the pedestrian walkway.

Mr Tan was crushed between the car and a traffic light pole, and pronounced dead on the scene.

Although Candy admitted to downing at least 10 glasses of brandy and three to five glasses of beer, her blood sample indicated her blood alcohol level was well below the legal limit. It was 27mg, when the legal limit is 80mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood.

=> Was there error in the blood test? Was she made the fall guy and not the real culprit?

Her boyfriend, Yap Chun Kiat, 30, the owner of the car, will be dealt with in court separately.

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Although Candy admitted to downing at least 10 glasses of brandy and three to five glasses of beer, her blood sample indicated her blood alcohol level was well below the legal limit. It was 27mg, when the legal limit is 80mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood.

=> Was there error in the blood test? Was she made the fall guy and not the real culprit?

Incredible, how can consuming so much alcohol has such a low reading?

Posted on 06 Apr 2012
4 months jail for unlicenced driver who killed old pedestrian not too light: Lawyers

In a report in The New Paper today (Apr 6), lawyers the paper spoke to say her sentence was just. The usual sentence for causing death by driving negligently is a fine if there are no aggravating factors, they said.

She was driving WITHOUT a licence!!!! What negligent bullshit!!! It's blatant disregard for the LAW!!!!!

Although most prosecutions for driving-related offences come under the Road Traffic Act, the Penal Code can come into play when a traffic violation results in another's death. The authorities will then have the option of prosecuting the offender under the Penal Code, which usually carries a heavier punishment.

For causing death by negligence, a person can be jailed for up to two years and fined. Candy Siow Pei Shan's punishment is quite consistent with past cases for a similar offence. For example, a driver who reversed into a couple crossing the road and killed a man was jailed for a week in March 2012.

Candy Siow, 23, will not be charged with murder as she did not intend to kill anyone, said a lawyer. "The tragic and fatal consequence was the result not of an intentional act but a cumulation of causative factors plus bad luck," he added.

Another bullshit! If she has no intention to kill, then don't drive when you have no licence to!!!! There is a reason why the TP don't give you a licence even when you tried for the test for more than 10 times!!!! The judge is a fucking retards!

She was driving her boyfriend's car on February 12, 2011, and reportedly lost control of the vehicle at the junction of Bukit Batok Avenue 3 and Avenue 4. She panicked when she saw an oncoming vehicle and her car veered to the left, mounted the kerb and hit 70-year-old Tan Son Seng, who was on the pedestrian walkway.

Are they trying to say that it is ok to drive without a licence, just don't get into an accident????? What fucking excuse is this???!!!!

See? sinkie in action again..
that is what happen when you stay in sinkieland..

wahahhaha.... sinkies totally deserve it... next time, you can kill someone and just 1 day jail.. wahhahahahha... Just love it when sinkieland become more like a shit now.

Looks like a murdering bitch to me. Boyfriend is 30 years old, and she is 23. I gues if he did not have a car, she would not be letting him touch her vagina.

Victim was a 70 year old sinkie peasant....not worth a cent in govt's eyes.

Incredible, how can consuming so much alcohol has such a low reading?

10 glasses of brandy I doubt anyone except seasoned drinkers will be standing.

Chow ah lian probably drank highly watered down version.

They feel this is too light for her offence, but lawyers disagree.

Why never quote the lawyer's name?

usually if some quotes were recorded, the presstitute
will mention who said so.

Looks like a murdering bitch to me. Boyfriend is 30 years old, and she is 23. I gues if he did not have a car, she would not be letting him touch her vagina.

If she did not have a vagina, he would not be letting her touch his car. :D

From my personal experience, time taken in consuming that 10 glasses is a factor to consider. I can easily consume 25 glasses in one night. But it must be spread across at least 4 hours. Cannot be kau kau and kan pei all the time.

I can recall a recent incident whereby the 'kick' came suddenly and I had to take a cab home. After consuming about 10 glasses or so in maybe 90 minutes or thereabouts, a long lost friend walked into the HFJ I was in. He insisted I must drink with him. Every time he poured, all kau kau and no 'sui ee' but 'kan pei'. After about 5 glasses within 20 minutes, I 'siamed' him and went back to my table.

At 3am, he insisted we go makan supper in Geylang. Knna, at Geylang restaurant, also opened bottles. All these while I was still ok. Halfway through the makan, the kick came. I apologised to the group and excused myself. Took cab home coz there was no way I could drive.

From my personal experience, time taken in consuming that 10 glasses is a factor to consider. I can easily consume 25 glasses in one night. But it must be spread across at least 4 hours. Cannot be kau kau and kan pei all the time.

if you don't mix the drinks, I believe. if mix beer and hard liquor, difficult ........................

Chow ah lian probably drank highly watered down version.

I can recall a recent incident whereby the 'kick' came suddenly and I had to take a cab home. After consuming about 10 glasses or so in maybe 90 minutes or thereabouts, a long lost friend walked into the HFJ I was in. He insisted I must drink with him. Every time he poured, all kau kau and no 'sui ee' but 'kan pei'. After about 5 glasses within 20 minutes, I 'siamed' him and went back to my table.

At 3am, he insisted we go makan supper in Geylang. Knna, at Geylang restaurant, also opened bottles. All these while I was still ok. Halfway through the makan, the kick came. I apologised to the group and excused myself. Took cab home coz there was no way I could drive.
10 glass neat still possible but have to spread out over a period of time. 2-3 hours. Funny thing is she also drink beer. Beer and brandy mix? and can pass the test?? Sometime is really wrong.

Sometimes, I do have a problem of certifying myself fit for driving after a drinking session. For worst case, I just knocked out and someone will sent me home. In most case, I still can drive like I not drinking. Borderline case is the most scary, which is whether I know myself fit to drive or not. Also notice riding will be more awake then driving.

Let me help her abit because of her virgina.:o

She took ten glasses of brandy and some beer, she vomitted some. Can bo:confused:

If she did not have a vagina, he would not be letting her touch his car. :D
even wif make up, i will consider carefully. without makeup, touch my car, hor gao kan.:D

Something is wrong with the story. Alcohol in the blood and remaining steady are not exactly related. If she actually drank that much the reading would still be high. In the old days, people would exaggerate the amount that they drank to justify their lack of control. Alcohol was also a common mitigating factor. It now carries no weight and for traffic related issues its even worse.

I suspect she was just mitigating and gave a high number. Seen so many people drunk after drinking 2 glasses of wine. They would not exceed the legal limit.

Warrant of arrest for man who allowed girlfriend to drive car with no licence

By Claire Huang | Posted: 20 June 2012 1339 hrs

pic2.jpg

SINGAPORE: The court has ordered the man who allowed his girlfriend to drive his car without a driver's licence to be arrested.

The warrant of arrest comes after 30-year-old Yap Chun Kiat, who was expected in court on Wednesday, did not show up.

The court has ordered Yap's bailor to explain why Yap was absent from court, if not the bailor would risk forfeiting the $6,000 bond.

Yap faces two charges.

One, for allowing his 23-year-old girlfriend, Siow Pei Shan Candy, to drive his vehicle along Bukit Batok East Avenue 4 on 12 February 2011 even though she didn't have a licence.

Two, for allowing Siow to drive his car while there wasn't a valid motor insurance on the same day.

Siow was convicted in March this year for causing the death of an elderly pedestrian, Tan Son Seng, 70, when she lost control of the car.

She also admitted to driving the car without insurance coverage and without a licence.

For these offences, Siow was jailed a total of four months and banned from driving for 10 years.

- CNA/ck

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FlfAOSYOs4E?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

Police looking for man who allowed girlfriend without licence to drive

20120620.181020_warrant.jpg

Yap Chun Kiat, 30, allegedly allowed Candy Siow Pei Shan to drive when he had no third-party insurance on Feb 12, 2011.